Skip to main content
CredNet

New York Physician (MD) license renewal and CE requirements

New York does not require continuing education for MD license renewal, which happens every two years.

A New York professional license is valid for life, but to practice you must keep a current registration. Most professions reregister every three years; medicine reregisters every two years. You are automatically registered for your first registration period when the license is issued, and the Office of the Professions mails renewal information to your address on file at least four months before the registration expires. Online renewal opens in the final five months of the current registration period and stays available for up to four months after the last valid period ended.

Renewal cycle
Two-year
Tied to the original issue date
CE per cycle
None
no CE requirement
Mandated topics
3
required subjects
Last verified
September 7, 2026
15 days ago

Summary

New York does not require continuing education for MD license renewal, which happens every two years. A New York professional license is valid for life, but to practice you must keep a current registration. Most professions reregister every three years; medicine reregisters every two years. You are automatically registered for your first registration period when the license is issued, and the Office of the Professions mails renewal information to your address on file at least four months before the registration expires. Online renewal opens in the final five months of the current registration period and stays available for up to four months after the last valid period ended. New York also mandates specific subjects. Infection control and barrier precautions: required on a periodic schedule set by the board (all physicians, physician assistants and specialist assistants; an exemption based on the nature of the practice may be requested from the Department of Health). Identification and reporting of child abuse and maltreatment: a one-time requirement of 2 hours (physicians applying initially for licensure or a limited permit; graduates of New York registered licensure-qualifying programs after September 1, 1990 are treated as having met it, but training received during a medical residency does not satisfy it). Pain management, palliative care, and addiction: 3 hours on a periodic schedule set by the board (only prescribers licensed under Title 8 of the Education Law to treat humans who hold a DEA registration number to prescribe controlled substances, and medical residents who prescribe controlled substances under a facility DEA registration number).

New York Physician (MD) renewal and continuing education rules

"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.

Renewal cycleTwo-year (24 months)
Renewal deadlineTied to the original issue date
Continuing education requiredNo

New York sets no general continuing medical education hour requirement for physicians. The Office of the Professions publishes a list headed "The following professions have a continuing education requirement in New York", and medicine is not on it; the professions listed are architecture, audiology, chiropractic, dentistry, land surveying, landscape architecture, massage therapy, the mental health practitioner professions, occupational therapy, ophthalmic dispensing, optometry, pharmacy, physical therapy, podiatry, professional engineering, professional geology, psychology, public accountancy, respiratory therapy, social work, speech-language pathology and veterinary medicine. What New York requires instead is specific mandated coursework, recorded in mandatory_topics: infection control and barrier precautions, child abuse identification and reporting, and, for controlled substance prescribers, pain management, palliative care and addiction. Because there is no hour total, required is false and unit is not_applicable rather than a fabricated number.

Required CE topics for New York physician (md)s

State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.

TopicHoursFrequencyApplies toCitation
Infection control and barrier precautionsCourse work or training must be completed at the time of initial licensure and registration and every four years thereafter. Coursework must be appropriate to the professional's practice and cover engineering and work practice controls to prevent transmission of HIV and hepatitis B. Providers may be approved by either the State Education Department or the Department of Health and must use the prescribed syllabus covering the seven core elements. No hour count is stated on the pages read, so hours are left null. Physicians affiliated with a hospital keep the Certification of Completion rather than filing it; physicians not affiliated with a hospital must submit the certificate to the Department of Health's Bureau of Healthcare-Associated Infections.Not statedPeriodicAll physicians, physician assistants and specialist assistants; an exemption based on the nature of the practice may be requested from the Department of HealthPublic Health Law section 239
Identification and reporting of child abuse and maltreatmentEffective January 1, 1989, two hours of coursework or training regarding the identification and reporting of child abuse and maltreatment must be documented when applying initially for licensure or a limited permit. The Office of the Professions describes this as a one time requirement that does not need to be repeated. Separately, Chapter 56 of the Laws of 2021 and Chapter 25 of the Laws of 2024 amended Social Services Law section 413 to add content on implicit bias, adverse childhood experiences, recognizing abuse while interacting virtually, and identifying abused or maltreated children with intellectual or developmental disabilities, and require mandated reporters who already took the training to complete the updated curriculum by April 1, 2025 and November 17, 2026 respectively. Anyone who took mandated reporter training between November 1, 2022 and August 31, 2025 may complete a short addendum through most approved providers.2 hoursOne timePhysicians applying initially for licensure or a limited permit; graduates of New York registered licensure-qualifying programs after September 1, 1990 are treated as having met it, but training received during a medical residency does not satisfy itSocial Services Law section 413
Pain management, palliative care, and addictionAt least three hours of course work or training in pain management, palliative care and addiction were required by July 1, 2017 and once every three years thereafter. This is administered by the New York State Department of Health, Bureau of Narcotic Enforcement, which publishes the guidance, FAQs and attestation form. Note that this three year clock does not line up with the two year registration period.3 hoursPeriodicOnly prescribers licensed under Title 8 of the Education Law to treat humans who hold a DEA registration number to prescribe controlled substances, and medical residents who prescribe controlled substances under a facility DEA registration numberPublic Health Law section 3309-a(3)

Documentation and audit

Proof submitted at renewalNo, attestation only
Keep records forNot stated
Board audits complianceNot stated
Approved providersInfection control training must come from a provider approved by either the State Education Department or the Department of Health, using the Department's prescribed syllabus and covering at minimum the seven core elements jointly approved by the two departments. Child abuse identification and reporting training must come from a Department-approved provider. The Department of Health approves infection control course work offered by DOH-regulated health care facilities and by physician or physician and specialist assistant organizations.

Common questions

How many CE hours does a New York MD need to renew?
New York does not require continuing education for MD license renewal, which happens every two years. New York sets no general continuing medical education hour requirement for physicians. The Office of the Professions publishes a list headed "The following professions have a continuing education requirement in New York", and medicine is not on it; the professions listed are architecture, audiology, chiropractic, dentistry, land surveying, landscape architecture, massage therapy, the mental health practitioner professions, occupational therapy, ophthalmic dispensing, optometry, pharmacy, physical therapy, podiatry, professional engineering, professional geology, psychology, public accountancy, respiratory therapy, social work, speech-language pathology and veterinary medicine. What New York requires instead is specific mandated coursework, recorded in mandatory_topics: infection control and barrier precautions, child abuse identification and reporting, and, for controlled substance prescribers, pain management, palliative care and addiction. Because there is no hour total, required is false and unit is not_applicable rather than a fabricated number.
How often does a New York MD license need to be renewed?
Physician (MD) licenses in New York renew every two years. A New York professional license is valid for life, but to practice you must keep a current registration. Most professions reregister every three years; medicine reregisters every two years. You are automatically registered for your first registration period when the license is issued, and the Office of the Professions mails renewal information to your address on file at least four months before the registration expires. Online renewal opens in the final five months of the current registration period and stays available for up to four months after the last valid period ended.
What specific CE topics are required for New York physicians (MD)?
Infection control and barrier precautions: required on a periodic schedule set by the board (all physicians, physician assistants and specialist assistants; an exemption based on the nature of the practice may be requested from the Department of Health). Identification and reporting of child abuse and maltreatment: a one-time requirement of 2 hours (physicians applying initially for licensure or a limited permit; graduates of New York registered licensure-qualifying programs after September 1, 1990 are treated as having met it, but training received during a medical residency does not satisfy it). Pain management, palliative care, and addiction: 3 hours on a periodic schedule set by the board (only prescribers licensed under Title 8 of the Education Law to treat humans who hold a DEA registration number to prescribe controlled substances, and medical residents who prescribe controlled substances under a facility DEA registration number). Citations: infection control and barrier precautions (Public Health Law section 239), identification and reporting of child abuse and maltreatment (Social Services Law section 413), and pain management, palliative care, and addiction (Public Health Law section 3309-a(3)).
Do New York physicians (MD) have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates. Infection control training must come from a provider approved by either the State Education Department or the Department of Health, using the Department's prescribed syllabus and covering at minimum the seven core elements jointly approved by the two departments. Child abuse identification and reporting training must come from a Department-approved provider. The Department of Health approves infection control course work offered by DOH-regulated health care facilities and by physician or physician and specialist assistant organizations.

Sources

Last verified September 7, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.

New York has no separate osteopathic board. Physicians are licensed by the New York State Education Department's Office of the Professions under Education Law Article 131, and the education requirement accepts the degree of Doctor of Medicine or Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine from an LCME, AOA, CACMS or New York registered program, so MDs and DOs hold the same license and the same registration, and this record and ny-physician_do cite the same sources. Two points worth reading carefully. First, the registration period for medicine is two years, not the three years that applies to most New York professions: the Office of the Professions states this explicitly as "reregister every three years (two years for medicine)". Second, there is genuinely no general CME hour count for physicians, which is why continuing_education.required is false and unit is not_applicable; the requirement is specific mandated coursework instead. The renewal basis is recorded as issue_date because the Office of the Professions states that the licensee is automatically registered for the first registration period when the license is issued and is notified before that period expires; no page read tied the expiration to a birth month or a fixed calendar date. Hour counts for infection control were not stated on the pages read and are left null. Whether registration proof is audited, and any retention period, were not stated and are left null; physicians attest at registration and keep the certificates, except that a physician not affiliated with a hospital must send the infection control certificate to the Department of Health.

Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the New York State Education Department, Office of the Professions before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.