Skip to main content
CredNet

Oklahoma Pharmacist license renewal and CE requirements

Oklahoma pharmacists must complete 15 clock hours of continuing education every year to renew their license with the Oklahoma State Board of Pharmacy.

A pharmacist license is renewed every year and expires at the end of the licensee's birth month. The renewal period opens on the first of the month before the expiration date. A late fee of one hundred dollars is added from sixteen days after expiration. The board stopped mailing renewal reminder postcards on April 1, 2025.

Renewal cycle
Annual
Tied to the licensee's birth month
CE per cycle
15
clock hours
Mandated topics
0
required subjects
Last verified
September 10, 2026
12 days ago

Summary

Oklahoma pharmacists must complete 15 clock hours of continuing education every year to renew their license with the Oklahoma State Board of Pharmacy. A pharmacist license is renewed every year and expires at the end of the licensee's birth month. The renewal period opens on the first of the month before the expiration date. A late fee of one hundred dollars is added from sixteen days after expiration. The board stopped mailing renewal reminder postcards on April 1, 2025.

Oklahoma Pharmacist renewal and continuing education rules

"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.

Renewal cycleAnnual (12 months)
Renewal deadlineTied to the licensee's birth month
Continuing education requiredYes
Hours per cycle15 clock hours
Self-study or online capNo cap stated
Carryover to next cycleNot stated
First renewal exemptNo

Oklahoma counts clock hours, the board's own word, not CEUs, so contact_hour_equivalent is null. No annual renewal certificate is issued to a pharmacist until the pharmacist has submitted proof of not less than fifteen clock hours of an accredited or board approved program of continuing professional education completed during the previous calendar year. The counting window and the renewal date are on different clocks: the hours are counted over a calendar year while the license expires at the end of the licensee's birth month, which is why continuing_education.cycle_months is recorded separately. New graduates are not exempt from reporting continuing education; they report the name of their pharmacy school and their enrollment dates for the previous calendar year. The board's page sets no live hour minimum and no cap on home study, so those fields are null. These are pharmacist figures; pharmacy technicians renew and report separately.

Required CE topics for Oklahoma pharmacists

The Oklahoma State Board of Pharmacy pages and rules we read do not mandate specific subject areas for this license type. Hours may be in any approved subject.

Documentation and audit

Proof submitted at renewalYes
Keep records forNot stated
Board audits complianceNot stated
Approved providersOnly board approved or ACPE approved programs count toward the fifteen hours. A pharmacist or a sponsor may submit a Continuing Education Evaluation Application to have a program that is not ACPE approved reviewed, and the board's CE Committee meets quarterly to consider those applications. For live programs the completion date is the date of attendance; for correspondence and online courses it is the date of the authorized signature, the date issued or earned, the date the exam was processed, or the CPE Monitor Activity Date.

Common questions

How many CE hours does a Oklahoma RPh/PharmD need to renew?
Oklahoma pharmacists must complete 15 clock hours of continuing education every year to renew their license with the Oklahoma State Board of Pharmacy. Oklahoma counts clock hours, the board's own word, not CEUs, so contact_hour_equivalent is null. No annual renewal certificate is issued to a pharmacist until the pharmacist has submitted proof of not less than fifteen clock hours of an accredited or board approved program of continuing professional education completed during the previous calendar year. The counting window and the renewal date are on different clocks: the hours are counted over a calendar year while the license expires at the end of the licensee's birth month, which is why continuing_education.cycle_months is recorded separately. New graduates are not exempt from reporting continuing education; they report the name of their pharmacy school and their enrollment dates for the previous calendar year. The board's page sets no live hour minimum and no cap on home study, so those fields are null. These are pharmacist figures; pharmacy technicians renew and report separately.
How often does a Oklahoma RPh/PharmD license need to be renewed?
Pharmacist licenses in Oklahoma renew every year. A pharmacist license is renewed every year and expires at the end of the licensee's birth month. The renewal period opens on the first of the month before the expiration date. A late fee of one hundred dollars is added from sixteen days after expiration. The board stopped mailing renewal reminder postcards on April 1, 2025.
Does Oklahoma require specific CE topics for pharmacists?
The Oklahoma State Board of Pharmacy does not list mandated subject areas for RPh/PharmD renewal on the pages we verified; the 15 clock hours may be in any approved subject.
Do Oklahoma pharmacists have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
Proof of completion must be submitted with the renewal. Only board approved or ACPE approved programs count toward the fifteen hours. A pharmacist or a sponsor may submit a Continuing Education Evaluation Application to have a program that is not ACPE approved reviewed, and the board's CE Committee meets quarterly to consider those applications. For live programs the completion date is the date of attendance; for correspondence and online courses it is the date of the authorized signature, the date issued or earned, the date the exam was processed, or the CPE Monitor Activity Date.
Is the first Oklahoma RPh/PharmD renewal exempt from CE?
No. Oklahoma applies the continuing education requirement to the first renewal as well.

Sources

Last verified September 10, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.

The fifteen clock hours per previous calendar year, the annual renewal certificate, the ACPE or board approval rule, the CE Evaluation Application route, the CPE Monitor activity date and the fact that new graduates are not exempt are read from the board's own continuing education page, which cites Title 59 O.S. chapter 8 section 353.11a. The annual birth month expiration and the renewal window opening on the first of the preceding month come from the board's Online License Renewal page, which redirects to the board's renewal system at pay.apps.ok.gov. The underlying rule and statute text could not be read: rules.ok.gov returns 403 to every automated client, and oscn.net now serves a Cloudflare turnstile page in place of Oklahoma Statutes text, so OAC 535:10-3-4 and 535:10-7-9 and 59 O.S. 353.11 and 353.11a were not read directly. Nothing on the board's pages states a live hour minimum, a carryover allowance, a record retention period, an audit program or any mandated subject for pharmacists, so those fields are null or empty. Oklahoma registers immunizing pharmacists separately through an Immunization Registration Application, but no continuing education figure for that registration was found on a readable page.

Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Oklahoma State Board of Pharmacy before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.