Oklahoma Osteopathic Physician (DO) license renewal and CE requirements
Oklahoma osteopathic physicians (DO) must complete 16 CME credits of continuing education every year to renew their license with the Oklahoma State Board of Osteopathic Examiners.
Every Oklahoma osteopathic physician license expires on June 30 each year. The renewal application opens May 1, giving two months to file. The renewal fee must be paid before July 1, a mailed check must be postmarked by June 30, and a late fee applies to any license not renewed before July 1. A license that is not renewed is cancelled at the board's September meeting.
Summary
Oklahoma osteopathic physicians (DO) must complete 16 CME credits of continuing education every year to renew their license with the Oklahoma State Board of Osteopathic Examiners. Every Oklahoma osteopathic physician license expires on June 30 each year. The renewal application opens May 1, giving two months to file. The renewal fee must be paid before July 1, a mailed check must be postmarked by June 30, and a late fee applies to any license not renewed before July 1. A license that is not renewed is cancelled at the board's September meeting. Oklahoma also mandates specific subjects. Prescribing controlled dangerous substances: pain management, opioid use, or addiction: 1 CME credit every renewal cycle (licensees who hold OBNDD or DEA authority to handle controlled dangerous substances. Physicians who do not possess an OBNDD or DEA registration in Oklahoma are excepted and must enter the exception in CE Broker.). Continuing medical education related to medical marijuana: 2 CME credits on a periodic schedule set by the board (licensees registered to recommend medical marijuana under Oklahoma law).
Oklahoma Osteopathic Physician (DO) renewal and continuing education rules
"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.
| Renewal cycle | Annual (12 months) |
|---|---|
| Renewal deadline | Same date for every licensee, 06/30 each cycle |
| Continuing education required | Yes |
| Hours per cycle | 16 CME credits |
| Category 1 minimum | 16 CME credits |
| Self-study or online cap | No cap stated |
| Carryover to next cycle | Not stated |
| First renewal exempt | Not stated |
| Other accepted activities | AMA PRA Category 1 credit hours in place of AOA Category 1, for DOs obtaining or maintaining ABMS board certification; CME required for inpatient health care service entity providers under 63 O.S. 3162 receives board CME credit; An educational audit on opioid prescribing may make the physician eligible for the annual proper prescribing credit |
Sixteen AOA Category 1 CME hours in each CME cycle, which runs July 1 to June 30 (OAC 510:10-3-8(b); board CE Broker and CME page). All sixteen are Category 1, so category_1_minimum equals the total. Credits are entered in CE Broker, the board's designated learning management system, and the renewal will not proceed until the CME check passes. A licensee who was a resident or fellow for any part of the CME cycle is excepted from CME and must enter that exception in CE Broker; the requirement starts the first July 1 after graduating from residency or fellowship. The statute behind the rule, 59 O.S. 641(D)(1), currently phrases this as at least two days of the Oklahoma Osteopathic Association annual educational program or its equivalent; the version taking effect November 1, 2026 restates it as at least sixteen hours, matching the rule.
Required CE topics for Oklahoma osteopathic physician (do)s
State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.
| Topic | Hours | Frequency | Applies to | Citation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Prescribing controlled dangerous substances: pain management, opioid use, or addictionOne of the sixteen required hours each year. The course must be one the board has previously approved for pain management, opioid use, or addiction, and the sponsoring organization reports attendance to CE Broker on the licensee's behalf. | 1 CME credit | Every renewal | Licensees who hold OBNDD or DEA authority to handle controlled dangerous substances. Physicians who do not possess an OBNDD or DEA registration in Oklahoma are excepted and must enter the exception in CE Broker. | OAC 510:10-3-8(b)(2); 59 O.S. 641(D)(2) |
| Continuing medical education related to medical marijuanaAt least two hours before first recommending medical marijuana and annually thereafter. The CME must be approved by the board or certified by the ACCME, the AOA, or another certifying organization recognized by the board. | 2 CME credits | Periodic | Licensees registered to recommend medical marijuana under Oklahoma law | OAC 510:10-3-8(b)(3); 63 O.S. 427.10(G) |
Documentation and audit
| Proof submitted at renewal | Yes |
|---|---|
| Keep records for | Not stated |
| Board audits compliance | Not stated |
| Approved providers | CME must be AOA Category 1, or AMA PRA Category 1 for DOs who obtain or maintain ABMS board certification. All CME data and completion certificates go into CE Broker, the board's designated learning management system; a course provider may report on the licensee's behalf, and Oklahoma providers report the one-hour pain management, opioid use, or addiction course automatically. The renewal application runs a CME completion check against CE Broker and will not proceed unless the requirement is met. The board also runs a separate educational audit program on opioid prescribing practice, which reviews patient records rather than CME. |
Common questions
- How many CE hours does a Oklahoma DO need to renew?
- Oklahoma osteopathic physicians (DO) must complete 16 CME credits of continuing education every year to renew their license with the Oklahoma State Board of Osteopathic Examiners. Sixteen AOA Category 1 CME hours in each CME cycle, which runs July 1 to June 30 (OAC 510:10-3-8(b); board CE Broker and CME page). All sixteen are Category 1, so category_1_minimum equals the total. Credits are entered in CE Broker, the board's designated learning management system, and the renewal will not proceed until the CME check passes. A licensee who was a resident or fellow for any part of the CME cycle is excepted from CME and must enter that exception in CE Broker; the requirement starts the first July 1 after graduating from residency or fellowship. The statute behind the rule, 59 O.S. 641(D)(1), currently phrases this as at least two days of the Oklahoma Osteopathic Association annual educational program or its equivalent; the version taking effect November 1, 2026 restates it as at least sixteen hours, matching the rule.
- How often does a Oklahoma DO license need to be renewed?
- Osteopathic Physician (DO) licenses in Oklahoma renew every year. Every Oklahoma osteopathic physician license expires on June 30 each year. The renewal application opens May 1, giving two months to file. The renewal fee must be paid before July 1, a mailed check must be postmarked by June 30, and a late fee applies to any license not renewed before July 1. A license that is not renewed is cancelled at the board's September meeting.
- What specific CE topics are required for Oklahoma osteopathic physicians (DO)?
- Prescribing controlled dangerous substances: pain management, opioid use, or addiction: 1 CME credit every renewal cycle (licensees who hold OBNDD or DEA authority to handle controlled dangerous substances. Physicians who do not possess an OBNDD or DEA registration in Oklahoma are excepted and must enter the exception in CE Broker.). Continuing medical education related to medical marijuana: 2 CME credits on a periodic schedule set by the board (licensees registered to recommend medical marijuana under Oklahoma law). Citations: prescribing controlled dangerous substances: pain management, opioid use, or addiction (OAC 510:10-3-8(b)(2); 59 O.S. 641(D)(2)) and continuing medical education related to medical marijuana (OAC 510:10-3-8(b)(3); 63 O.S. 427.10(G)).
- Do Oklahoma osteopathic physicians (DO) have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
- Proof of completion must be submitted with the renewal. CME must be AOA Category 1, or AMA PRA Category 1 for DOs who obtain or maintain ABMS board certification. All CME data and completion certificates go into CE Broker, the board's designated learning management system; a course provider may report on the licensee's behalf, and Oklahoma providers report the one-hour pain management, opioid use, or addiction course automatically. The renewal application runs a CME completion check against CE Broker and will not proceed unless the requirement is met. The board also runs a separate educational audit program on opioid prescribing practice, which reviews patient records rather than CME.
Sources
Last verified September 7, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.
- OAC Title 510, Chapter 10, Subchapter 3 (including 510:10-3-8, Annual registration), Oklahoma State Board of Osteopathic ExaminersStatute or administrative rule, accessed September 7, 2026
- CE Broker and CME, Oklahoma State Board of Osteopathic ExaminersState board page, accessed September 7, 2026
- Renewal Requirements, Oklahoma State Board of Osteopathic ExaminersState board page, accessed September 7, 2026
- 59 O.S. 641, Osteopaths: annual renewal of certificate, fee, attendance at educational programStatute or administrative rule, accessed September 7, 2026
- Educational Audits, Oklahoma State Board of Osteopathic ExaminersState board page, accessed September 7, 2026
Oklahoma runs two separate physician boards, and this record covers only the Oklahoma State Board of Osteopathic Examiners. Nothing was copied from the MD record: the DO cycle, hour total, credit type, deadline, and mandated topics were all read from OSBOE rules and pages and from 59 O.S. 641. The differences are substantial. DOs need 16 AOA Category 1 hours every year against a June 30 expiration; MDs need 60 AMA Category I hours reported every three years against a reregistration month set by the month of initial licensure. One hour of pain management, opioid use, or addiction education is required by both boards but under different citations. Record retention length, carryover, live or self-study caps, and first-renewal proration are not stated in the sources read and are left null; the residency and fellowship exception is recorded in the CE notes rather than as a first-renewal exemption because it turns on training status, not on renewal number. The board's audit program described on the Educational Audits page reviews prescribing records rather than CME compliance, so documentation.audited is left null. The topic key medical_marijuana is not on the canonical list and is used because the board states the requirement in those terms. Note for future re-verification: 59 O.S. 641 is superseded November 1, 2026, restating the annual educational requirement as sixteen hours instead of two days, which matches the current board rule.
Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Oklahoma State Board of Osteopathic Examiners before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.