Skip to main content
CredNet

Oklahoma Physician (MD) license renewal and CE requirements

Oklahoma physicians (MD) must complete 60 CME credits of continuing education every three years to renew their license with the Oklahoma State Board of Medical Licensure and Supervision.

Oklahoma MDs reregister every year, and the reregistration is done during the month the licensee was first licensed by the board. The board mails a renewal notice about 60 days before expiration and a reminder card about 30 days out, but not receiving one does not waive the late fee. A licensee who fails to apply for reregistration within 60 days after the end of the previous registration period has the license suspended.

Renewal cycle
Annual
Tied to the original issue date
CE per cycle
60
CME credits every three years
Mandated topics
1
required subject
Last verified
September 7, 2026
15 days ago

Summary

Oklahoma physicians (MD) must complete 60 CME credits of continuing education every three years to renew their license with the Oklahoma State Board of Medical Licensure and Supervision. Oklahoma MDs reregister every year, and the reregistration is done during the month the licensee was first licensed by the board. The board mails a renewal notice about 60 days before expiration and a reminder card about 30 days out, but not receiving one does not waive the late fee. A licensee who fails to apply for reregistration within 60 days after the end of the previous registration period has the license suspended. Oklahoma also mandates specific subjects. Pain management, or opioid use or addiction: 1 CME credit every renewal cycle (licensees who hold a valid federal DEA registration number. A licensee who demonstrates to the board's satisfaction that they do not currently hold a DEA registration number is not subject to it.). The first renewal is exempt.

Oklahoma Physician (MD) renewal and continuing education rules

"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.

Renewal cycleAnnual (12 months)
Renewal deadlineTied to the original issue date
Continuing education requiredYes
Hours per cycle60 CME creditsCounted over a three-year window, separate from the renewal cycle.
Category 1 minimum60 CME credits
Self-study or online capNo cap stated
Carryover to next cycleNot stated
First renewal exemptYes
Other accepted activitiesCurrent American Medical Association Physician Recognition Award (AMA PRA); ABMS specialty board certification or recertification obtained during the three-year reporting period; Residency or fellowship training, credited at 50 hours of CME for each completed year

Renewal is annual but the CME requirement runs on a three-year reporting cycle: the licensee certifies every three years that 60 hours of Category I CME were completed in the preceding three years (OAC 435:10-15-1(a)). All 60 must be Category I as defined by the AMA, the Oklahoma State Medical Association, the AAFP, or another certifying organization recognized by the board, so category_1_minimum equals the total. Separately, 59 O.S. 495a.1(C) requires at least one hour of pain management, or one hour of opioid use or addiction education, in each year preceding a renewal application unless the licensee shows the board they do not hold a DEA registration. Newly licensed physicians begin reporting three years from the date licensure was granted, which is recorded here as a first-renewal exemption.

Required CE topics for Oklahoma physician (md)s

State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.

TopicHoursFrequencyApplies toCitation
Pain management, or opioid use or addictionRequired in each year preceding an application for renewal, so it recurs with the annual reregistration even though the general 60-hour CME total is reported every three years. The statute allows either one hour of pain management or one hour of opioid use or addiction education.1 CME creditEvery renewalLicensees who hold a valid federal DEA registration number. A licensee who demonstrates to the board's satisfaction that they do not currently hold a DEA registration number is not subject to it.59 O.S. 495a.1(C)

Documentation and audit

Proof submitted at renewalNo, attestation only
Keep records forNot stated
Board audits complianceYes
Approved providersCME must be Category I as defined by the American Medical Association, the Oklahoma State Medical Association, the American Academy of Family Physicians, or another certifying organization recognized by the board. The licensee certifies completion at reregistration. Board staff select licensees each year, randomly or for cause, to be audited; the board accepts a current AMA PRA, ABMS certification or recertification obtained in the three-year period, proof of residency or fellowship training, or copies of Category I certificates as verification. Failure to submit records makes the application incomplete and the licensee cannot practice.

Common questions

How many CE hours does a Oklahoma MD need to renew?
Oklahoma physicians (MD) must complete 60 CME credits of continuing education every three years to renew their license with the Oklahoma State Board of Medical Licensure and Supervision. Renewal is annual but the CME requirement runs on a three-year reporting cycle: the licensee certifies every three years that 60 hours of Category I CME were completed in the preceding three years (OAC 435:10-15-1(a)). All 60 must be Category I as defined by the AMA, the Oklahoma State Medical Association, the AAFP, or another certifying organization recognized by the board, so category_1_minimum equals the total. Separately, 59 O.S. 495a.1(C) requires at least one hour of pain management, or one hour of opioid use or addiction education, in each year preceding a renewal application unless the licensee shows the board they do not hold a DEA registration. Newly licensed physicians begin reporting three years from the date licensure was granted, which is recorded here as a first-renewal exemption.
How often does a Oklahoma MD license need to be renewed?
Physician (MD) licenses in Oklahoma renew every year. Oklahoma MDs reregister every year, and the reregistration is done during the month the licensee was first licensed by the board. The board mails a renewal notice about 60 days before expiration and a reminder card about 30 days out, but not receiving one does not waive the late fee. A licensee who fails to apply for reregistration within 60 days after the end of the previous registration period has the license suspended.
What specific CE topics are required for Oklahoma physicians (MD)?
Pain management, or opioid use or addiction: 1 CME credit every renewal cycle (licensees who hold a valid federal DEA registration number. A licensee who demonstrates to the board's satisfaction that they do not currently hold a DEA registration number is not subject to it.). Citations: pain management, or opioid use or addiction (59 O.S. 495a.1(C)).
Do Oklahoma physicians (MD) have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates and the board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation. CME must be Category I as defined by the American Medical Association, the Oklahoma State Medical Association, the American Academy of Family Physicians, or another certifying organization recognized by the board. The licensee certifies completion at reregistration. Board staff select licensees each year, randomly or for cause, to be audited; the board accepts a current AMA PRA, ABMS certification or recertification obtained in the three-year period, proof of residency or fellowship training, or copies of Category I certificates as verification. Failure to submit records makes the application incomplete and the licensee cannot practice.
Is the first Oklahoma MD renewal exempt from CE?
Yes. Oklahoma does not require continuing education for a MD's first renewal.

Sources

Last verified September 7, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.

Oklahoma runs two separate physician boards. MDs are licensed by the Oklahoma State Board of Medical Licensure and Supervision under the Oklahoma Allopathic Medical and Surgical Licensure and Supervision Act; DOs are licensed by the Oklahoma State Board of Osteopathic Examiners under a different act, different rules, and a different cycle. This record covers only the MD board, and none of its values were carried over from the DO record. The board publishes its Title 435 rules only as PDF (https://www.okmedicalboard.org/cme/CMEguidelines.pdf and the OAC compilation), which were not downloaded; the rule text cited here was read on Cornell LII, which mirrors the Oklahoma Administrative Code, and the 60-hour figure is independently confirmed on the board's own Licensing FAQs page. Renewal timing was read from OAC 435:10-7-10, which sets reregistration in the month of initial licensure, not the birth month; some third-party sites describe Oklahoma MD renewal as biennial with a November 30 deadline, which does not match the rule or 59 O.S. 495a.1(A), and no board source supports it. Record retention length, carryover, live or self-study caps, and first-renewal proration are not stated in the sources read and are left null. No Oklahoma MD mandate on human trafficking, implicit bias, suicide prevention, or child abuse reporting CME appears in the sources read.

Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Oklahoma State Board of Medical Licensure and Supervision before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.