Oklahoma Occupational Therapy Assistant license renewal and CE requirements
Oklahoma occupational therapy assistants must complete 20 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Oklahoma State Board of Medical Licensure and Supervision, Occupational Therapy Advisory Committee.
The license renews every year on October 31 on forms provided by the board, with a late fee for anything postmarked after the expiration date. The board emails renewal notices about 60 and 30 days ahead, but not receiving one does not waive the late fee. Continuing education runs on a separate two year cycle that also ends October 31, in even numbered years, so the 20 hour total is due at every second renewal. A license lapsed more than twelve months requires a re entry application, and one lapsed more than sixty months requires a personal appearance before the Occupational Therapy Advisory Committee.
Summary
Oklahoma occupational therapy assistants must complete 20 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Oklahoma State Board of Medical Licensure and Supervision, Occupational Therapy Advisory Committee. The license renews every year on October 31 on forms provided by the board, with a late fee for anything postmarked after the expiration date. The board emails renewal notices about 60 and 30 days ahead, but not receiving one does not waive the late fee. Continuing education runs on a separate two year cycle that also ends October 31, in even numbered years, so the 20 hour total is due at every second renewal. A license lapsed more than twelve months requires a re entry application, and one lapsed more than sixty months requires a personal appearance before the Occupational Therapy Advisory Committee. Hours do not carry over between cycles.
Oklahoma Occupational Therapy Assistant renewal and continuing education rules
"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.
| Renewal cycle | Annual (12 months) |
|---|---|
| Renewal deadline | Same date for every licensee, 10/31 each cycle |
| Continuing education required | Yes |
| Hours per cycle | 20 contact hoursCounted over a two-year window, separate from the renewal cycle. |
| Self-study or online cap | No cap stated |
| Carryover to next cycle | No |
| First renewal exempt | Not stated |
| Other accepted activities | Presentation of an occupational therapy program at a workshop, seminar, conference or as a guest lecturer, 2 points per hour for the first presentation of original material only; Clinical instruction of occupational therapist or occupational therapy assistant students, 1 point per week of continuous direct supervision; Authorship or co authorship of a book relating to occupational therapy, maximum 20 points; Authorship of a book chapter or a professional journal article, maximum 10 points; Authorship of an article, book review or abstract in a newsletter, maximum 10 points per compliance period; Alternative media such as video or slide presentations available for general viewing, 10 to 20 points as assigned by the Committee; Research as principal or co investigator, project director or research assistant, 10 points; Quality assurance studies published in a journal or newsletter, 5 to 10 points per project; College and university coursework, 10 points for a one credit course, 20 for two credits and 30 for three credits, as approved; Self study or independent learning projects reported to the Committee on Form C, with points assigned by the Committee; Specialty certification by a recognized body such as Neuro Developmental Techniques, Sensory Integration or the American Society of Hand Therapists, 20 points one time only; AOTA membership, 2 points; Elected office in the Oklahoma or American Occupational Therapy Association, up to 8 points per year; AOTA or OOTA committee chair, up to 8 points per year, or committee member, up to 4 points per year; Active involvement in related organizations and committees approved by the Committee, up to 4 points per year |
The license renews every year but continuing education runs on a two year compliance period, which is why the continuing education cycle is recorded as 24 months while the renewal cycle is 12. The board's continuing education page states the cycle ends October 31 of every even year and that 20 hours of approved continuing education are required every two years, giving November 1 of an even year through October 31 of the next even year as the example period. No hours may be carried over from the previous reporting period. Okla. Admin. Code 435:30-1-5(b)(1) states the same figure and defines a point as the equivalent of one contact hour, so the 20 points and 20 contact hours are the same number. Ordinary attendance at workshops, seminars and conferences earns 1 point per hour of participation with no overall cap, except that in service programs are capped at 6 points per compliance period. Other activities have their own point values and caps, listed under accepted alternatives. Licensees are also asked to give information about their occupational therapy practice at the time of renewal. The 20 hour requirement is set by one rule, Okla. Admin. Code 435:30-1-5, whose renewal paragraph names the occupational therapist and occupational therapy assistant license together and whose continuing education paragraphs repeatedly address the Occupational Therapist or Occupational Therapy Assistant, and the board's continuing education page is published for occupational therapists and assistants together. The assistant figures were read in those same sources rather than inferred from the therapist figures, and no separate or reduced assistant total appears anywhere in Chapter 30.
Required CE topics for Oklahoma occupational therapy assistants
The Oklahoma State Board of Medical Licensure and Supervision, Occupational Therapy Advisory Committee pages and rules we read do not mandate specific subject areas for this license type. Hours may be in any approved subject.
Documentation and audit
| Proof submitted at renewal | No, attestation only |
|---|---|
| Keep records for | Not stated |
| Board audits compliance | Yes |
| Approved providers | Programs offered or approved by the American Occupational Therapy Association or the Oklahoma Occupational Therapy Association are automatically accepted. Programs from NBCOT, Special Interest Section meetings and Occupational Therapy Education Council of Oklahoma workshops are listed as traditional sources, and a sub committee of occupational therapists and occupational therapy assistants reviews points and forwards recommendations to the Occupational Therapy Advisory Committee, which can approve any activity not listed and assign it hours. The licensee carries the burden of showing an activity is relevant. Documentation is verification of attendance plus supporting material such as a brochure or syllabus, or the board's Form B where attendance cannot otherwise be verified. The Committee selects licensees for audit randomly or for cause 90 days before the end of each compliance period, and those selected have 30 days from the notification letter to submit proof. |
Common questions
- How many CE hours does a Oklahoma OTA need to renew?
- Oklahoma occupational therapy assistants must complete 20 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Oklahoma State Board of Medical Licensure and Supervision, Occupational Therapy Advisory Committee. The license renews every year but continuing education runs on a two year compliance period, which is why the continuing education cycle is recorded as 24 months while the renewal cycle is 12. The board's continuing education page states the cycle ends October 31 of every even year and that 20 hours of approved continuing education are required every two years, giving November 1 of an even year through October 31 of the next even year as the example period. No hours may be carried over from the previous reporting period. Okla. Admin. Code 435:30-1-5(b)(1) states the same figure and defines a point as the equivalent of one contact hour, so the 20 points and 20 contact hours are the same number. Ordinary attendance at workshops, seminars and conferences earns 1 point per hour of participation with no overall cap, except that in service programs are capped at 6 points per compliance period. Other activities have their own point values and caps, listed under accepted alternatives. Licensees are also asked to give information about their occupational therapy practice at the time of renewal. The 20 hour requirement is set by one rule, Okla. Admin. Code 435:30-1-5, whose renewal paragraph names the occupational therapist and occupational therapy assistant license together and whose continuing education paragraphs repeatedly address the Occupational Therapist or Occupational Therapy Assistant, and the board's continuing education page is published for occupational therapists and assistants together. The assistant figures were read in those same sources rather than inferred from the therapist figures, and no separate or reduced assistant total appears anywhere in Chapter 30.
- How often does a Oklahoma OTA license need to be renewed?
- Occupational Therapy Assistant licenses in Oklahoma renew every year. The license renews every year on October 31 on forms provided by the board, with a late fee for anything postmarked after the expiration date. The board emails renewal notices about 60 and 30 days ahead, but not receiving one does not waive the late fee. Continuing education runs on a separate two year cycle that also ends October 31, in even numbered years, so the 20 hour total is due at every second renewal. A license lapsed more than twelve months requires a re entry application, and one lapsed more than sixty months requires a personal appearance before the Occupational Therapy Advisory Committee.
- Does Oklahoma require specific CE topics for occupational therapy assistants?
- The Oklahoma State Board of Medical Licensure and Supervision, Occupational Therapy Advisory Committee does not list mandated subject areas for OTA renewal on the pages we verified; the 20 contact hours may be in any approved subject.
- Do Oklahoma occupational therapy assistants have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
- Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates and the board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation. Programs offered or approved by the American Occupational Therapy Association or the Oklahoma Occupational Therapy Association are automatically accepted. Programs from NBCOT, Special Interest Section meetings and Occupational Therapy Education Council of Oklahoma workshops are listed as traditional sources, and a sub committee of occupational therapists and occupational therapy assistants reviews points and forwards recommendations to the Occupational Therapy Advisory Committee, which can approve any activity not listed and assign it hours. The licensee carries the burden of showing an activity is relevant. Documentation is verification of attendance plus supporting material such as a brochure or syllabus, or the board's Form B where attendance cannot otherwise be verified. The Committee selects licensees for audit randomly or for cause 90 days before the end of each compliance period, and those selected have 30 days from the notification letter to submit proof.
Sources
Last verified September 10, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.
- Oklahoma Occupational Therapists and Assistants, CE Requirements and Laws and Rules, Oklahoma State Board of Medical Licensure and SupervisionState board page, accessed September 10, 2026
- 59 O.S. 888.10, Renewal of Licenses, Oklahoma Occupational Therapy Practice ActStatute or administrative rule, accessed September 10, 2026
- Okla. Admin. Code 435:30-1-5, License renewal, late fees, continuing education, re-entry guidelines (Cornell LII mirror)Third-party summary, accessed September 10, 2026
- Oklahoma Statutes Title 59, Professions and Occupations, index including the Occupational Therapy Practice ActStatute or administrative rule, accessed September 10, 2026
- License Renewal and Update, Oklahoma State Board of Medical Licensure and SupervisionState board page, accessed September 10, 2026
Occupational therapy in Oklahoma is not run by a standalone board and not by the physical therapy board. The Oklahoma State Board of Medical Licensure and Supervision licenses occupational therapists and occupational therapy assistants, with an Occupational Therapy Advisory Committee created by 59 O.S. 888.12 reviewing continuing education and running the audit. This is the same umbrella board that oversees physical therapy through a separate advisory committee, but the rules and the hour totals are different chapters and different numbers. The 20 hours every two years, the October 31 even year cycle end and the no carryover rule were read on the board's own CE Requirements page, which reproduces Okla. Admin. Code 435:30-1-5(b) in full. Annual renewal was read in the statute itself, 59 O.S. 888.10(A), on the Oklahoma State Courts Network. The October 31 renewal date comes from 435:30-1-5(a), read on the Cornell LII mirror, and matches the October 31 deadline the board states on its own page. The board's website returns 403 to every automated client; its pages were read in a browser. The board publishes the practice act and the Chapter 30 rules only as PDFs, which were not opened. No subject mandate appears in 435:30-1-5, so mandatory_topics is empty: there is no ethics hour, no jurisprudence hour and no human trafficking or implicit bias hour in the renewal rule. One gap: several secondary sources say Okla. Admin. Code 435:30-1-18 requires two continuing education units in telehealth practice each reporting period for anyone delivering services by telehealth. That rule could not be read at any reachable source (Cornell LII was unreachable on the verification date and the okrules mirror returned 503), and the board publishes it only inside a PDF, so it is deliberately not recorded here. Anyone practising by telehealth in Oklahoma should confirm it with the board. NBCOT certification is not required to renew. NBCOT programs are automatically accepted as continuing education sources, the NBCOT examination is the licensure examination the board recognises under 435:30-1-3, and passing it can be required of someone re entering practice after a lapse of more than twelve months. documentation.proof_at_renewal is recorded as false because the rule works by audit: the Committee selects licensees randomly or for cause 90 days before the end of each compliance period, and those selected have 30 days from the notification letter to submit proof. The board's licensing portal separately offers continuing education posting. No record retention period is stated in the rule. The occupational therapy assistant requirement was confirmed separately in the same rule text the board publishes on its CE Requirements page, which sets one 20 hour total for both credentials, and in 59 O.S. 888.10, which subjects all licenses under the act to annual renewal. Chapter 30 has an assistant specific section, 435:30-1-8, on licensure requirements for occupational therapy assistants, but it is a licensure and supervision section rather than a continuing education one, and supervision obligations are not recorded here as continuing education.
Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Oklahoma State Board of Medical Licensure and Supervision, Occupational Therapy Advisory Committee before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.