Skip to main content
CredNet

North Carolina Pharmacist license renewal and CE requirements

North Carolina pharmacists must complete 15 contact hours of continuing education every year to renew their license with the North Carolina Board of Pharmacy.

A pharmacist license expires December 31 and is renewed every year. The board opens renewal on November 1 and it runs through December 31, and the board allows a 60 day period after that to renew without penalty, until March 1. A license not renewed by March 1 of the following year lapses and is subject to the maximum reinstatement and renewal fees.

Renewal cycle
Annual
Same date for every licensee
CE per cycle
15
contact hours
Mandated topics
1
required subject
Last verified
September 10, 2026
12 days ago

Summary

North Carolina pharmacists must complete 15 contact hours of continuing education every year to renew their license with the North Carolina Board of Pharmacy. A pharmacist license expires December 31 and is renewed every year. The board opens renewal on November 1 and it runs through December 31, and the board allows a 60 day period after that to renew without penalty, until March 1. A license not renewed by March 1 of the following year lapses and is subject to the maximum reinstatement and renewal fees. North Carolina also mandates specific subjects. Clinical Pharmacist Practitioner practice relevant continuing education: 35 contact hours every renewal cycle (pharmacists approved as Clinical Pharmacist Practitioners). Up to 5 excess contact hours carry over to the next cycle.

North Carolina Pharmacist renewal and continuing education rules

"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.

Renewal cycleAnnual (12 months)
Renewal deadlineSame date for every licensee, 12/31 each cycle
Continuing education requiredYes
Hours per cycle15 contact hours
Live or interactive minimum5 contact hours
Self-study or online capNo cap stated
Carryover to next cycleYes, up to 5 contact hours
First renewal exemptNot stated
Other accepted activitiesPrecepting a student for at least 160 hours at the UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy, Campbell University College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences, Wingate University School of Pharmacy or High Point University Fred Wilson School of Pharmacy, for five hours

North Carolina counts hours, not CEUs, so contact_hour_equivalent is null. 21 NCAC 46 .2201(a) requires 15 hours of continuing education annually as a condition of license renewal, and the board's renewal page repeats the 15 hours with five live. The five hour minimum is for contact programs, meaning programs with an opportunity for live two way communication between presenter and attendee; an online course counts if it includes that live two way communication. A pharmacist who earns more than 15 hours in a year may carry up to five surplus hours into the next year. The rule states no first renewal exemption for new graduates, and it requires a pharmacist licensed by reciprocity to meet the same standards within the first renewal period after licensure, so exempt_first_renewal is left null rather than asserted either way. The rule does exempt a pharmacist who for the entire year before renewal lived in another state, did not practice in North Carolina and met that state's requirements, and an armed forces extension waives the requirement under .1613. These are pharmacist figures; pharmacy technicians and dispensing practitioners are covered by other rules in chapter 46.

Required CE topics for North Carolina pharmacists

State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.

TopicHoursFrequencyApplies toCitation
Clinical Pharmacist Practitioner practice relevant continuing educationA CPP registers annually on or before December 31 and must earn 35 hours of practice relevant continuing education approved by the Pharmacy Board each year, with documentation kept at the CPP practice site. This is an add on for the CPP credential, not part of the 15 hour pharmacist requirement.35 contact hoursEvery renewalpharmacists approved as Clinical Pharmacist Practitioners21 NCAC 46 .3101(c) and .3101(d)

Documentation and audit

Proof submitted at renewalNo, attestation only
Keep records for3 years
Board audits complianceYes
Approved providersAll continuing education must come from courses accredited by the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education or by the North Carolina Association of Pharmacists. At renewal the pharmacist reports hours through the board's online license renewal portal rather than filing certificates, and the board requires records, reports of accredited hours and certificates of credit as part of a continuing education audit. Records are kept three years, and storage in an approved provider's electronic database satisfies the pharmacist's own recordkeeping duty.

Common questions

How many CE hours does a North Carolina RPh/PharmD need to renew?
North Carolina pharmacists must complete 15 contact hours of continuing education every year to renew their license with the North Carolina Board of Pharmacy. North Carolina counts hours, not CEUs, so contact_hour_equivalent is null. 21 NCAC 46 .2201(a) requires 15 hours of continuing education annually as a condition of license renewal, and the board's renewal page repeats the 15 hours with five live. The five hour minimum is for contact programs, meaning programs with an opportunity for live two way communication between presenter and attendee; an online course counts if it includes that live two way communication. A pharmacist who earns more than 15 hours in a year may carry up to five surplus hours into the next year. The rule states no first renewal exemption for new graduates, and it requires a pharmacist licensed by reciprocity to meet the same standards within the first renewal period after licensure, so exempt_first_renewal is left null rather than asserted either way. The rule does exempt a pharmacist who for the entire year before renewal lived in another state, did not practice in North Carolina and met that state's requirements, and an armed forces extension waives the requirement under .1613. These are pharmacist figures; pharmacy technicians and dispensing practitioners are covered by other rules in chapter 46.
How often does a North Carolina RPh/PharmD license need to be renewed?
Pharmacist licenses in North Carolina renew every year. A pharmacist license expires December 31 and is renewed every year. The board opens renewal on November 1 and it runs through December 31, and the board allows a 60 day period after that to renew without penalty, until March 1. A license not renewed by March 1 of the following year lapses and is subject to the maximum reinstatement and renewal fees.
What specific CE topics are required for North Carolina pharmacists?
Clinical Pharmacist Practitioner practice relevant continuing education: 35 contact hours every renewal cycle (pharmacists approved as Clinical Pharmacist Practitioners). Citations: Clinical Pharmacist Practitioner practice relevant continuing education (21 NCAC 46 .3101(c) and .3101(d)).
Do North Carolina pharmacists have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates, the board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation, and records must be kept for 3 years. All continuing education must come from courses accredited by the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education or by the North Carolina Association of Pharmacists. At renewal the pharmacist reports hours through the board's online license renewal portal rather than filing certificates, and the board requires records, reports of accredited hours and certificates of credit as part of a continuing education audit. Records are kept three years, and storage in an approved provider's electronic database satisfies the pharmacist's own recordkeeping duty.

Sources

Last verified September 10, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.

The 15 hours a year, the five contact program hours, the five hour carryover, the three year record retention, the ACPE or North Carolina Association of Pharmacists accreditation requirement and the precepting credit are read verbatim from 21 NCAC 46 .2201 in the Office of Administrative Hearings HTML compilation of chapter 46, as amended effective August 1, 2024. The board's own renewal page states the same 15 hours with five live, the November 1 to December 31 renewal window, the December 31 expiration and the 60 day penalty free period to March 1. G.S. 90-85.17 sets the annual December 31 expiration and authorizes up to 30 hours every two years with a minimum of 10 per year, which the 15 hour rule sits inside. North Carolina mandates no subject for pharmacists: chapter 46 contains no jurisprudence, opioid, human trafficking or implicit bias requirement for the pharmacist license, so mandatory_topics holds only the Clinical Pharmacist Practitioner add on. The immunization rule 21 NCAC 46 .2507 and G.S. 90-85.15B set an annual two hour immunization continuing education duty on pharmacy technicians who administer vaccines, not on immunizing pharmacists, so it is not recorded here. The chapter host serves over http and refuses https.

Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the North Carolina Board of Pharmacy before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.