Skip to main content
CredNet

North Carolina Physician (MD) license renewal and CE requirements

North Carolina physicians (MD) must complete 60 CME credits of continuing education every three years to renew their license with the North Carolina Medical Board.

All physicians must renew each year by their birthday, regardless of the date the license was issued. The board emails a courtesy renewal notice about two months before the birthday. A physician who is 30 days delinquent receives a certified letter, and if there is no response within 30 days the license automatically becomes inactive and the physician may not practice. Renewing within 30 days after the birthday still costs a late fee. The CME requirement runs on a separate three year cycle that begins on the physician's birthday following the issuance of the license, and whole CME hours are reported at each annual renewal.

Renewal cycle
Annual
Tied to the licensee's birth date
CE per cycle
60
CME credits every three years
Mandated topics
1
required subject
Last verified
September 7, 2026
15 days ago

Summary

North Carolina physicians (MD) must complete 60 CME credits of continuing education every three years to renew their license with the North Carolina Medical Board. All physicians must renew each year by their birthday, regardless of the date the license was issued. The board emails a courtesy renewal notice about two months before the birthday. A physician who is 30 days delinquent receives a certified letter, and if there is no response within 30 days the license automatically becomes inactive and the physician may not practice. Renewing within 30 days after the birthday still costs a late fee. The CME requirement runs on a separate three year cycle that begins on the physician's birthday following the issuance of the license, and whole CME hours are reported at each annual renewal. North Carolina also mandates specific subjects. Controlled substance prescribing practices: 3 CME credits every renewal cycle (only physicians who prescribe controlled substances, except those holding a residency training license).

North Carolina Physician (MD) renewal and continuing education rules

"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.

Renewal cycleAnnual (12 months)
Renewal deadlineTied to the licensee's birth date
Continuing education requiredYes
Hours per cycle60 CME creditsCounted over a three-year window, separate from the renewal cycle.
Category 1 minimum60 CME credits
Self-study or online capNo cap stated
Carryover to next cycleNot stated
First renewal exemptNot stated
Other accepted activitiesObtaining initial certification from an ABMS, AOA or RCPSC specialty board satisfies the entire CME requirement for the three year cycle in which it is obtained; Attesting to being engaged in a program of recertification or maintenance of certification from an ABMS, AOA or RCPSC specialty board satisfies the entire CME requirement for that three year cycle; Completing the federally required MATE Act training is deemed to satisfy the controlled substance prescribing CME for the three year cycle in which it was completed; Scientific or clinical presentations or publications, journal-based CME, skill development, performance improvement activities, interprofessional continuing education, and cultural competency or implicit bias training all count as Category 1 when presented, offered or accredited by a Category 1 provider

21 NCAC 32R .0101(b) requires at least 60 hours of Category 1 CME relevant to the physician's current or intended specialty or area of practice every 3 years, so category_1_minimum equals the full total. There is no minimum number of hours per year. Since August 1, 2012 physicians are not required to report any Category 2 CME. The three year period begins on the physician's birthday following the issuance of the license. Unit recorded as CME credits; the board's term is Category 1 CME. Exemptions under 21 NCAC 32R .0103(a) cover physicians enrolled in an AOA or ACGME accredited graduate medical education program who hold a residency training license, physicians in good standing serving in the armed forces in a combat zone or in a military contingency operation, and members of the General Assembly's House or Senate Health Committee. The board's FAQ adds that residents and fellows are exempt until the first birthday following completion of training, and that any active North Carolina license, including retired and volunteer licenses, is subject to the CME rule.

Required CE topics for North Carolina physician (md)s

State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.

TopicHoursFrequencyApplies toCitation
Controlled substance prescribing practicesAt least 3 of the required 60 Category 1 hours in each three year cycle must be designed specifically to address controlled substance prescribing practices, and must include instruction on controlled substance prescribing practices and controlled substance prescribing for chronic pain management. CME that includes recognizing signs of abuse or misuse of controlled substances, or non-opioid treatment options, qualifies. Physicians who complete the federally required MATE Act training under 21 U.S.C. 823(l) are deemed compliant for the three year cycle in which that training was completed. The requirement still applies to a physician who satisfies the rest of the CME requirement through initial certification or maintenance of certification, unless the certification process itself included qualifying controlled substance prescribing CME.3 CME creditsEvery renewalOnly physicians who prescribe controlled substances, except those holding a residency training license21 NCAC 32R .0101(b)

Documentation and audit

Proof submitted at renewalNo, attestation only
Keep records for6 years
Board audits complianceYes
Approved providersCategory 1 CME must be presented, offered or accredited by a Category 1 provider: an institution or organization accredited by the ACCME or a reciprocating organization, the American Osteopathic Association, a state medical society or association, the American Medical Association, a specialty board accredited by the ABMS, the AOA or the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada, or the Joint Accreditation for Interprofessional Continuing Education (21 NCAC 32R .0102(a)).

Common questions

How many CE hours does a North Carolina MD need to renew?
North Carolina physicians (MD) must complete 60 CME credits of continuing education every three years to renew their license with the North Carolina Medical Board. 21 NCAC 32R .0101(b) requires at least 60 hours of Category 1 CME relevant to the physician's current or intended specialty or area of practice every 3 years, so category_1_minimum equals the full total. There is no minimum number of hours per year. Since August 1, 2012 physicians are not required to report any Category 2 CME. The three year period begins on the physician's birthday following the issuance of the license. Unit recorded as CME credits; the board's term is Category 1 CME. Exemptions under 21 NCAC 32R .0103(a) cover physicians enrolled in an AOA or ACGME accredited graduate medical education program who hold a residency training license, physicians in good standing serving in the armed forces in a combat zone or in a military contingency operation, and members of the General Assembly's House or Senate Health Committee. The board's FAQ adds that residents and fellows are exempt until the first birthday following completion of training, and that any active North Carolina license, including retired and volunteer licenses, is subject to the CME rule.
How often does a North Carolina MD license need to be renewed?
Physician (MD) licenses in North Carolina renew every year. All physicians must renew each year by their birthday, regardless of the date the license was issued. The board emails a courtesy renewal notice about two months before the birthday. A physician who is 30 days delinquent receives a certified letter, and if there is no response within 30 days the license automatically becomes inactive and the physician may not practice. Renewing within 30 days after the birthday still costs a late fee. The CME requirement runs on a separate three year cycle that begins on the physician's birthday following the issuance of the license, and whole CME hours are reported at each annual renewal.
What specific CE topics are required for North Carolina physicians (MD)?
Controlled substance prescribing practices: 3 CME credits every renewal cycle (only physicians who prescribe controlled substances, except those holding a residency training license). Citations: controlled substance prescribing practices (21 NCAC 32R .0101(b)).
Do North Carolina physicians (MD) have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates, the board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation, and records must be kept for 6 years. Category 1 CME must be presented, offered or accredited by a Category 1 provider: an institution or organization accredited by the ACCME or a reciprocating organization, the American Osteopathic Association, a state medical society or association, the American Medical Association, a specialty board accredited by the ABMS, the AOA or the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada, or the Joint Accreditation for Interprofessional Continuing Education (21 NCAC 32R .0102(a)).

Sources

Last verified September 7, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.

North Carolina has no separate osteopathic board. The North Carolina Medical Board licenses both MDs and DOs, and its renewal page states the annual renewal fee for medical doctors and doctors of osteopathic medicine in the same sentence, so this record and nc-physician_do cite the same sources and carry the same values. The annual birthday renewal was read from the board's renewal page and the 60 hour, three year Category 1 requirement and the controlled substance mandate from 21 NCAC 32R .0101 on the NC Office of Administrative Hearings site. Note the two different clocks: the license renews annually on the birthday while CME is counted over a rolling three year cycle, which is why continuing_education.cycle_months is set to 36 and renewal.cycle_months to 12. Carryover is not addressed in Subchapter 32R and is left null. Documentation is reported as whole hours on the annual renewal form rather than submitted, records must be kept six consecutive years under 21 NCAC 32R .0104, and the board conducts CME compliance audits.

Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the North Carolina Medical Board before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.