North Carolina Dentist license renewal and CE requirements
North Carolina dentists must complete 15 clock hours of continuing education every year to renew their license with the North Carolina State Board of Dental Examiners.
North Carolina dental licenses renew every year. The online renewal system opens November 1. The law requires renewal with payment by January 1, but the board accepts renewals through January 31 without penalty, and the rule sets the filing deadline at midnight on January 31. A 50 dollar late penalty applies after January 31 and cannot be waived. Any license not renewed by March 31 becomes void, practicing on a void license is a Class I misdemeanor, and the dentist then has to apply for reinstatement and pay a reinstatement fee on top of the renewal fee. Continuing education audits are run randomly in real time during renewal, so renewing early leaves room to clear an audit before the deadline.
Summary
North Carolina dentists must complete 15 clock hours of continuing education every year to renew their license with the North Carolina State Board of Dental Examiners. North Carolina dental licenses renew every year. The online renewal system opens November 1. The law requires renewal with payment by January 1, but the board accepts renewals through January 31 without penalty, and the rule sets the filing deadline at midnight on January 31. A 50 dollar late penalty applies after January 31 and cannot be waived. Any license not renewed by March 31 becomes void, practicing on a void license is a Class I misdemeanor, and the dentist then has to apply for reinstatement and pay a reinstatement fee on top of the renewal fee. Continuing education audits are run randomly in real time during renewal, so renewing early leaves room to clear an audit before the deadline. North Carolina also mandates specific subjects. Controlled substance prescribing practices: 1 clock hour every renewal cycle (dentists who prescribe controlled substances). Professionalism and ethics course: 6 clock hours at the first renewal only (dentists who received an instructor's license or a general dentistry license after January 1, 2019 and who are actively practicing or teaching in North Carolina). Continuing education on mental health: 1 clock hour on a periodic schedule set by the board. The first renewal is exempt.
North Carolina Dentist renewal and continuing education rules
"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.
| Renewal cycle | Annual (12 months) |
|---|---|
| Renewal deadline | Same date for every licensee, 01/31 each cycle |
| Continuing education required | Yes |
| Hours per cycle | 15 clock hours |
| Self-study or online cap | No cap stated |
| Carryover to next cycle | Not stated |
| First renewal exempt | Yes |
| Other accepted activities | Full-time faculty service at an educational institution involved in dental or dental hygiene education, training or research, 10 hours per year; Full-time service with a federal, state or county government agency whose operation is related to dentistry, 10 hours per year; Faculty or government service of at least 20 hours per week, 5 hours per year; Volunteer dental services at a state, city or county operated site, one hour of credit for every five hours volunteered, up to 2 hours per year; Self-study courses from a board-approved sponsor with a test and certificate of completion |
21 NCAC 16R .0201(a) requires every dentist to complete a minimum of 15 clock hours of continuing education each calendar year, and the board's continuing education page states the same figure next to the hygienist figure of 6, so the two credentials are set separately. The period is the calendar year and hours are reported on the following renewal application. Any or all of the 15 hours may be self-study if the course is related to clinical patient care, comes from a board-approved sponsor, and ends in a test and a certificate, so there is no self-study or online cap. Courses must be related to clinical patient care; hours on financial issues or practice development do not count, and reviewing journals, publications or videos does not count except through a sponsored self-study course. CPR is explicitly excluded: 21 NCAC 16R .0201(e) says courses taken to maintain CPR certification shall not count toward the mandatory hours, and the board's page describes current CPR as a separate requirement in addition to the mandatory CE. The CPR course must be hands-on or blended with manikin testing by an instructor physically present, must cover use of an automatic external defibrillator, conscious and unconscious choking and rescue breathing, and does not have to be repeated annually if the certification runs two years, but it must always be current. The board exempts new licensees from continuing education in the year they are first licensed. Semi-retired Class I dentists, at 250 practice hours a year or less, are excused from the 15 hours but keep CPR and the controlled substance course if they prescribe; semi-retired Class II dentists, at 1,000 hours or less, owe half the hours, 7.5, plus the mental health hour, the controlled substance course if they prescribe, and CPR; fully retired dentists are excused from everything. Exemptions apply only to dentists who ask in writing and receive a board letter.
Required CE topics for North Carolina dentists
State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.
| Topic | Hours | Frequency | Applies to | Citation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Controlled substance prescribing practicesOne of the 15 hours must be a course addressing prescribing practices, including controlled substance prescribing practices and controlled substance prescribing for chronic pain management. It counts inside the 15, not on top. The board adds that a dentist with a DEA registration and North Carolina prescribing privileges must also be registered with the North Carolina Controlled Substance Reporting System, which is a registration duty rather than CE. Semi-retired dentists who are otherwise excused from CE still owe this course if they prescribe. North Carolina dental hygienists have no counterpart requirement. | 1 clock hour | Every renewal | Dentists who prescribe controlled substances | 21 NCAC 16R .0201(b) |
| Professionalism and ethics courseA one-time six-hour course taken in the first year the dentist is required to meet the 15 hour requirement. It is included in the 15, not added to them. The course must cover coding and billing, record keeping, informed consent, patient and staff boundaries, office management, duties delegable to dental auxiliaries, the American Dental Association Code of Ethics, and professionalism. Dentists exempt as semi-retired Class I or retired are excused until they resume full practice; semi-retired Class II dentists must take it. North Carolina dental hygienists have no counterpart requirement. | 6 clock hours | First renewal only | Dentists who received an instructor's license or a general dentistry license after January 1, 2019 and who are actively practicing or teaching in North Carolina | 21 NCAC 16R .0201(c) |
| Continuing education on mental healthOne clock hour every two calendar years, not every year. The course must address mental health issues relevant to dental professionals including substance use disorders, chemical dependency, impairment or mental health disorders, and must come from a board-approved sponsor. It may be a self-study course with a test and certificate. The dentist may apply that one hour toward the 15 hour annual total once every two calendar years. It does not replace or substitute for the controlled substance course. The identical requirement applies to dental hygienists under 21 NCAC 16I .0206. | 1 clock hour | Periodic | All licensees | 21 NCAC 16R .0206 |
Documentation and audit
| Proof submitted at renewal | No, attestation only |
|---|---|
| Keep records for | 2 years |
| Board audits compliance | Yes |
| Approved providers | Courses must come from a board-approved sponsor: providers recognized by the American Dental Association's Continuing Education Recognition Program, the Academy of General Dentistry, the North Carolina Area Health Education Centers, educational institutions with dental, dental hygiene or dental assisting schools or departments, national, state or local societies or associations, local, state or federal governmental entities, and Federally Qualified Health Centers. The board treats study clubs as associations. The sponsor must give each attendee a report showing course title, hours of instruction, date, instructor names and sponsor name. |
Common questions
- How many CE hours does a North Carolina DDS/DMD need to renew?
- North Carolina dentists must complete 15 clock hours of continuing education every year to renew their license with the North Carolina State Board of Dental Examiners. 21 NCAC 16R .0201(a) requires every dentist to complete a minimum of 15 clock hours of continuing education each calendar year, and the board's continuing education page states the same figure next to the hygienist figure of 6, so the two credentials are set separately. The period is the calendar year and hours are reported on the following renewal application. Any or all of the 15 hours may be self-study if the course is related to clinical patient care, comes from a board-approved sponsor, and ends in a test and a certificate, so there is no self-study or online cap. Courses must be related to clinical patient care; hours on financial issues or practice development do not count, and reviewing journals, publications or videos does not count except through a sponsored self-study course. CPR is explicitly excluded: 21 NCAC 16R .0201(e) says courses taken to maintain CPR certification shall not count toward the mandatory hours, and the board's page describes current CPR as a separate requirement in addition to the mandatory CE. The CPR course must be hands-on or blended with manikin testing by an instructor physically present, must cover use of an automatic external defibrillator, conscious and unconscious choking and rescue breathing, and does not have to be repeated annually if the certification runs two years, but it must always be current. The board exempts new licensees from continuing education in the year they are first licensed. Semi-retired Class I dentists, at 250 practice hours a year or less, are excused from the 15 hours but keep CPR and the controlled substance course if they prescribe; semi-retired Class II dentists, at 1,000 hours or less, owe half the hours, 7.5, plus the mental health hour, the controlled substance course if they prescribe, and CPR; fully retired dentists are excused from everything. Exemptions apply only to dentists who ask in writing and receive a board letter.
- How often does a North Carolina DDS/DMD license need to be renewed?
- Dentist licenses in North Carolina renew every year. North Carolina dental licenses renew every year. The online renewal system opens November 1. The law requires renewal with payment by January 1, but the board accepts renewals through January 31 without penalty, and the rule sets the filing deadline at midnight on January 31. A 50 dollar late penalty applies after January 31 and cannot be waived. Any license not renewed by March 31 becomes void, practicing on a void license is a Class I misdemeanor, and the dentist then has to apply for reinstatement and pay a reinstatement fee on top of the renewal fee. Continuing education audits are run randomly in real time during renewal, so renewing early leaves room to clear an audit before the deadline.
- What specific CE topics are required for North Carolina dentists?
- Controlled substance prescribing practices: 1 clock hour every renewal cycle (dentists who prescribe controlled substances). Professionalism and ethics course: 6 clock hours at the first renewal only (dentists who received an instructor's license or a general dentistry license after January 1, 2019 and who are actively practicing or teaching in North Carolina). Continuing education on mental health: 1 clock hour on a periodic schedule set by the board. Citations: controlled substance prescribing practices (21 NCAC 16R .0201(b)), professionalism and ethics course (21 NCAC 16R .0201(c)), and continuing education on mental health (21 NCAC 16R .0206).
- Do North Carolina dentists have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
- Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates, the board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation, and records must be kept for 2 years. Courses must come from a board-approved sponsor: providers recognized by the American Dental Association's Continuing Education Recognition Program, the Academy of General Dentistry, the North Carolina Area Health Education Centers, educational institutions with dental, dental hygiene or dental assisting schools or departments, national, state or local societies or associations, local, state or federal governmental entities, and Federally Qualified Health Centers. The board treats study clubs as associations. The sponsor must give each attendee a report showing course title, hours of instruction, date, instructor names and sponsor name.
- Is the first North Carolina DDS/DMD renewal exempt from CE?
- Yes. North Carolina does not require continuing education for a DDS/DMD's first renewal.
Sources
Last verified September 8, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.
- 21 NCAC Chapter 16, Subchapter 16R, Annual Renewal of License and Continuing Education Requirements: DentistStatute or administrative rule, accessed September 8, 2026
- Continuing Education, North Carolina State Board of Dental ExaminersState board page, accessed September 8, 2026
- License Renewal, North Carolina State Board of Dental ExaminersState board page, accessed September 8, 2026
- 21 NCAC Chapter 16, Subchapter 16I, Annual Renewal of License and Continuing Education Requirements: Dental HygienistStatute or administrative rule, accessed September 8, 2026
North Carolina runs one regulator, the North Carolina State Board of Dental Examiners, for both credentials, and it licenses hygienists directly rather than through a separate hygiene board or committee. The two credentials have entirely separate rule subchapters, 16R for dentists and 16I for dental hygienists, and both were read in full on reports.oah.state.nc.us, the Office of Administrative Hearings site that publishes the North Carolina Administrative Code. The board's own continuing education page states the dentist and hygienist annual totals in the same sentence, 15 and 6, so the figures were read side by side rather than derived. The unit is clock hours because that is the board's own word in the rule. North Carolina renews annually, so hours_per_cycle is the annual figure and continuing_education.cycle_months is set to 12 to make that explicit. The mental health hour is the one requirement on a two-year rhythm and is marked periodic. The rules state no carryover provision, no category 1 minimum and no live or interactive minimum. The first-year exemption for new licensees comes from the board's continuing education page rather than the rule text. The deadline date recorded is January 31, the filing deadline in 21 NCAC 16R .0101(a) and the last day without a penalty; the board also notes the statute nominally requires renewal by January 1 and that the license goes void after March 31. The mandatory topic key mental_health is not on the canonical topic list in the brief, so a short snake_case key was used.
Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the North Carolina State Board of Dental Examiners before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.