Skip to main content
CredNet

North Carolina Nurse Practitioner license renewal and CE requirements

North Carolina nurse practitioners must complete 50 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the North Carolina Board of Nursing and North Carolina Medical Board, acting through their Joint Subcommittee.

North Carolina approves nurse practitioners jointly: approval to practice is authorization by the Joint Subcommittee of the Medical Board and the Board of Nursing, and the two boards adopt the governing rules together. The approval to practice must be renewed annually with the Board of Nursing no later than the last day of the nurse practitioner's birth month, and it expires if the deadline passes. Renewal requires maintaining current North Carolina RN licensure or the compact privilege, maintaining national certification as a nurse practitioner, attesting to completion of the continuing competence requirements, paying the fee and completing the application. The underlying registered nurse license renews on its own two year cycle, also by the last day of the birth month, so in alternate years a nurse practitioner renews both.

Renewal cycle
Annual
Tied to the licensee's birth month
CE per cycle
50
contact hours every two years
Mandated topics
1
required subject
Last verified
September 8, 2026
14 days ago

Summary

North Carolina nurse practitioners must complete 50 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the North Carolina Board of Nursing and North Carolina Medical Board, acting through their Joint Subcommittee. North Carolina approves nurse practitioners jointly: approval to practice is authorization by the Joint Subcommittee of the Medical Board and the Board of Nursing, and the two boards adopt the governing rules together. The approval to practice must be renewed annually with the Board of Nursing no later than the last day of the nurse practitioner's birth month, and it expires if the deadline passes. Renewal requires maintaining current North Carolina RN licensure or the compact privilege, maintaining national certification as a nurse practitioner, attesting to completion of the continuing competence requirements, paying the fee and completing the application. The underlying registered nurse license renews on its own two year cycle, also by the last day of the birth month, so in alternate years a nurse practitioner renews both. North Carolina also mandates specific subjects. Continuing education on controlled substance prescribing practices, chronic pain management, recognition of abuse, or non-opioid alternatives: 1 contact hour every renewal cycle (nurse practitioners who prescribe controlled substances). The first renewal is exempt.

North Carolina Nurse Practitioner renewal and continuing education rules

"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.

Renewal cycleAnnual (12 months)
Renewal deadlineTied to the licensee's birth month
Continuing education requiredYes
Hours per cycle50 contact hoursCounted over a two-year window, separate from the renewal cycle.
Self-study or online capNo cap stated
Carryover to next cycleNot stated
First renewal exemptYes

The continuing education cycle is two years even though the approval to practice is renewed annually, which is why continuing_education.cycle_months is set separately from the renewal cycle. 21 NCAC 36 .0807 requires a nurse practitioner to earn 50 contact hours of continuing education every two years, beginning with the first renewal after initial approval to practice has been granted, and requires a minimum of 20 of those 50 hours to be within the nurse practitioner's national certification, approved by a national credentialing body or by the ACCME. The obligation is layered on top of the registered nurse license, which the nurse practitioner must keep current and which carries its own continuing competence requirement on a two year cycle. National certification is not an alternative to the hours here: it is separately mandatory for approval to practice and 20 of the 50 hours must sit inside it. The rule states no pharmacology or pharmacotherapeutics hour count for nurse practitioners. Documentation of all continuing education completed within the previous five years must be kept and produced on request. exempt_first_renewal is recorded true because the rule starts the two year count with the first renewal after initial approval.

Required CE topics for North Carolina nurse practitioners

State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.

TopicHoursFrequencyApplies toCitation
Continuing education on controlled substance prescribing practices, chronic pain management, recognition of abuse, or non-opioid alternativesBefore prescribing controlled substances the nurse practitioner must have completed a minimum of one continuing education hour within the preceding 12 months on these topics. The hour is inclusive of, not additional to, the required contact hours. A nurse practitioner who completes the federally required MATE training is deemed in compliance with the controlled substance prescribing part of the rule for the two year continuing education period.1 contact hourEvery renewalNurse practitioners who prescribe controlled substances21 NCAC 36 .0807

Documentation and audit

Proof submitted at renewalNo, attestation only
Keep records for5 years
Board audits complianceNot stated
Approved providersAt least 20 of the 50 hours must be within the nurse practitioner's national certification and approved by a national credentialing body or by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education.

Common questions

How many CE hours does a North Carolina NP need to renew?
North Carolina nurse practitioners must complete 50 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the North Carolina Board of Nursing and North Carolina Medical Board, acting through their Joint Subcommittee. The continuing education cycle is two years even though the approval to practice is renewed annually, which is why continuing_education.cycle_months is set separately from the renewal cycle. 21 NCAC 36 .0807 requires a nurse practitioner to earn 50 contact hours of continuing education every two years, beginning with the first renewal after initial approval to practice has been granted, and requires a minimum of 20 of those 50 hours to be within the nurse practitioner's national certification, approved by a national credentialing body or by the ACCME. The obligation is layered on top of the registered nurse license, which the nurse practitioner must keep current and which carries its own continuing competence requirement on a two year cycle. National certification is not an alternative to the hours here: it is separately mandatory for approval to practice and 20 of the 50 hours must sit inside it. The rule states no pharmacology or pharmacotherapeutics hour count for nurse practitioners. Documentation of all continuing education completed within the previous five years must be kept and produced on request. exempt_first_renewal is recorded true because the rule starts the two year count with the first renewal after initial approval.
How often does a North Carolina NP license need to be renewed?
Nurse Practitioner licenses in North Carolina renew every year. North Carolina approves nurse practitioners jointly: approval to practice is authorization by the Joint Subcommittee of the Medical Board and the Board of Nursing, and the two boards adopt the governing rules together. The approval to practice must be renewed annually with the Board of Nursing no later than the last day of the nurse practitioner's birth month, and it expires if the deadline passes. Renewal requires maintaining current North Carolina RN licensure or the compact privilege, maintaining national certification as a nurse practitioner, attesting to completion of the continuing competence requirements, paying the fee and completing the application. The underlying registered nurse license renews on its own two year cycle, also by the last day of the birth month, so in alternate years a nurse practitioner renews both.
What specific CE topics are required for North Carolina nurse practitioners?
Continuing education on controlled substance prescribing practices, chronic pain management, recognition of abuse, or non-opioid alternatives: 1 contact hour every renewal cycle (nurse practitioners who prescribe controlled substances). Citations: continuing education on controlled substance prescribing practices, chronic pain management, recognition of abuse, or non-opioid alternatives (21 NCAC 36 .0807).
Do North Carolina nurse practitioners have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates and records must be kept for 5 years. At least 20 of the 50 hours must be within the nurse practitioner's national certification and approved by a national credentialing body or by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education.
Is the first North Carolina NP renewal exempt from CE?
Yes. North Carolina does not require continuing education for a NP's first renewal.

Sources

Last verified September 8, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.

Both boards were checked, as the joint approval structure required. The statute on the General Assembly's own site confirms that the Medical Board and the Board of Nursing adopt nurse practitioner rules through a joint subcommittee, and 21 NCAC 36 .0801 defines approval to practice as authorization by that Joint Subcommittee. The hour count, the two year continuing education cycle, the 20 hours inside national certification, the controlled substance hour, the MATE deeming provision and the five year documentation rule were all read in the codified text of 21 NCAC 36 .0807, and the annual birth month renewal in 21 NCAC 36 .0806. Those rule texts were read through the Cornell Legal Information Institute mirror and are typed as third party summaries, because the Board of Nursing site at ncbon.com returns HTTP 403 to every automated client and the North Carolina Office of Administrative Hearings rules server at reports.oah.state.nc.us refuses HTTPS connections entirely, so neither state copy of the rule could be read. A person should open https://www.ncbon.com/np-continuing-competence in a browser to confirm the figures against the board's own page. renewal_url is null for the same reason. The record does not include the registered nurse continuing competence requirement as part of the 50 hours: it is a separate obligation attached to the RN license, which the nurse practitioner must keep active.

Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the North Carolina Board of Nursing and North Carolina Medical Board, acting through their Joint Subcommittee before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.