Oregon license renewal and CE requirements
Renewal cycle, continuing education hours, and mandated topics for each healthcare license type in Oregon, read from the state board and dated. 15 of 27 license types are verified so far.
Jump to a profession in Oregon
Requirements by license type
Units differ by profession: contact hours, CME credits, and CEUs are not interchangeable.
| License | Renewal | CE per cycle | Mandated topics | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Licensed Practical Nurse | Two-year | Required, hours not stated | Pain management education (Oregon Pain Management Commission module); Cultural competency continuing education | September 7, 2026 |
| Nurse Practitioner | Two-year | Required, hours not stated | Pain management education; Cultural competency education | September 8, 2026 |
| Osteopathic Physician (DO) | Two-year | 60 CME credits | Oregon Pain Management Commission pain management education; Cultural competency continuing education | September 7, 2026 |
| Physician (MD) | Two-year | 60 CME credits | Oregon Pain Management Commission pain management education; Cultural competency continuing education | September 7, 2026 |
| Physician Assistant | Two-year | 60 CME credits | Oregon Pain Management Commission pain management education; Cultural competency continuing education | September 8, 2026 |
| Registered Nurse | Two-year | Required, hours not stated | Pain management education (Oregon Pain Management Commission module); Cultural competency continuing education | September 7, 2026 |
| Certified Nurse-Midwife | Two-year | Required, hours not stated | Oregon Pain Management Commission pain management education program; Cultural competency continuing education | September 10, 2026 |
| Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist | Two-year | Required, hours not stated | One-hour pain management education program; Cultural competency continuing education | September 8, 2026 |
| Occupational Therapist | Two-year | 30 contact hours | Cultural competency; Oregon Pain Management Commission pain management module | September 10, 2026 |
| Occupational Therapy Assistant | Two-year | 30 contact hours | Cultural competency; Oregon Pain Management Commission pain management module | September 10, 2026 |
| Pharmacist | Two-year | 30 contact hours | Pharmacy law; Patient safety or medication error prevention; Cultural competency; Pain management, provided by the Pain Management Commission of the Oregon Health Authority | September 10, 2026 |
| Physical Therapist | Two-year | 24 contact hours | Oregon Pain Management Commission Pain Management Module (currently 'Transforming Pain Management'); Cultural competency education | September 7, 2026 |
| Physical Therapist Assistant | Two-year | 24 contact hours | Oregon Pain Management Commission Pain Management Module; Cultural competency education | September 8, 2026 |
| Dental Hygienist | Two-year | 24 contact hours | Medical emergencies in a dental office; Infection control; Cultural competency | September 8, 2026 |
| Dentist | Two-year | 40 contact hours | Medical emergencies in a dental office; Oregon specific pain management course from the Pain Management Commission of the Oregon Health Authority; Infection control; Cultural competency; Placement and restoration of dental implants | September 8, 2026 |
Coming soon for Oregon
These license types are coming soon. We publish a combination only after reading the board's own rule, so nothing is estimated here.
- Speech-Language Pathologist
- Respiratory Therapist
- Psychologist
- Licensed Clinical Social Worker
- Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist
- Licensed Professional Counselor
- Radiologic Technologist
- Registered Dietitian
- Optometrist
- Chiropractor
- Podiatrist
- Paramedic
Read from state board pages, statutes, and administrative rules. Requirements change through legislative sessions, so confirm with the board before relying on them. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.