Oregon Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist license renewal and CE requirements
Oregon nurse anesthetists must complete continuing education to renew every two years, but the Oregon State Board of Nursing does not publish a fixed hour count.
Oregon licenses the nurse anesthetist as an advanced practice registered nurse with the CRNA license type, held alongside a registered nurse license. Under OAR 851-031-0048(1) a nursing license is valid for two years from the date it is issued, and the renewal application must be submitted by 11:59 p.m. on the license expiration date to be timely. The renewal application requires verification of RN licensure for all APRN applicants and, for CRNA applicants specifically, verification of current national certification congruent with license type and population focus. Renewal is completed in the board's online portal. A license expired for more than 90 days requires reinstatement, and an incomplete application expires 12 months after submission.
Summary
Requirements are changing. Oregon's competency rules are mid-transition. As of January 1, 2026 practice hours were dropped and the only education a nurse anesthetist must show at renewal is one hour of pain management and two hours of cultural competency, with no general hour total. Starting January 1, 2028 a further requirement takes effect, and the board's own webpage and the current rule text describe it differently: the webpage says APRN applicants will need national certification or 75 hours of continuing education, while OAR 851-031-0008(3), as amended effective September 1, 2026, requires nurse practitioners and nurse anesthetists to provide primary source evidence of national certification and reserves the 75 hour path for clinical nurse specialists without certification. Confirm with the board before the 2028 cycle.
Oregon nurse anesthetists must complete continuing education to renew every two years, but the Oregon State Board of Nursing does not publish a fixed hour count. Oregon licenses the nurse anesthetist as an advanced practice registered nurse with the CRNA license type, held alongside a registered nurse license. Under OAR 851-031-0048(1) a nursing license is valid for two years from the date it is issued, and the renewal application must be submitted by 11:59 p.m. on the license expiration date to be timely. The renewal application requires verification of RN licensure for all APRN applicants and, for CRNA applicants specifically, verification of current national certification congruent with license type and population focus. Renewal is completed in the board's online portal. A license expired for more than 90 days requires reinstatement, and an incomplete application expires 12 months after submission. Oregon also mandates specific subjects. One-hour pain management education program: 1 contact hour on a periodic schedule set by the board. Cultural competency continuing education: 2 contact hours on a periodic schedule set by the board.
Oregon Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist renewal and continuing education rules
"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.
| Renewal cycle | Two-year (24 months) |
|---|---|
| Renewal deadline | Tied to the original issue date |
| Continuing education required | Yes |
| Hours per cycle | Not stated |
| Self-study or online cap | No cap stated |
| Carryover to next cycle | Not stated |
| First renewal exempt | Not stated |
Oregon sets no general continuing education hour total for a nurse anesthetist, which is why hours_per_cycle is null rather than a number. Education is required, but only in the two named topics recorded below: one hour of pain management education every 36 months and two hours of cultural competency education every other renewal cycle, which the board's page describes as within the past 48 months. Read the date before the number here. The board states that as of January 1, 2026 practice hours are no longer required to assure competency for Oregon licensed nurses, and OAR 851-031-0048(2)(c) makes the general continuing education requirement in OAR 851-031-0008 effective only from January 1, 2028. Even then, OAR 851-031-0008(3)(c) states that all Oregon nurse practitioner and certified registered nurse anesthetist applicants must provide primary source evidence of national certification, and OAR 851-031-0008(3)(d) reserves the 75 hour figure for a clinical nurse specialist applicant without current national certification. So Oregon never sets an hour total for a nurse anesthetist under the current rules. Reinstatement is different: an applicant whose license has been expired for more than 90 days must complete between 20 and 60 hours within the prior two years depending on how long the license has lapsed, and the pain management and cultural competency hours count toward that total. NBCRNA's own four year Continued Professional Certification credit totals are not adopted by Oregon as a state figure, so no national total is recorded here.
Required CE topics for Oregon certified registered nurse anesthetists
State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.
| Topic | Hours | Frequency | Applies to | Citation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| One-hour pain management education programRequired at initial or endorsement licensure and every 36 months thereafter, so it does not line up with the two year renewal cycle. The program must be the one developed by the Oregon Pain Management Commission or one delivered through a board approved nursing education program. The board's competency requirements page lists this for LPN, RN and APRN renewal applicants alike, so it reaches a nurse anesthetist. | 1 contact hour | Periodic | All licensees | OAR 851-031-0008(1) |
| Cultural competency continuing educationTwo hours every other renewal cycle, which the board's page states as within the past 48 months. Delivered through the Oregon Health Authority Cultural Competence Continuing Education program. Applies to LPN, RN and APRN renewal applicants alike, so it reaches a nurse anesthetist. | 2 contact hours | Periodic | All licensees | OAR 851-031-0008(2) |
Documentation and audit
| Proof submitted at renewal | Yes |
|---|---|
| Keep records for | Not stated |
| Board audits compliance | Not stated |
| Approved providers | The pain management hour must come from the Oregon Pain Management Commission program or a board approved nursing education program. Cultural competency education is delivered through the Oregon Health Authority. Under OAR 851-031-0008(6), unless the rule says otherwise all continuing education must be in nursing topics relevant to the applicant's area of practice and license type. |
Common questions
- How many CE hours does a Oregon CRNA need to renew?
- Oregon nurse anesthetists must complete continuing education to renew every two years, but the Oregon State Board of Nursing does not publish a fixed hour count. Oregon sets no general continuing education hour total for a nurse anesthetist, which is why hours_per_cycle is null rather than a number. Education is required, but only in the two named topics recorded below: one hour of pain management education every 36 months and two hours of cultural competency education every other renewal cycle, which the board's page describes as within the past 48 months. Read the date before the number here. The board states that as of January 1, 2026 practice hours are no longer required to assure competency for Oregon licensed nurses, and OAR 851-031-0048(2)(c) makes the general continuing education requirement in OAR 851-031-0008 effective only from January 1, 2028. Even then, OAR 851-031-0008(3)(c) states that all Oregon nurse practitioner and certified registered nurse anesthetist applicants must provide primary source evidence of national certification, and OAR 851-031-0008(3)(d) reserves the 75 hour figure for a clinical nurse specialist applicant without current national certification. So Oregon never sets an hour total for a nurse anesthetist under the current rules. Reinstatement is different: an applicant whose license has been expired for more than 90 days must complete between 20 and 60 hours within the prior two years depending on how long the license has lapsed, and the pain management and cultural competency hours count toward that total. NBCRNA's own four year Continued Professional Certification credit totals are not adopted by Oregon as a state figure, so no national total is recorded here.
- How often does a Oregon CRNA license need to be renewed?
- Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist licenses in Oregon renew every two years. Oregon licenses the nurse anesthetist as an advanced practice registered nurse with the CRNA license type, held alongside a registered nurse license. Under OAR 851-031-0048(1) a nursing license is valid for two years from the date it is issued, and the renewal application must be submitted by 11:59 p.m. on the license expiration date to be timely. The renewal application requires verification of RN licensure for all APRN applicants and, for CRNA applicants specifically, verification of current national certification congruent with license type and population focus. Renewal is completed in the board's online portal. A license expired for more than 90 days requires reinstatement, and an incomplete application expires 12 months after submission.
- What specific CE topics are required for Oregon nurse anesthetists?
- One-hour pain management education program: 1 contact hour on a periodic schedule set by the board. Cultural competency continuing education: 2 contact hours on a periodic schedule set by the board. Citations: One-hour pain management education program (OAR 851-031-0008(1)) and cultural competency continuing education (OAR 851-031-0008(2)).
- Do Oregon nurse anesthetists have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
- Proof of completion must be submitted with the renewal. The pain management hour must come from the Oregon Pain Management Commission program or a board approved nursing education program. Cultural competency education is delivered through the Oregon Health Authority. Under OAR 851-031-0008(6), unless the rule says otherwise all continuing education must be in nursing topics relevant to the applicant's area of practice and license type.
Sources
Last verified September 8, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.
- OAR 851-031-0048, Renewal of License, Oregon State Board of NursingStatute or administrative rule, accessed September 8, 2026
- OAR 851-031-0008, Competency Requirements, Oregon State Board of NursingStatute or administrative rule, accessed September 8, 2026
- Competency Requirements, Oregon State Board of NursingState board page, accessed September 8, 2026
- Oregon State Board of NursingState board page, accessed September 8, 2026
Oregon writes its competency rule for all license types together, so it is a shared rule, but it names the certified registered nurse anesthetist explicitly in two places and both matter. OAR 851-031-0048(2)(e) requires verification of current national certification congruent with license type and population focus for all CRNA applicants, and for nurse practitioner applicants only if they were initially licensed after January 1, 2011. A nurse anesthetist therefore owes proof of NBCRNA certification at every renewal without the date qualifier a nurse practitioner gets. OAR 851-031-0008(3)(c) then names nurse practitioners and nurse anesthetists together as needing primary source evidence of national certification from January 1, 2028, while (3)(d) gives only the clinical nurse specialist without current certification a 75 hour path. Oregon's nurse practitioner record in this dataset carries 75 hours as its figure; under the rule text as amended effective September 1, 2026 that figure belongs to the clinical nurse specialist, not to the nurse practitioner or the nurse anesthetist, and it does not take effect until 2028 in any case. That discrepancy is flagged in the advisory and should be reconciled against or-np.json. The board's competency requirements webpage still summarises the 2028 change in the older form, saying APRN applicants will need evidence of national certification or 75 hours of continuing education related to their advanced practice role; the rule states its own amendment history and effective date, BN 4-2026 filed 08/21/2026 effective 09/01/2026, so the rule text is used here and the webpage difference is recorded rather than silently resolved. It does not change any value in this record, because both descriptions agree on what is required today. The Oregon Secretary of State administrative rules site returns a JavaScript challenge to automated clients; the two rules were read as rendered HTML pages in a browser session rather than fetched, and no file was downloaded. Retention years and audit practice for continuing education records are not stated in the rules read.
Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Oregon State Board of Nursing before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.