Oregon Physical Therapist license renewal and CE requirements
Oregon physical therapists must complete 24 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Oregon Board of Physical Therapy.
Licenses are valid for up to two years and expire on March 31 of even-numbered years. Renewal is completed in the board's self-service portal and requires reporting continuing competency courses and uploading certificates; renewing a lapsed license adds a $50 delinquent fee.
Summary
Oregon physical therapists must complete 24 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Oregon Board of Physical Therapy. Licenses are valid for up to two years and expire on March 31 of even-numbered years. Renewal is completed in the board's self-service portal and requires reporting continuing competency courses and uploading certificates; renewing a lapsed license adds a $50 delinquent fee. Oregon also mandates specific subjects. Oregon Pain Management Commission Pain Management Module (currently 'Transforming Pain Management'): 1 contact hour every renewal cycle. Cultural competency education: 1 contact hour every renewal cycle. Up to 8 excess contact hours carry over to the next cycle.
Oregon Physical Therapist renewal and continuing education rules
"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.
| Renewal cycle | Two-year (24 months) |
|---|---|
| Renewal deadline | Same date for every licensee, 03/31 each cycleFirst renewal is prorated. |
| Continuing education required | Yes |
| Hours per cycle | 24 contact hours |
| Self-study or online cap | No cap stated |
| Carryover to next cycle | Yes, up to 8 contact hours |
| First renewal exempt | Not stated |
| Other accepted activities | ABPTRFE accredited residencies and fellowships; Clinical instructor credentialing; Peer-reviewed journal publications; Presenting courses; Oregon Jurisprudence Assessment Module (OR-JAM, 3 hours, optional) |
OAR 848-035-0020: all licensees complete 24 hours of continuing competence per certification period (April 1 of an even year through March 31 of the next even year); the current period is April 1, 2026 through March 31, 2028. No single activity may be less than 0.5 hour. The board places no limit on online courses. Non-clinical activities are capped at 8 hours total with no more than 4 from any single category (OAR 848-035-0030(3)). Up to 8 excess hours may be carried to the next period on request by February 1 (OAR 848-035-0030(6)). First renewal is prorated: a licensee first licensed in year one of the period owes the full 24 hours, in year two owes 12 hours, and a licensee licensed January 1 through March 31 of an even year who renews that same year owes none (OAR 848-035-0020(4) and (5)); the board's page gives the same tiers by license effective date.
Required CE topics for Oregon physical therapists
State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.
| Topic | Hours | Frequency | Applies to | Citation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Oregon Pain Management Commission Pain Management Module (currently 'Transforming Pain Management')Required at initial licensure and at every renewal unless completed within the prior year; the board's page lists it as 1 CC unit and free. Licensees first licensed after April 1, 2024 who completed it for licensure upload that certificate at renewal rather than retaking it. | 1 contact hour | Every renewal | All licensees | OAR 848-035-0030 |
| Cultural competency educationMinimum one hour per renewal period from a course approved by or meeting the criteria of the Oregon Health Authority. The same course may not be used in two consecutive renewal periods; a 0.5-hour course does not satisfy the requirement on its own; ethics courses qualify only if they explicitly address the OHA criteria. | 1 contact hour | Every renewal | All licensees | OAR 848-035-0030; ORS 413.450 (House Bill 2011, 2019) |
Documentation and audit
| Proof submitted at renewal | Yes |
|---|---|
| Keep records for | 4 years |
| Board audits compliance | Yes |
| Approved providers | The board does not approve continuing competency courses, but requires that courses be sponsored, certified, or approved by another established and recognized health-related organization. Each activity needs a completion certificate showing title, sponsor or speaker, date, hours, and licensee name; a legible copy is submitted to the board before or during renewal, originals are kept at least four years from the certificate date, and the board may require additional documentation from any or all renewing licensees (OAR 848-035-0040). |
Common questions
- How many CE hours does a Oregon PT need to renew?
- Oregon physical therapists must complete 24 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Oregon Board of Physical Therapy. OAR 848-035-0020: all licensees complete 24 hours of continuing competence per certification period (April 1 of an even year through March 31 of the next even year); the current period is April 1, 2026 through March 31, 2028. No single activity may be less than 0.5 hour. The board places no limit on online courses. Non-clinical activities are capped at 8 hours total with no more than 4 from any single category (OAR 848-035-0030(3)). Up to 8 excess hours may be carried to the next period on request by February 1 (OAR 848-035-0030(6)). First renewal is prorated: a licensee first licensed in year one of the period owes the full 24 hours, in year two owes 12 hours, and a licensee licensed January 1 through March 31 of an even year who renews that same year owes none (OAR 848-035-0020(4) and (5)); the board's page gives the same tiers by license effective date.
- How often does a Oregon PT license need to be renewed?
- Physical Therapist licenses in Oregon renew every two years. Licenses are valid for up to two years and expire on March 31 of even-numbered years. Renewal is completed in the board's self-service portal and requires reporting continuing competency courses and uploading certificates; renewing a lapsed license adds a $50 delinquent fee.
- What specific CE topics are required for Oregon physical therapists?
- Oregon Pain Management Commission Pain Management Module (currently 'Transforming Pain Management'): 1 contact hour every renewal cycle. Cultural competency education: 1 contact hour every renewal cycle. Citations: Oregon Pain Management Commission Pain Management Module (currently 'Transforming Pain Management') (OAR 848-035-0030) and cultural competency education (OAR 848-035-0030; ORS 413.450 (House Bill 2011, 2019)).
- Do Oregon physical therapists have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
- Proof of completion must be submitted with the renewal, the board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation, and records must be kept for 4 years. The board does not approve continuing competency courses, but requires that courses be sponsored, certified, or approved by another established and recognized health-related organization. Each activity needs a completion certificate showing title, sponsor or speaker, date, hours, and licensee name; a legible copy is submitted to the board before or during renewal, originals are kept at least four years from the certificate date, and the board may require additional documentation from any or all renewing licensees (OAR 848-035-0040).
Sources
Last verified September 7, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.
- Continuing Competency (CC), Oregon Board of Physical TherapyState board page, accessed September 7, 2026
- License Renewals, Oregon Board of Physical TherapyState board page, accessed September 7, 2026
- Cultural Competency, Oregon Board of Physical TherapyState board page, accessed September 7, 2026
- OAR Chapter 848, Division 35, Continuing Competence (Oregon Secretary of State)Statute or administrative rule, accessed September 7, 2026
- OAR 848-035-0040, Documentation of Continuing CompetenceStatute or administrative rule, accessed September 7, 2026
- Oregon Board of Physical Therapy, Welcome PageState board page, accessed September 7, 2026
24 hours per certification period, the March 31 even-year expiration, pain management and cultural competency mandates, no online limit, 8-hour non-clinical cap, 8-hour carryover, first-renewal proration, four-year retention, and certificate upload at renewal read from OAR chapter 848 division 35 and the board's CC, renewal, and cultural competency pages, which agree. The board's page describes the pain module as 1 CC unit; the rule does not assign an hour value. The board's 'Understanding CC' PDF returned 404 and was not used. The OR-JAM is an optional credited activity, not a mandate. Jurisprudence is not required at renewal.
Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Oregon Board of Physical Therapy before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.