Skip to main content
CredNet

Oregon Nurse Practitioner license renewal and CE requirements

Oregon nurse practitioners must complete continuing education to renew every two years, but the Oregon State Board of Nursing does not publish a fixed hour count.

A nursing license is valid for two years from the date it is issued, and the renewal application must be submitted by 11:59 p.m. on the license expiration date to be timely. The rule covers advanced practice registered nurses, and a nurse practitioner initially licensed after January 1, 2011 must provide verification of current national certification congruent with the license type. Renewal is completed in the board's online portal; a license expired more than 90 days requires reinstatement.

Renewal cycle
Two-year
Tied to the original issue date
CE per cycle
Required
hours not stated
Mandated topics
2
required subjects
Last verified
September 8, 2026
14 days ago

Summary

Requirements are changing. Oregon's continuing education rule changes on January 1, 2028, and nurse practitioners are not moving to an hour count. Today the requirement is the two topic courses below. Starting January 1, 2028, OAR 851-031-0008(3)(c) requires nurse practitioners and nurse anesthetists to provide primary source evidence of national certification instead of hours. The 75 hour figure that circulates for Oregon belongs to clinical nurse specialists who do not hold current national certification, under subsection (3)(d), and does not apply to nurse practitioners. Confirm with the Oregon State Board of Nursing which requirement applies to your renewal date.

Oregon nurse practitioners must complete continuing education to renew every two years, but the Oregon State Board of Nursing does not publish a fixed hour count. A nursing license is valid for two years from the date it is issued, and the renewal application must be submitted by 11:59 p.m. on the license expiration date to be timely. The rule covers advanced practice registered nurses, and a nurse practitioner initially licensed after January 1, 2011 must provide verification of current national certification congruent with the license type. Renewal is completed in the board's online portal; a license expired more than 90 days requires reinstatement. Oregon also mandates specific subjects. Pain management education: 1 contact hour on a periodic schedule set by the board (All LPN, RN and APRN renewal applicants). Cultural competency education: 2 contact hours on a periodic schedule set by the board (All LPN, RN and APRN renewal applicants).

Oregon Nurse Practitioner renewal and continuing education rules

"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.

Renewal cycleTwo-year (24 months)
Renewal deadlineTied to the original issue date
Continuing education requiredYes
Hours per cycleNot stated
Self-study or online capNo cap stated
Carryover to next cycleNot stated
First renewal exemptNot stated
Other accepted activitiesNational certification, which the board accepts in place of the 75 hours once the requirement takes effect on January 1, 2028

Read the date before the number, and note that Oregon does not put nurse practitioners on an hour count at all. Today the requirement is the one hour Oregon Pain Management Commission course every 36 months and two hours of cultural competency every other renewal cycle, so hours_per_cycle is null. Starting January 1, 2028, OAR 851-031-0008(3)(c) requires every Oregon nurse practitioner and certified registered nurse anesthetist to provide primary source evidence of national certification at renewal. The 75 hour figure often attributed to Oregon nurse practitioners is subsection (3)(d), which applies to a clinical nurse specialist without current national certification and requires 75 hours within the prior five years. Separate totals apply to reinstatement after a lapse.

Required CE topics for Oregon nurse practitioners

State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.

TopicHoursFrequencyApplies toCitation
Pain management educationOne hour in the last 36 months. Frequency is periodic because the 36 month interval does not line up with the two year renewal cycle.1 contact hourPeriodicAll LPN, RN and APRN renewal applicantsNot stated
Cultural competency educationTwo hours in the past 48 months, which the board describes as every other renewal cycle.2 contact hoursPeriodicAll LPN, RN and APRN renewal applicantsNot stated

Documentation and audit

Proof submitted at renewalNo, attestation only
Keep records forNot stated
Board audits complianceNot stated

Common questions

How many CE hours does a Oregon NP need to renew?
Oregon nurse practitioners must complete continuing education to renew every two years, but the Oregon State Board of Nursing does not publish a fixed hour count. Read the date before the number, and note that Oregon does not put nurse practitioners on an hour count at all. Today the requirement is the one hour Oregon Pain Management Commission course every 36 months and two hours of cultural competency every other renewal cycle, so hours_per_cycle is null. Starting January 1, 2028, OAR 851-031-0008(3)(c) requires every Oregon nurse practitioner and certified registered nurse anesthetist to provide primary source evidence of national certification at renewal. The 75 hour figure often attributed to Oregon nurse practitioners is subsection (3)(d), which applies to a clinical nurse specialist without current national certification and requires 75 hours within the prior five years. Separate totals apply to reinstatement after a lapse.
How often does a Oregon NP license need to be renewed?
Nurse Practitioner licenses in Oregon renew every two years. A nursing license is valid for two years from the date it is issued, and the renewal application must be submitted by 11:59 p.m. on the license expiration date to be timely. The rule covers advanced practice registered nurses, and a nurse practitioner initially licensed after January 1, 2011 must provide verification of current national certification congruent with the license type. Renewal is completed in the board's online portal; a license expired more than 90 days requires reinstatement.
What specific CE topics are required for Oregon nurse practitioners?
Pain management education: 1 contact hour on a periodic schedule set by the board (All LPN, RN and APRN renewal applicants). Cultural competency education: 2 contact hours on a periodic schedule set by the board (All LPN, RN and APRN renewal applicants).
Do Oregon nurse practitioners have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates.

Sources

Last verified September 8, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.

The two year term from the date of issuance, the 11:59 p.m. deadline on the expiration date and the national certification verification for nurse practitioners initially licensed after January 1, 2011 were read in OAR 851-031-0048 on the Oregon Secretary of State's rules site. The current pain management and cultural competency requirements, the removal of practice hours as of January 1, 2026, and the January 1, 2028 requirement of national certification or 75 hours for advanced practice registered nurses were read on the board's own Competency Requirements page. Because the 75 hour figure is future dated, the record carries an advisory rather than presenting it as today's requirement, and it should be re-verified before January 1, 2028. The board's dedicated renewal pages return page not found, so the Competency Requirements page is used as renewal_url. OAR 851-031-0060 was read through the oregon.public.law mirror and adds only the delinquent and reactivation windows. Documentation retention and audit practice were not stated on the pages read. This record is the nurse practitioner role only; the board states the advanced practice requirement for APRNs generally. Correction 2026-09-08: this record previously published 75 hours as the headline requirement. The full text of OAR 851-031-0008 was read on the Oregon Secretary of State rules site, and every hour figure in subsection (3) takes effect January 1, 2028, so publishing one as the current obligation stated a requirement that is not in force. hours_per_cycle is now null with the change carried in the advisory. The 75 hour figure was also attributed to the wrong license type: subsection (3)(c) gives nurse practitioners and nurse anesthetists a national certification requirement, while the 75 hours in subsection (3)(d) belongs to a clinical nurse specialist without current national certification. Found by cross-checking against the Oregon CRNA record.

Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Oregon State Board of Nursing before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.