Skip to main content
CredNet

Oregon Occupational Therapy Assistant license renewal and CE requirements

Oregon occupational therapy assistants must complete 30 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Oregon Occupational Therapy Licensing Board.

Occupational therapy assistant licenses are valid for two years and expire May 31 of each even numbered year, the same date as the occupational therapist license. OAR 339-010-0023 requires each applicant for renewal to submit a completed renewal application and the renewal fee to the Board on or before May 31 of each even numbered year, and states the renewal fees are non-refundable. Renewal is filed through the Board's License Portal.

Renewal cycle
Two-year
Same date for every licensee
CE per cycle
30
contact hours
Mandated topics
2
required subjects
Last verified
September 10, 2026
12 days ago

Summary

Oregon occupational therapy assistants must complete 30 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Oregon Occupational Therapy Licensing Board. Occupational therapy assistant licenses are valid for two years and expire May 31 of each even numbered year, the same date as the occupational therapist license. OAR 339-010-0023 requires each applicant for renewal to submit a completed renewal application and the renewal fee to the Board on or before May 31 of each even numbered year, and states the renewal fees are non-refundable. Renewal is filed through the Board's License Portal. Oregon also mandates specific subjects. Cultural competency: 1 contact hour every renewal cycle. Oregon Pain Management Commission pain management module: required every renewal cycle.

Oregon Occupational Therapy Assistant renewal and continuing education rules

"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.

Renewal cycleTwo-year (24 months)
Renewal deadlineSame date for every licensee, 05/31 each cycle
Continuing education requiredYes
Hours per cycle30 contact hours
Category 1 minimum16 contact hours
Self-study or online capNo cap stated
Carryover to next cycleNot stated
First renewal exemptNot stated
Other accepted activitiesMaintenance of current NBCOT certification, which satisfies the 30 point total but not the cultural competency or pain management requirements; Publication of articles, book chapters or a book (5 to 14 points); Professional presentation (2 points per hour); Development of alternative media such as software, video or an app (3 points per hour); Completing occupational therapy specialty certification, initial or recertification (12 points, one time per specialty); Research as principal (8 points) or associate (6 points); Development and implementation of a school approved Level II student program (4 points, one time); Level I student supervision (1 point per student, up to 4 points); Level II fieldwork and doctorate student supervision (1 point per 8 hours, up to 14 points); Mentoring, both mentor and mentee (1 point per 2 hours of contract mentoring); Professional leadership on a board or commission relating to occupational therapy (10 hours equal 2 points, up to 4 points a year); Re-entry supervision (1 point per 8 hours); Personal development and self care (up to 4 points)

Oregon counts CE points, and the occupational therapy assistant total is the same 30 points as the occupational therapist total. OAR 339-020-0010(1) applies to all current licensees and requires a minimum of 30 points from Board approved categories during the two years immediately preceding the renewal date; the state's own license directory entry for Occupational Therapy Assistant repeats 30 CE points every two years or current NBCOT certification. OAR 339-020-0020 states that unless a category says otherwise one point equals one contact hour, and the Board's CE page states that 10 contact hours is 1 CEU. OAR 339-020-0010(2) allows maintenance of current NBCOT certification to satisfy the 30 point total, but it cannot satisfy the cultural competency requirement of OAR 339-020-0025 or the pain management requirement of OAR 339-020-0015. Sixteen to 30 of the required points must come from categories 1 through 10, and no more than 14 points may come from categories 11 through 18 unless a category notes otherwise. Category 12, group viewing of videotaped presentations, earns one-half point per direct hour and is capped at seven points including discussion. The Board does not pre-approve courses; the licensee must show how each course relates to occupational therapy practice on an Application to OT Services log. The Board may grant a waiver or an extension for physical disability, illness or undue hardship if the written request is made at least two months before the license expires (OAR 339-020-0090). Supervision requirements that apply to occupational therapy assistants are practice rules, not continuing education, and are not counted here.

Required CE topics for Oregon occupational therapy assistants

State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.

TopicHoursFrequencyApplies toCitation
Cultural competencyOAR 339-020-0025 names occupational therapy assistants explicitly alongside occupational therapists: at least one hour on cultural competency during each license renewal cycle, in effect since July 1, 2020. The licensee chooses the course; the Board encourages the Oregon Health Authority approved list but accepts other courses that teach OHA recognized competencies, and does not pre-approve them. Counts toward the 30 points.1 contact hourEvery renewalAll licenseesOAR 339-020-0025
Oregon Pain Management Commission pain management moduleEvery renewal applicant must complete the Oregon Pain Management Commission's pain management course each license cycle, and since 2024 must demonstrate completion in a format the Board prescribes. The rule sets no hour value. It may be used toward the 30 point requirement of OAR 339-020-0010.Not statedEvery renewalAll licenseesOAR 339-020-0015

Documentation and audit

Proof submitted at renewalYes
Keep records for4 years
Board audits complianceYes
Approved providersThe Board does not pre-approve continuing education. Licensees judge whether a course relates to occupational therapy practice and must be prepared to show how it relates; the Board's CE page states there is no problem with sessions sponsored by OTAO, AOTA, AOTA approved providers, NBCOT or professional academic institutions relating to occupational therapy. OAR 339-020-0080 requires a statement certifying completion with the renewal application, and since the 2022 renewals the Board requires licensees who are not currently NBCOT certified to upload their 30 points of CE into the renewal and describe how each course relates to their practice. Selected licensees are then reviewed in a random audit. Original certificates are kept for four years from the date of the certificate.

Common questions

How many CE hours does a Oregon OTA need to renew?
Oregon occupational therapy assistants must complete 30 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Oregon Occupational Therapy Licensing Board. Oregon counts CE points, and the occupational therapy assistant total is the same 30 points as the occupational therapist total. OAR 339-020-0010(1) applies to all current licensees and requires a minimum of 30 points from Board approved categories during the two years immediately preceding the renewal date; the state's own license directory entry for Occupational Therapy Assistant repeats 30 CE points every two years or current NBCOT certification. OAR 339-020-0020 states that unless a category says otherwise one point equals one contact hour, and the Board's CE page states that 10 contact hours is 1 CEU. OAR 339-020-0010(2) allows maintenance of current NBCOT certification to satisfy the 30 point total, but it cannot satisfy the cultural competency requirement of OAR 339-020-0025 or the pain management requirement of OAR 339-020-0015. Sixteen to 30 of the required points must come from categories 1 through 10, and no more than 14 points may come from categories 11 through 18 unless a category notes otherwise. Category 12, group viewing of videotaped presentations, earns one-half point per direct hour and is capped at seven points including discussion. The Board does not pre-approve courses; the licensee must show how each course relates to occupational therapy practice on an Application to OT Services log. The Board may grant a waiver or an extension for physical disability, illness or undue hardship if the written request is made at least two months before the license expires (OAR 339-020-0090). Supervision requirements that apply to occupational therapy assistants are practice rules, not continuing education, and are not counted here.
How often does a Oregon OTA license need to be renewed?
Occupational Therapy Assistant licenses in Oregon renew every two years. Occupational therapy assistant licenses are valid for two years and expire May 31 of each even numbered year, the same date as the occupational therapist license. OAR 339-010-0023 requires each applicant for renewal to submit a completed renewal application and the renewal fee to the Board on or before May 31 of each even numbered year, and states the renewal fees are non-refundable. Renewal is filed through the Board's License Portal.
What specific CE topics are required for Oregon occupational therapy assistants?
Cultural competency: 1 contact hour every renewal cycle. Oregon Pain Management Commission pain management module: required every renewal cycle. Citations: cultural competency (OAR 339-020-0025) and Oregon Pain Management Commission pain management module (OAR 339-020-0015).
Do Oregon occupational therapy assistants have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
Proof of completion must be submitted with the renewal, the board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation, and records must be kept for 4 years. The Board does not pre-approve continuing education. Licensees judge whether a course relates to occupational therapy practice and must be prepared to show how it relates; the Board's CE page states there is no problem with sessions sponsored by OTAO, AOTA, AOTA approved providers, NBCOT or professional academic institutions relating to occupational therapy. OAR 339-020-0080 requires a statement certifying completion with the renewal application, and since the 2022 renewals the Board requires licensees who are not currently NBCOT certified to upload their 30 points of CE into the renewal and describe how each course relates to their practice. Selected licensees are then reviewed in a random audit. Original certificates are kept for four years from the date of the certificate.

Sources

Last verified September 10, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.

Oregon occupational therapy has its own board, the Oregon Occupational Therapy Licensing Board, which licenses both occupational therapists and occupational therapy assistants. The occupational therapy assistant figures were confirmed separately rather than copied: OAR 339-020-0025 names occupational therapy assistants explicitly, and the state's own license directory entry for the Occupational Therapy Assistant credential states a two year license expiring May 31 of even years with 30 CE points every two years or current NBCOT certification. On that evidence one CE division applies to both credentials and the totals, the category split, the mandated topics and the renewal date are identical for occupational therapists and occupational therapy assistants. None of the Oregon physical therapy figures were reused; the physical therapy board requires 24 contact hours on a March 31 cycle. Every effective date in OAR chapter 339 division 20 was checked and all are in the past: 339-020-0010 effective 08/12/2020, 339-020-0015 effective 01/10/2022, 339-020-0020 effective 05/08/2023, 339-020-0025 effective 03/04/2021, 339-020-0080 effective 11/01/2023, 339-020-0090 effective 6-1-94, and 339-010-0023 effective 03/04/2021. No division 20 subsection carries a future effective date. NBCOT certification is not required for renewal but current NBCOT certification substitutes for the 30 points, so it is recorded under alternatives_accepted rather than as hours. Division 20 states no carryover of excess points, no cap on online courses and no first renewal exemption, so those fields are null.

Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Oregon Occupational Therapy Licensing Board before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.