Oregon Osteopathic Physician (DO) license renewal and CE requirements
Oregon osteopathic physicians (DO) must complete 60 CME credits of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Oregon Medical Board.
Oregon osteopathic physicians renew on the same shared two-year cycle as MDs. The renewal application and fee must reach the board, satisfactorily complete, on or before December 31 of each odd-numbered year. A renewal notice is not required for the licensee to renew, and a license not renewed by the deadline lapses, at which point practicing is treated as practicing without a license. Physicians with Emeritus status and physicians in a qualified postgraduate training program renew annually instead.
Summary
Oregon osteopathic physicians (DO) must complete 60 CME credits of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Oregon Medical Board. Oregon osteopathic physicians renew on the same shared two-year cycle as MDs. The renewal application and fee must reach the board, satisfactorily complete, on or before December 31 of each odd-numbered year. A renewal notice is not required for the licensee to renew, and a license not renewed by the deadline lapses, at which point practicing is treated as practicing without a license. Physicians with Emeritus status and physicians in a qualified postgraduate training program renew annually instead. Oregon also mandates specific subjects. Oregon Pain Management Commission pain management education: 1 CME credit every renewal cycle (All Oregon Medical Board licensees except lapsed, teleradiology, and telemonitoring licenses). Cultural competency continuing education: 2 CME credits every renewal cycle (all licensees renewing with an active practicing license. Licensees in residency training and Volunteer Camp licensees are exempt.).
Oregon Osteopathic Physician (DO) renewal and continuing education rules
"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.
| Renewal cycle | Two-year (24 months) |
|---|---|
| Renewal deadline | Same date for every licensee, 12/31 each cycle |
| Continuing education required | Yes |
| Hours per cycle | 60 CME credits |
| Self-study or online cap | No cap stated |
| Carryover to next cycle | Not stated |
| First renewal exempt | Not stated |
| Other accepted activities | Ongoing participation in recertification or maintenance of certification with the AOA Bureau of Osteopathic Specialists; Ongoing participation in recertification or maintenance of certification with an ABMS board; Military training or experience substantially equivalent to the required continuing education |
60 hours of CME every two years relevant to the licensee's current practice, or 30 hours if licensed during the second year of the biennium (OAR 847-008-0070(1)(b)). The board's own chart states this as 30 hours per year for active physicians and lists medical, osteopathic, and podiatric physicians together. Accepted accreditation is AOA Category 1-A or 2-A, AMA Category 1, APMA Council on Podiatric Medical Education approved sponsors, or AAPA Category 1, so no separate Category 1-A subtotal is set: AOA Category 2-A also counts. A DO may satisfy the requirement entirely through ongoing maintenance of certification with the AOA Bureau of Osteopathic Specialists or an ABMS board instead of counting hours, and the board verifies that directly with the certifying board. Lifetime certification alone does not count. Emeritus registrants need 15 hours per year. A physician who performs Level II office-based surgical procedures and is not eligible for or maintaining specialty board certification must obtain 50 hours of CME each year relevant to those procedures, and cultural competency CME cannot be used for that. Licensees in residency training and Volunteer Camp licensees are exempt from the CME rule. Cultural competency CME, suicide risk assessment CME, and Alzheimer's detection and prescribing CME all count as relevant CME toward the total. Suicide risk education and Alzheimer's and dementia education are encouraged by the board but not required.
Required CE topics for Oregon osteopathic physician (do)s
State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.
| Topic | Hours | Frequency | Applies to | Citation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Oregon Pain Management Commission pain management educationOne hour at initial licensure and every 24 months thereafter, through the free online course provided by the Pain Management Commission of the Oregon Department of Human Services. The licensee attests on the renewal form; if audited, the board confirms completion with the commission. These hours may also count toward the 60-hour general requirement. | 1 CME credit | Every renewal | All Oregon Medical Board licensees except lapsed, teleradiology, and telemonitoring licenses | OAR 847-008-0075 |
| Cultural competency continuing educationThe board states the requirement as one hour every year, which is two hours across a two-year physician renewal cycle. Compliance is measured over an audit period of two renewal cycles, four years for most licensees: the licensee must average at least one hour per year licensed, and any partial year counts as a full hour, so a licensee licensed 3.5 years in the period needs four hours. Hours may be taken at any time in the period. The board says the current audit period for most licensees is 2024 to 2027 and will be audited at the Fall 2027 renewal. Content is defined broadly and does not have to be accredited CME; implicit bias training, immersion, and service learning all qualify. Effective July 1, 2021. | 2 CME credits | Every renewal | All licensees renewing with an active practicing license. Licensees in residency training and Volunteer Camp licensees are exempt. | OAR 847-008-0077; ORS 676.850 |
Documentation and audit
| Proof submitted at renewal | No, attestation only |
|---|---|
| Keep records for | Not stated |
| Board audits compliance | Yes |
| Approved providers | General CME must be AOA Category 1-A or 2-A, AMA Category 1, APMA Council on Podiatric Medical Education approved, or AAPA Category 1. Licensees attest at renewal and the board randomly audits CME compliance, including the pain management and cultural competency pieces, at the time of renewal. Audited licensees have 60 days from the audit notification to produce documentation: certificate of completion, official transcript, hospital printout, or a letter signed by the program administrator, each showing the licensee name, date of attendance, number and specific type of credits, course name, and topic. A deficient response draws a 250 dollar fine and 120 days to comply, rising to 1,000 dollars, and a license suspension of at least 90 days if not cured within 180 days. |
Common questions
- How many CE hours does a Oregon DO need to renew?
- Oregon osteopathic physicians (DO) must complete 60 CME credits of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Oregon Medical Board. 60 hours of CME every two years relevant to the licensee's current practice, or 30 hours if licensed during the second year of the biennium (OAR 847-008-0070(1)(b)). The board's own chart states this as 30 hours per year for active physicians and lists medical, osteopathic, and podiatric physicians together. Accepted accreditation is AOA Category 1-A or 2-A, AMA Category 1, APMA Council on Podiatric Medical Education approved sponsors, or AAPA Category 1, so no separate Category 1-A subtotal is set: AOA Category 2-A also counts. A DO may satisfy the requirement entirely through ongoing maintenance of certification with the AOA Bureau of Osteopathic Specialists or an ABMS board instead of counting hours, and the board verifies that directly with the certifying board. Lifetime certification alone does not count. Emeritus registrants need 15 hours per year. A physician who performs Level II office-based surgical procedures and is not eligible for or maintaining specialty board certification must obtain 50 hours of CME each year relevant to those procedures, and cultural competency CME cannot be used for that. Licensees in residency training and Volunteer Camp licensees are exempt from the CME rule. Cultural competency CME, suicide risk assessment CME, and Alzheimer's detection and prescribing CME all count as relevant CME toward the total. Suicide risk education and Alzheimer's and dementia education are encouraged by the board but not required.
- How often does a Oregon DO license need to be renewed?
- Osteopathic Physician (DO) licenses in Oregon renew every two years. Oregon osteopathic physicians renew on the same shared two-year cycle as MDs. The renewal application and fee must reach the board, satisfactorily complete, on or before December 31 of each odd-numbered year. A renewal notice is not required for the licensee to renew, and a license not renewed by the deadline lapses, at which point practicing is treated as practicing without a license. Physicians with Emeritus status and physicians in a qualified postgraduate training program renew annually instead.
- What specific CE topics are required for Oregon osteopathic physicians (DO)?
- Oregon Pain Management Commission pain management education: 1 CME credit every renewal cycle (All Oregon Medical Board licensees except lapsed, teleradiology, and telemonitoring licenses). Cultural competency continuing education: 2 CME credits every renewal cycle (all licensees renewing with an active practicing license. Licensees in residency training and Volunteer Camp licensees are exempt.). Citations: Oregon Pain Management Commission pain management education (OAR 847-008-0075) and cultural competency continuing education (OAR 847-008-0077; ORS 676.850).
- Do Oregon osteopathic physicians (DO) have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
- Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates and the board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation. General CME must be AOA Category 1-A or 2-A, AMA Category 1, APMA Council on Podiatric Medical Education approved, or AAPA Category 1. Licensees attest at renewal and the board randomly audits CME compliance, including the pain management and cultural competency pieces, at the time of renewal. Audited licensees have 60 days from the audit notification to produce documentation: certificate of completion, official transcript, hospital printout, or a letter signed by the program administrator, each showing the licensee name, date of attendance, number and specific type of credits, course name, and topic. A deficient response draws a 250 dollar fine and 120 days to comply, rising to 1,000 dollars, and a license suspension of at least 90 days if not cured within 180 days.
Sources
Last verified September 7, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.
- Continuing Education, Oregon Medical BoardState board page, accessed September 7, 2026
- Renew a License, Oregon Medical BoardState board page, accessed September 7, 2026
- OAR 847-008-0005, Registration PeriodsStatute or administrative rule, accessed September 7, 2026
- OAR 847-008-0075, Mandatory Pain Management EducationStatute or administrative rule, accessed September 7, 2026
- OAR 847-008-0077, Mandatory Cultural Competency EducationStatute or administrative rule, accessed September 7, 2026
- OAR 847-008-0070, Continuing Medical Competency (Education)Third-party summary, accessed September 7, 2026
Oregon runs one combined board. The Oregon Medical Board licenses MDs, DOs, podiatric physicians, physician associates, and acupuncturists under the same registration and CME rules, so the MD and DO records cite the same sources. The only MD/DO difference in OAR 847-008-0070 is which accreditation the hours carry: AMA Category 1 for MDs, AOA Category 1-A or 2-A for DOs, with either acceptable to the board. The Oregon Secretary of State rules site returns a JavaScript wall to a plain fetch, so rule text was read through the WebFetch renderer for 847-008-0005, 847-008-0075, and 847-008-0077, and through the oregon.public.law mirror for 847-008-0070. The public.law copy of 847-008-0075 is stale: it still describes the pain management course as a one-time requirement tied to a 2009 deadline, while the current rule as filed with the Secretary of State, amended January 11, 2022, and the board's own continuing education page both say one hour at initial licensure and every 24 months. The current rule text is what is recorded here. The board's Renew a License page also carries several out-of-date cycle notices, including 2021 renewal text, so the renewal date recorded here comes from OAR 847-008-0005 rather than that page. Record retention length, carryover, and first-renewal proration are not stated in the sources read and are left null; fees are reduced for a licensee first licensed in the second year of the biennium, and the CME total drops to 30 hours in that case. Oregon sets no opioid prescribing, human trafficking, child abuse reporting, or jurisprudence CME mandate in the sources read.
Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Oregon Medical Board before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.