Colorado license renewal and CE requirements
Renewal cycle, continuing education hours, and mandated topics for each healthcare license type in Colorado, read from the state board and dated. 14 of 27 license types are verified so far.
Jump to a profession in Colorado
Requirements by license type
Units differ by profession: contact hours, CME credits, and CEUs are not interchangeable.
| License | Renewal | CE per cycle | Mandated topics | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Licensed Practical Nurse | Not stated | None | None listed | September 7, 2026 |
| Nurse Practitioner | Two-year | 2 contact hours | Substance use prevention training | September 8, 2026 |
| Osteopathic Physician (DO) | Two-year | 30 CME credits | Substance use prevention training (competency in preventing substance abuse or treating patients with substance use disorders) | September 7, 2026 |
| Physician (MD) | Two-year | 30 CME credits | Substance use prevention training (competency in preventing substance abuse or treating patients with substance use disorders) | September 7, 2026 |
| Registered Nurse | Not stated | None | None listed | September 7, 2026 |
| Certified Nurse-Midwife | Two-year | 2 contact hours | Substance use prevention training | September 10, 2026 |
| Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist | Two-year | 2 contact hours | Substance use prevention training | September 8, 2026 |
| Occupational Therapist | Two-year | 24 contact hours | None listed | September 9, 2026 |
| Occupational Therapy Assistant | Two-year | 24 contact hours | None listed | September 9, 2026 |
| Pharmacist | Two-year | 24 contact hours | None listed | September 10, 2026 |
| Physical Therapist | Two-year | 30 contact hours | None listed | September 7, 2026 |
| Physical Therapist Assistant | Two-year | 20 contact hours | None listed | September 8, 2026 |
| Dental Hygienist | Two-year | 30 contact hours | Infection control education covering the CDC guidelines listed in board rule; OSHA Bloodborne Pathogen Training; Basic Life Support for healthcare providers | September 8, 2026 |
| Dentist | Two-year | 30 contact hours | Infection control education covering the CDC guidelines listed in board rule; OSHA Bloodborne Pathogen Training; Opioid and substance use prevention training; Basic Life Support for healthcare providers | September 8, 2026 |
Coming soon for Colorado
These license types are coming soon. We publish a combination only after reading the board's own rule, so nothing is estimated here.
- Physician Assistant
- Speech-Language Pathologist
- Respiratory Therapist
- Psychologist
- Licensed Clinical Social Worker
- Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist
- Licensed Professional Counselor
- Radiologic Technologist
- Registered Dietitian
- Optometrist
- Chiropractor
- Podiatrist
- Paramedic
Read from state board pages, statutes, and administrative rules. Requirements change through legislative sessions, so confirm with the board before relying on them. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.