Massachusetts Physical Therapist Assistant license renewal and CE requirements
Massachusetts physical therapist assistants must complete 24 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Massachusetts Board of Allied Health Professions.
A license issued by the Board of Allied Health Professions expires every two years on the birth anniversary of the licensee (259 CMR 2.04), and a licensee must submit a completed renewal application and the proper fee before that renewal date. Continuing competence activities count only if completed in the 24 months before the renewal date.
Summary
Massachusetts physical therapist assistants must complete 24 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Massachusetts Board of Allied Health Professions. A license issued by the Board of Allied Health Professions expires every two years on the birth anniversary of the licensee (259 CMR 2.04), and a licensee must submit a completed renewal application and the proper fee before that renewal date. Continuing competence activities count only if completed in the 24 months before the renewal date. Massachusetts also mandates specific subjects. Ethics, laws and regulations governing practice in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts: 2 contact hours every renewal cycle. The first renewal is exempt.
Massachusetts Physical Therapist Assistant renewal and continuing education rules
"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.
| Renewal cycle | Two-year (24 months) |
|---|---|
| Renewal deadline | Tied to the licensee's birth date |
| Continuing education required | Yes |
| Hours per cycle | 24 contact hours |
| Self-study or online cap | No cap stated |
| Carryover to next cycle | Not stated |
| First renewal exempt | Yes |
| Other accepted activities | Published books (maximum 22 of the 24 points per book), book chapters, and peer-reviewed journal articles (maximum 2 points each); Presenting or instructing academic courses (4 points per academic credit) and continuing education courses, workshops, or seminars (1 point per contact hour taught), capped at 10 points per renewal period and awarded at half value for repeat presentations; Completing academic coursework at an accredited degree-granting institution (1 point per academic credit, maximum 6 points per renewal period); Other continuing competence activities approved by the American Physical Therapy Association or the American Occupational Therapy Association (maximum 6 points per renewal period) |
Massachusetts counts points rather than hours, with one point per contact hour for completed continuing competence programs. 259 CMR 7.01(1) applies one requirement to four credentials at once: licensed physical therapists, physical therapist assistants, occupational therapists, and occupational therapy assistants must complete a minimum of 24 points of board recognized continuing competence activities during the preceding biennial renewal period. The physical therapist assistant figure is therefore the same 24 points as the physical therapist figure, read in the same sentence rather than found separately. Two of the 24 points must be in ethics, laws and regulations governing practice in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, or some combination of those. Continuing competence programs may supply all 24 points; the other activity types carry caps. Activities count only if completed in the 24 months before the renewal date. For professionals newly licensed by examination the requirement commences following their first renewal period after initial licensure. All activities other than board approved continuing competence programs are subject to board approval. Carryover is not addressed in the rule.
Required CE topics for Massachusetts physical therapist assistants
State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.
| Topic | Hours | Frequency | Applies to | Citation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ethics, laws and regulations governing practice in the Commonwealth of MassachusettsTwo of the 24 points each renewal period, required of physical therapist assistants in the same sentence as physical therapists. The Board committed to reviewing this mandated subject matter no sooner than four years after April 29, 2022. | 2 contact hours | Every renewal | All licensees | 259 CMR 7.01(1) |
Documentation and audit
| Proof submitted at renewal | Not stated |
|---|---|
| Keep records for | Not stated |
| Board audits compliance | Not stated |
| Approved providers | All continuing competence activities other than board approved continuing competence programs described in 259 CMR 7.03(2) are subject to approval by the Board (259 CMR 7.01(4)). Publications and presentations may be submitted for board approval, and activities approved by APTA or AOTA are capped at six points. The documentation, waiver, and disciplinary provisions are in the remaining sections of 259 CMR 7.00, which were not read. |
Common questions
- How many CE hours does a Massachusetts PTA need to renew?
- Massachusetts physical therapist assistants must complete 24 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Massachusetts Board of Allied Health Professions. Massachusetts counts points rather than hours, with one point per contact hour for completed continuing competence programs. 259 CMR 7.01(1) applies one requirement to four credentials at once: licensed physical therapists, physical therapist assistants, occupational therapists, and occupational therapy assistants must complete a minimum of 24 points of board recognized continuing competence activities during the preceding biennial renewal period. The physical therapist assistant figure is therefore the same 24 points as the physical therapist figure, read in the same sentence rather than found separately. Two of the 24 points must be in ethics, laws and regulations governing practice in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, or some combination of those. Continuing competence programs may supply all 24 points; the other activity types carry caps. Activities count only if completed in the 24 months before the renewal date. For professionals newly licensed by examination the requirement commences following their first renewal period after initial licensure. All activities other than board approved continuing competence programs are subject to board approval. Carryover is not addressed in the rule.
- How often does a Massachusetts PTA license need to be renewed?
- Physical Therapist Assistant licenses in Massachusetts renew every two years. A license issued by the Board of Allied Health Professions expires every two years on the birth anniversary of the licensee (259 CMR 2.04), and a licensee must submit a completed renewal application and the proper fee before that renewal date. Continuing competence activities count only if completed in the 24 months before the renewal date.
- What specific CE topics are required for Massachusetts physical therapist assistants?
- Ethics, laws and regulations governing practice in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts: 2 contact hours every renewal cycle. Citations: ethics, laws and regulations governing practice in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts (259 CMR 7.01(1)).
- Is the first Massachusetts PTA renewal exempt from CE?
- Yes. Massachusetts does not require continuing education for a PTA's first renewal.
Sources
Last verified September 8, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.
- 259 CMR 7.01 Continuing Competence Requirements, 24 points for licensed physical therapists, physical therapist assistants, occupational therapists, and occupational therapy assistants (Cornell LII mirror, adopted Mass Register Issue 1468, effective 4/29/2022)Third-party summary, accessed September 8, 2026
- 259 CMR 2.04 Requirements for Renewal of License, a license expires every two years on the birth anniversary of the licensee (Cornell LII mirror)Third-party summary, accessed September 8, 2026
- 259 CMR 7.00: Continuing competence, Board of Allied Health ProfessionsStatute or administrative rule, accessed September 10, 2026
- 259 CMR 7.00: Continuing competence, official textStatute or administrative rule, accessed September 10, 2026
- 259 CMR 2.00: General provisions, Board of Allied Health ProfessionsStatute or administrative rule, accessed September 10, 2026
- 259 CMR 2.00: General provisions, official textStatute or administrative rule, accessed September 10, 2026
- Important renewal information, Board of Allied Health ProfessionsState board page, accessed September 10, 2026
- Board of Allied Health ProfessionsState board page, accessed September 10, 2026
Massachusetts applies the same requirement to physical therapists and physical therapist assistants, and this record says so rather than implying a separate PTA figure was found. 259 CMR 7.01(1) names licensed physical therapists, physical therapist assistants, occupational therapists, and occupational therapy assistants together and requires a minimum of 24 points, including two points in ethics, laws and regulations governing Massachusetts practice, of all of them. That is the same rule and the same text cited in the physical therapist record. The rule was read only on the Cornell LII mirror: mass.gov blocks every automated client, so none of the board's own pages were read and none are cited as sources. Confidence is medium and the record is not published for that reason. The mass.gov pages a person should open to confirm are https://www.mass.gov/regulations/259-CMR-700-continuing-competence, https://www.mass.gov/doc/259-cmr-7-continuing-competence/download, https://www.mass.gov/regulations/259-CMR-200-general-provisions, https://www.mass.gov/doc/259-cmr-2-general-provisions/download, https://www.mass.gov/info-details/important-renewal-information-allied-health-professions, and https://www.mass.gov/orgs/board-of-allied-health-professions; those URLs are used for board_url and renewal_url and are already in the repository's link-verified exceptions list. 259 CMR 2.04 sets the biennial birth-anniversary expiration for licenses issued by the Board of Allied Health Professions and does not name physical therapist assistants specifically, though the Board licenses them. Not found in the text read: a record retention period, an audit process, carryover, and any online or self-study cap. Raised to high confidence 2026-09-10. 259 CMR 7.01(1) sets one continuing competence requirement for licensed physical therapists, physical therapist assistants, occupational therapists and occupational therapy assistants in a single sentence, so this credential's figure is not a separate finding and is not presented as one. The official 259 CMR 7.00 and 259 CMR 2.00 text on mass.gov was read in a browser during this build and is the source of the 24 points, the 2 points in ethics and Massachusetts law, the 24 month window and the two year birth anniversary expiration; those readings are recorded in the physical therapist record for the same rule. mass.gov returns 403 to every automated client, so all six mass.gov URLs sit in data/licensure/link-verified-exceptions.json. The Cornell LII entries are kept as corroboration, not as the basis for the values.
Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Massachusetts Board of Allied Health Professions before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.