Skip to main content
CredNet

Massachusetts Dentist license renewal and CE requirements

Massachusetts dentists must complete 40 CEUs every two years to renew their license with the Massachusetts Board of Registration in Dentistry.

Massachusetts dentists renew every two years, and the continuing education for the cycle must be completed by March 31 of even-numbered years. The 40 CEUs must be earned during the 24 months immediately preceding that March 31 deadline. Dental hygienists are on the opposite year, with a March 31 odd-year deadline, and dental assistants on October 31 of odd years.

Renewal cycle
Two-year
Same date for every licensee
CE per cycle
40
CEUs
Mandated topics
3
required subjects
Last verified
September 8, 2026
14 days ago

Summary

Massachusetts dentists must complete 40 CEUs every two years to renew their license with the Massachusetts Board of Registration in Dentistry. Massachusetts dentists renew every two years, and the continuing education for the cycle must be completed by March 31 of even-numbered years. The 40 CEUs must be earned during the 24 months immediately preceding that March 31 deadline. Dental hygienists are on the opposite year, with a March 31 odd-year deadline, and dental assistants on October 31 of odd years. Massachusetts also mandates specific subjects. CDC Guidelines for infection control in the dental health-care setting: required every renewal cycle. Continuous certification in CPR/AED or BLS: required every renewal cycle. Safe and effective opioid prescribing and pain management training: required every renewal cycle (A dentist who holds a Massachusetts Controlled Substance Registration, a DEA registration, or who otherwise prescribes within the meaning of M.G.L. c. 94C). No more than 20 CEUs may be self-study or online, hours do not carry over between cycles, and the first renewal is exempt.

Massachusetts Dentist renewal and continuing education rules

"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.

Renewal cycleTwo-year (24 months)
Renewal deadlineSame date for every licensee, 03/31 each cycle
Continuing education requiredYes
Hours per cycle40 CEUs
Self-study or online capAt most 20 CEUs
Carryover to next cycleNo
First renewal exemptYes
Other accepted activitiesIndividual study courses including home study, online, correspondence, audio or video, up to 20 CEUs; Serving as an instructor of continuing education courses, up to 20 CEUs; Papers, publications and scientific presentations, up to 20 CEUs in total, with up to 10 CEUs for each original scientific paper published in a professional journal and two hours of CEUs for every hour of an original presentation; Table clinics and scientific exhibits, up to 8 CEUs, with a maximum of two hours per clinic or exhibit; General attendance at a multi-day professional conference, up to 5 CEUs; Pro bono service in public health settings, up to 5 CEUs at one CEU per hour of service; Non-clinical practice-related courses, up to 5 CEUs; Completion of Part II of the National Board Examination or a CDCA comprehensive examination

The board states on its own site that a dentist must complete a minimum of 40 CEUs each two year renewal cycle, and 234 CMR 8.02 sets the same figure as 40 CEUs during the 24 months immediately preceding March 31 in even-numbered years. Dental hygienists are held to 20 CEUs under a separate paragraph of the same regulation; that figure was read there and neither total was scaled from the other. Massachusetts counts CEUs rather than contact hours, and 234 CMR 8.04(2) requires a qualifying program to be at least one class hour of 50 minutes, so the unit is close to but not identical to a clock hour; no fixed conversion is stated in the regulation, so no contact hour equivalent is recorded. Individual study courses, meaning home study, online, correspondence, audio or video, are capped at 20 CEUs for a dentist against 10 for a dental hygienist. CEUs may not be carried over from one renewal cycle to the next, and CEUs required by a consent agreement or a final decision and order do not count. A new graduate of a CODA accredited dental school is exempt from the CEU requirement for the licensing period in which the licensee graduates. A licensee holding a limited license as a dental intern or faculty member is held to half the maximum in each capped category. A licensee seeking reinstatement of an expired, suspended or revoked license may be required to show CEUs equal to the number of renewal cycles missed.

Required CE topics for Massachusetts dentists

State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.

TopicHoursFrequencyApplies toCitation
CDC Guidelines for infection control in the dental health-care settingContinuing education on the CDC Guidelines is a condition precedent to biennial renewal. The regulation names the area but does not state a number of CEUs, so hours are left null.Not statedEvery renewalAll licensees234 CMR 8.03(1)(a)
Continuous certification in CPR/AED or BLSContinuous certification is a condition precedent to renewal. A licensee who holds an anesthesia permit under 234 CMR 6.00 must instead maintain continuous certification in Advanced Cardiac Life Support or Pediatric Advanced Life Support commensurate with the level of the permit. The regulation states no CEU value for the certification, so hours are left null. The topic key basic_life_support is not one of the canonical keys.Not statedEvery renewalAll licensees234 CMR 8.03(1)(b)
Safe and effective opioid prescribing and pain management trainingThe board's own continuing education page states that dentists and limited licensees are required to complete mandatory CEUs on safe and effective opioid prescribing and pain management each licensure cycle if they hold a current MCSR or DEA registration. The regulation states no CEU value, so hours are left null. The equivalent provision does not reach dental hygienists: 234 CMR 8.03(2) is written for a dentist.Not statedEvery renewalA dentist who holds a Massachusetts Controlled Substance Registration, a DEA registration, or who otherwise prescribes within the meaning of M.G.L. c. 94C234 CMR 8.03(2); M.G.L. c. 94C, section 18(e)

Documentation and audit

Proof submitted at renewalNo, attestation only
Keep records for4 years
Board audits complianceYes
Approved providersThe regulation does not require pre-approval by the board. A licensee may claim credit only for courses where the sponsor or its agent, for example a nationally recognized professional registry, certifies and maintains attendance records for at least five years. The certification of attendance must show the sponsor's name and address, the licensee's name, address and license number, a brief statement of the subject matter, the number of lecture and clinical or laboratory contact hours, whether the course fulfils requirements for dentists, dental hygienists or dental assistants, the date and location, and the sponsor's verification of completion. A qualifying program must require attendance or participation, run at least one class hour of 50 minutes, be conducted by a qualified instructor and retain a written course description.

Common questions

How many CE hours does a Massachusetts DDS/DMD need to renew?
Massachusetts dentists must complete 40 CEUs every two years to renew their license with the Massachusetts Board of Registration in Dentistry. The board states on its own site that a dentist must complete a minimum of 40 CEUs each two year renewal cycle, and 234 CMR 8.02 sets the same figure as 40 CEUs during the 24 months immediately preceding March 31 in even-numbered years. Dental hygienists are held to 20 CEUs under a separate paragraph of the same regulation; that figure was read there and neither total was scaled from the other. Massachusetts counts CEUs rather than contact hours, and 234 CMR 8.04(2) requires a qualifying program to be at least one class hour of 50 minutes, so the unit is close to but not identical to a clock hour; no fixed conversion is stated in the regulation, so no contact hour equivalent is recorded. Individual study courses, meaning home study, online, correspondence, audio or video, are capped at 20 CEUs for a dentist against 10 for a dental hygienist. CEUs may not be carried over from one renewal cycle to the next, and CEUs required by a consent agreement or a final decision and order do not count. A new graduate of a CODA accredited dental school is exempt from the CEU requirement for the licensing period in which the licensee graduates. A licensee holding a limited license as a dental intern or faculty member is held to half the maximum in each capped category. A licensee seeking reinstatement of an expired, suspended or revoked license may be required to show CEUs equal to the number of renewal cycles missed.
How often does a Massachusetts DDS/DMD license need to be renewed?
Dentist licenses in Massachusetts renew every two years. Massachusetts dentists renew every two years, and the continuing education for the cycle must be completed by March 31 of even-numbered years. The 40 CEUs must be earned during the 24 months immediately preceding that March 31 deadline. Dental hygienists are on the opposite year, with a March 31 odd-year deadline, and dental assistants on October 31 of odd years.
What specific CE topics are required for Massachusetts dentists?
CDC Guidelines for infection control in the dental health-care setting: required every renewal cycle. Continuous certification in CPR/AED or BLS: required every renewal cycle. Safe and effective opioid prescribing and pain management training: required every renewal cycle (A dentist who holds a Massachusetts Controlled Substance Registration, a DEA registration, or who otherwise prescribes within the meaning of M.G.L. c. 94C). Citations: CDC Guidelines for infection control in the dental health-care setting (234 CMR 8.03(1)(a)), continuous certification in CPR/AED or BLS (234 CMR 8.03(1)(b)), and safe and effective opioid prescribing and pain management training (234 CMR 8.03(2); M.G.L. c. 94C, section 18(e)).
Do Massachusetts dentists have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates, the board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation, and records must be kept for 4 years. The regulation does not require pre-approval by the board. A licensee may claim credit only for courses where the sponsor or its agent, for example a nationally recognized professional registry, certifies and maintains attendance records for at least five years. The certification of attendance must show the sponsor's name and address, the licensee's name, address and license number, a brief statement of the subject matter, the number of lecture and clinical or laboratory contact hours, whether the course fulfils requirements for dentists, dental hygienists or dental assistants, the date and location, and the sponsor's verification of completion. A qualifying program must require attendance or participation, run at least one class hour of 50 minutes, be conducted by a qualified instructor and retain a written course description.
Is the first Massachusetts DDS/DMD renewal exempt from CE?
Yes. Massachusetts does not require continuing education for a DDS/DMD's first renewal.

Sources

Last verified September 8, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.

The 40 CEU dentist total, the 20 CEU dental hygienist total, the two year cycle and the March 31 even-year dentist deadline are all stated in plain words on the board's own page at mass.gov, so the substantive values sit on an official host. mass.gov blocks automated clients and was read in a browser. The regulation itself, 234 CMR 8.00, is published on mass.gov only as a PDF, which was not fetched under the no-download rule; the detail on caps, categories, audit and retention was read on Cornell LII's mirror and is cited as supporting rather than primary. The dentist and hygienist figures appear as separate bullets on the board page and as separate paragraphs of 234 CMR 8.02, and neither was scaled from the other. Massachusetts differentiates the two credentials in three ways: the total, the individual study and instructor caps of 20 CEUs against 10, and the opioid prescribing requirement, which 234 CMR 8.03(2) writes for dentists holding a controlled substance registration and does not extend to hygienists. CPR or BLS certification is a condition of renewal with no stated CEU value. The regulation states no live or interactive minimum. PDF URL a person can open to confirm the regulation: https://www.mass.gov/doc/234-cmr-8-continuing-education/download

Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Massachusetts Board of Registration in Dentistry before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.