Massachusetts Dental Hygienist license renewal and CE requirements
Massachusetts dental hygienists must complete 20 CEUs every two years to renew their license with the Massachusetts Board of Registration in Dentistry.
Massachusetts dental hygienists renew every two years, and the continuing education for the cycle must be completed by March 31 of odd-numbered years, one year offset from the dentist deadline. The 20 CEUs must be earned during the 24 months immediately preceding that March 31 deadline.
Summary
Massachusetts dental hygienists must complete 20 CEUs every two years to renew their license with the Massachusetts Board of Registration in Dentistry. Massachusetts dental hygienists renew every two years, and the continuing education for the cycle must be completed by March 31 of odd-numbered years, one year offset from the dentist deadline. The 20 CEUs must be earned during the 24 months immediately preceding that March 31 deadline. Massachusetts also mandates specific subjects. CDC Guidelines for infection control in the dental health-care setting: required every renewal cycle. Continuous certification in CPR/AED or BLS: required every renewal cycle. No more than 10 CEUs may be self-study or online, hours do not carry over between cycles, and the first renewal is exempt.
Massachusetts Dental Hygienist renewal and continuing education rules
"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.
| Renewal cycle | Two-year (24 months) |
|---|---|
| Renewal deadline | Same date for every licensee, 03/31 each cycle |
| Continuing education required | Yes |
| Hours per cycle | 20 CEUs |
| Self-study or online cap | At most 10 CEUs |
| Carryover to next cycle | No |
| First renewal exempt | Yes |
| Other accepted activities | Individual study courses including home study, online, correspondence, audio or video, up to 10 CEUs; Serving as an instructor of continuing education courses, up to 10 CEUs; Papers, publications and scientific presentations, up to 10 CEUs in total, with up to 5 CEUs for each original scientific paper published in a professional journal and two hours of CEUs for every hour of an original presentation; Table clinics and scientific exhibits, up to 8 CEUs, with a maximum of two hours per clinic or exhibit; General attendance at a multi-day professional conference, up to 4 CEUs; Pro bono service in public health settings, up to 3 CEUs at one CEU per hour of service; Non-clinical practice-related courses, up to 2 CEUs; Completion of the National Board Dental Hygiene Examination or a CDCA comprehensive examination |
The board states on its own site that a dental hygienist must complete a minimum of 20 CEUs each two year renewal cycle, and 234 CMR 8.02(3) sets the same figure as 20 CEUs during the 24 months immediately preceding March 31 in odd-numbered years. This is the hygienist figure read in the hygienist paragraph; the dentist total of 40 CEUs sits in an earlier paragraph and neither was scaled from the other. Massachusetts counts CEUs rather than contact hours, and 234 CMR 8.04(2) requires a qualifying program to be at least one class hour of 50 minutes, so the unit is close to but not identical to a clock hour; no fixed conversion is stated in the regulation, so no contact hour equivalent is recorded. Individual study courses, meaning home study, online, correspondence, audio or video, are capped at 10 CEUs for a dental hygienist against 20 for a dentist, and the instructor cap is likewise 10 against 20. CEUs may not be carried over from one renewal cycle to the next, and CEUs required by a consent agreement or a final decision and order do not count. A new graduate of a CODA accredited dental hygiene program is exempt from the CEU requirement for the licensing period in which the licensee graduates, and a dental student who holds a dental hygienist license is exempt while enrolled in a CODA accredited dental school.
Required CE topics for Massachusetts dental hygienists
State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.
| Topic | Hours | Frequency | Applies to | Citation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CDC Guidelines for infection control in the dental health-care settingContinuing education on the CDC Guidelines is a condition precedent to biennial renewal for every licensee, dental hygienists included. The regulation names the area but does not state a number of CEUs, so hours are left null. | Not stated | Every renewal | All licensees | 234 CMR 8.03(1)(a) |
| Continuous certification in CPR/AED or BLSContinuous certification is a condition precedent to renewal for every licensee. The ACLS and PALS alternative in the same paragraph applies only to a licensee holding an anesthesia permit under 234 CMR 6.00, which is a dentist credential. The regulation states no CEU value for the certification, so hours are left null. The topic key basic_life_support is not one of the canonical keys. | Not stated | Every renewal | All licensees | 234 CMR 8.03(1)(b) |
Documentation and audit
| Proof submitted at renewal | No, attestation only |
|---|---|
| Keep records for | 4 years |
| Board audits compliance | Yes |
| Approved providers | The regulation does not require pre-approval by the board. A licensee may claim credit only for courses where the sponsor or its agent, for example a nationally recognized professional registry, certifies and maintains attendance records for at least five years. The certification of attendance must show the sponsor's name and address, the licensee's name, address and license number, a brief statement of the subject matter, the number of lecture and clinical or laboratory contact hours, whether the course fulfils requirements for dentists, dental hygienists or dental assistants, the date and location, and the sponsor's verification of completion. A qualifying program must require attendance or participation, run at least one class hour of 50 minutes, be conducted by a qualified instructor and retain a written course description. |
Common questions
- How many CE hours does a Massachusetts RDH need to renew?
- Massachusetts dental hygienists must complete 20 CEUs every two years to renew their license with the Massachusetts Board of Registration in Dentistry. The board states on its own site that a dental hygienist must complete a minimum of 20 CEUs each two year renewal cycle, and 234 CMR 8.02(3) sets the same figure as 20 CEUs during the 24 months immediately preceding March 31 in odd-numbered years. This is the hygienist figure read in the hygienist paragraph; the dentist total of 40 CEUs sits in an earlier paragraph and neither was scaled from the other. Massachusetts counts CEUs rather than contact hours, and 234 CMR 8.04(2) requires a qualifying program to be at least one class hour of 50 minutes, so the unit is close to but not identical to a clock hour; no fixed conversion is stated in the regulation, so no contact hour equivalent is recorded. Individual study courses, meaning home study, online, correspondence, audio or video, are capped at 10 CEUs for a dental hygienist against 20 for a dentist, and the instructor cap is likewise 10 against 20. CEUs may not be carried over from one renewal cycle to the next, and CEUs required by a consent agreement or a final decision and order do not count. A new graduate of a CODA accredited dental hygiene program is exempt from the CEU requirement for the licensing period in which the licensee graduates, and a dental student who holds a dental hygienist license is exempt while enrolled in a CODA accredited dental school.
- How often does a Massachusetts RDH license need to be renewed?
- Dental Hygienist licenses in Massachusetts renew every two years. Massachusetts dental hygienists renew every two years, and the continuing education for the cycle must be completed by March 31 of odd-numbered years, one year offset from the dentist deadline. The 20 CEUs must be earned during the 24 months immediately preceding that March 31 deadline.
- What specific CE topics are required for Massachusetts dental hygienists?
- CDC Guidelines for infection control in the dental health-care setting: required every renewal cycle. Continuous certification in CPR/AED or BLS: required every renewal cycle. Citations: CDC Guidelines for infection control in the dental health-care setting (234 CMR 8.03(1)(a)) and continuous certification in CPR/AED or BLS (234 CMR 8.03(1)(b)).
- Do Massachusetts dental hygienists have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
- Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates, the board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation, and records must be kept for 4 years. The regulation does not require pre-approval by the board. A licensee may claim credit only for courses where the sponsor or its agent, for example a nationally recognized professional registry, certifies and maintains attendance records for at least five years. The certification of attendance must show the sponsor's name and address, the licensee's name, address and license number, a brief statement of the subject matter, the number of lecture and clinical or laboratory contact hours, whether the course fulfils requirements for dentists, dental hygienists or dental assistants, the date and location, and the sponsor's verification of completion. A qualifying program must require attendance or participation, run at least one class hour of 50 minutes, be conducted by a qualified instructor and retain a written course description.
- Is the first Massachusetts RDH renewal exempt from CE?
- Yes. Massachusetts does not require continuing education for a RDH's first renewal.
Sources
Last verified September 8, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.
- Continuing education for dentistry, Massachusetts Board of Registration in DentistryState board page, accessed September 8, 2026
- 234 CMR 8.00: Continuing education, Board of Registration in DentistryStatute or administrative rule, accessed September 8, 2026
- 234 CMR 8.02, Continuing Education Requirements (Cornell LII mirror)Third-party summary, accessed September 8, 2026
- 234 CMR 8.03, Required Continuing Education (Cornell LII mirror)Third-party summary, accessed September 8, 2026
- 234 CMR 8.04, Standards, Certificate of Attendance and Course Description (Cornell LII mirror)Third-party summary, accessed September 8, 2026
- 234 CMR 8.05, Categories of Continuing Education Programs and CEUs Allowed in Each Category (Cornell LII mirror)Third-party summary, accessed September 8, 2026
- 234 CMR 8.06, Records and Audits (Cornell LII mirror)Third-party summary, accessed September 8, 2026
The 20 CEU hygienist total, the two year cycle and the March 31 odd-year hygienist deadline are stated in plain words on the board's own page at mass.gov, in a separate bullet and a separate due-date line from the dentist figures, so the hygienist values were confirmed on an official host and were not scaled from the 40 CEU dentist total. mass.gov blocks automated clients and was read in a browser. The regulation itself, 234 CMR 8.00, is published on mass.gov only as a PDF, which was not fetched under the no-download rule; the detail on caps, categories, audit and retention was read on Cornell LII's mirror and is cited as supporting rather than primary. Massachusetts sets no opioid or controlled substance continuing education for dental hygienists: 234 CMR 8.03(2) is written for a dentist who holds a Massachusetts Controlled Substance Registration or a DEA registration, and the board's page lists the opioid requirement under Dentists and Limited Licensees only. CPR or BLS certification is a condition of renewal with no stated CEU value. The regulation states no live or interactive minimum. PDF URL a person can open to confirm the regulation: https://www.mass.gov/doc/234-cmr-8-continuing-education/download
Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Massachusetts Board of Registration in Dentistry before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.