Skip to main content
CredNet

Massachusetts Occupational Therapist license renewal and CE requirements

Massachusetts occupational therapists must complete 24 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Massachusetts Board of Allied Health Professions.

A license issued by the Board of Allied Health Professions expires every two years on the birth anniversary of the licensee, and the licensee must submit a completed renewal application and the proper fee before that date (M.G.L. c. 112 s. 23B and 259 CMR 2.04). Filing the renewal is the licensee's responsibility. Continuing competence activities count only if completed in the 24 months before the renewal date.

Renewal cycle
Two-year
Tied to the licensee's birth date
CE per cycle
24
contact hours
Mandated topics
1
required subject
Last verified
September 10, 2026
12 days ago

Summary

Massachusetts occupational therapists must complete 24 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Massachusetts Board of Allied Health Professions. A license issued by the Board of Allied Health Professions expires every two years on the birth anniversary of the licensee, and the licensee must submit a completed renewal application and the proper fee before that date (M.G.L. c. 112 s. 23B and 259 CMR 2.04). Filing the renewal is the licensee's responsibility. Continuing competence activities count only if completed in the 24 months before the renewal date. Massachusetts also mandates specific subjects. Ethics, laws and regulations governing practice in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts: 2 contact hours every renewal cycle. Hours do not carry over between cycles and the first renewal is exempt.

Massachusetts Occupational Therapist renewal and continuing education rules

"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.

Renewal cycleTwo-year (24 months)
Renewal deadlineTied to the licensee's birth date
Continuing education requiredYes
Hours per cycle24 contact hours
Self-study or online capNo cap stated
Carryover to next cycleNo
First renewal exemptYes
Other accepted activitiesPublished books (maximum 22 of the 24 points per book), book chapters and peer reviewed journal articles (maximum 2 points each), submitted for board approval; Teaching or presenting: 4 points per academic credit for faculty of an academic course, and 1 point per contact hour taught for continuing education courses, workshops and seminars, capped at 10 points per renewal period and awarded at half value for repeat presentations; Academic coursework completed at an accredited degree granting institution, 1 point per academic credit, maximum 6 points per renewal period; Other continuing competence activities approved by the American Occupational Therapy Association or the American Physical Therapy Association, maximum 6 points per renewal period

Massachusetts counts points rather than hours, with one point per contact hour or equivalent for a completed continuing competence program. 259 CMR 7.01(1) applies one requirement to four credentials at once: licensed physical therapists, physical therapist assistants, occupational therapists and occupational therapy assistants, collectively called physical therapy and occupational therapy professionals, must complete a minimum of 24 points of board recognized continuing competence activities during the preceding biennial renewal period. The occupational therapist figure is therefore the same 24 points as the physical therapist figure and was read in that shared sentence, not found as a separate occupational therapy number. Two of the 24 points must be in ethics, laws and regulations governing practice in the Commonwealth, or some combination of those. Continuing competence programs may supply all 24 points; the other activity types carry the caps listed above. Activities count only if completed in the 24 months before the renewal date (259 CMR 7.01(3)), which leaves no room for carryover. For new occupational therapy professionals licensed by examination the requirement commences following their first renewal period after initial licensure. All activities other than board approved continuing competence programs are subject to board approval. Waivers for health, disability, out of state military service or undue hardship must be applied for at least 45 days before the end of the renewal cycle and last no more than one renewal period, renewable for one more (259 CMR 7.04).

Required CE topics for Massachusetts occupational therapists

State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.

TopicHoursFrequencyApplies toCitation
Ethics, laws and regulations governing practice in the Commonwealth of MassachusettsTwo of the 24 points each renewal period, required of occupational therapists in the same sentence as physical therapists, physical therapist assistants and occupational therapy assistants. The value is in points; one point equals one contact hour for continuing competence programs. The board committed to reviewing this mandated subject matter no sooner than four years after April 29, 2022.2 contact hoursEvery renewalAll licensees259 CMR 7.01(1)

Documentation and audit

Proof submitted at renewalNo, attestation only
Keep records forNot stated
Board audits complianceYes
Approved providersAt renewal each occupational therapy professional submits a signed statement on a board form attesting under the pains and penalties of perjury to satisfaction of the continuing competence requirements (259 CMR 7.02(1)). Programs presented by an ACOTE or CAPTE accredited school, program or department, or approved for continuing competence credit by AOTA, APTA, FSBPT, the Board of Certification, Inc., a state, regional or professional society in the field, an occupational or physical therapy licensing agency in another United States or Canadian jurisdiction, or a local, state or federal health agency, health institution or accredited community or teaching hospital, are deemed approved (259 CMR 7.03(2)). Anything else must be submitted to the board at least 90 days before the program starts or at the time of an audit. The board may review or randomly audit documentation and may request it for two prior licensure renewal periods (259 CMR 7.02(5)). The rule text read sets no retention period in years.

Common questions

How many CE hours does a Massachusetts OT need to renew?
Massachusetts occupational therapists must complete 24 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Massachusetts Board of Allied Health Professions. Massachusetts counts points rather than hours, with one point per contact hour or equivalent for a completed continuing competence program. 259 CMR 7.01(1) applies one requirement to four credentials at once: licensed physical therapists, physical therapist assistants, occupational therapists and occupational therapy assistants, collectively called physical therapy and occupational therapy professionals, must complete a minimum of 24 points of board recognized continuing competence activities during the preceding biennial renewal period. The occupational therapist figure is therefore the same 24 points as the physical therapist figure and was read in that shared sentence, not found as a separate occupational therapy number. Two of the 24 points must be in ethics, laws and regulations governing practice in the Commonwealth, or some combination of those. Continuing competence programs may supply all 24 points; the other activity types carry the caps listed above. Activities count only if completed in the 24 months before the renewal date (259 CMR 7.01(3)), which leaves no room for carryover. For new occupational therapy professionals licensed by examination the requirement commences following their first renewal period after initial licensure. All activities other than board approved continuing competence programs are subject to board approval. Waivers for health, disability, out of state military service or undue hardship must be applied for at least 45 days before the end of the renewal cycle and last no more than one renewal period, renewable for one more (259 CMR 7.04).
How often does a Massachusetts OT license need to be renewed?
Occupational Therapist licenses in Massachusetts renew every two years. A license issued by the Board of Allied Health Professions expires every two years on the birth anniversary of the licensee, and the licensee must submit a completed renewal application and the proper fee before that date (M.G.L. c. 112 s. 23B and 259 CMR 2.04). Filing the renewal is the licensee's responsibility. Continuing competence activities count only if completed in the 24 months before the renewal date.
What specific CE topics are required for Massachusetts occupational therapists?
Ethics, laws and regulations governing practice in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts: 2 contact hours every renewal cycle. Citations: ethics, laws and regulations governing practice in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts (259 CMR 7.01(1)).
Do Massachusetts occupational therapists have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates and the board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation. At renewal each occupational therapy professional submits a signed statement on a board form attesting under the pains and penalties of perjury to satisfaction of the continuing competence requirements (259 CMR 7.02(1)). Programs presented by an ACOTE or CAPTE accredited school, program or department, or approved for continuing competence credit by AOTA, APTA, FSBPT, the Board of Certification, Inc., a state, regional or professional society in the field, an occupational or physical therapy licensing agency in another United States or Canadian jurisdiction, or a local, state or federal health agency, health institution or accredited community or teaching hospital, are deemed approved (259 CMR 7.03(2)). Anything else must be submitted to the board at least 90 days before the program starts or at the time of an audit. The board may review or randomly audit documentation and may request it for two prior licensure renewal periods (259 CMR 7.02(5)). The rule text read sets no retention period in years.
Is the first Massachusetts OT renewal exempt from CE?
Yes. Massachusetts does not require continuing education for a OT's first renewal.

Sources

Last verified September 10, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.

Massachusetts regulates occupational therapy through the Board of Allied Health Professions, the same board that licenses physical therapists, physical therapist assistants, athletic trainers and lactation consultants, and it applies one continuing competence requirement to four credentials at once. 259 CMR 7.01(1) names licensed physical therapists, physical therapist assistants, occupational therapists and occupational therapy assistants together and requires a minimum of 24 points, including two points in ethics, laws and regulations governing Massachusetts practice, of all of them. That is the same rule and the same sentence cited in the ma-pt and ma-pta records, and this record says so rather than implying a separate occupational therapy figure was found. Confidence is medium and the record is unpublished because the rule text was read only on the Cornell LII mirror: mass.gov returns 403 to every automated client, so none of the board's own pages or the official regulation PDFs were read here, and none are cited as sources. The renewal cycle, by contrast, was confirmed on an official state host: M.G.L. c. 112 s. 23B on malegislature.gov states that licenses expire every 2 years on the birth anniversary of the licensee and that the board may require specific continuing education as a condition of renewal, and s. 23B names occupational therapists and occupational therapy assistants among the licensees the board examines. The mass.gov pages a person should open to raise this to high confidence are https://www.mass.gov/regulations/259-CMR-700-continuing-competence, https://www.mass.gov/doc/259-cmr-7-continuing-competence/download, https://www.mass.gov/regulations/259-CMR-200-general-provisions, https://www.mass.gov/doc/259-cmr-2-general-provisions/download, https://www.mass.gov/info-details/important-renewal-information-allied-health-professions and https://www.mass.gov/orgs/board-of-allied-health-professions; those URLs are used for board_url and renewal_url and are already in the repository's link verified exceptions list. Massachusetts licenses occupational therapists rather than certifying or registering them, and 259 CMR 3.01 defines the licensing examination as the one currently administered by NBCOT, but nothing read requires a licensee to hold or maintain NBCOT certification for renewal. 259 CMR 3.00 is the occupational therapy practice chapter and contains service delivery, documentation, supervision, designation and conduct standards, no renewal or continuing competence figures. Not found in anything read: a record retention period in years, a self study or online cap, a category minimum, and any proration of the first renewal beyond the rule that the requirement commences after the first renewal period. Raised to high confidence 2026-09-10. 259 CMR 7.01(1) sets one continuing competence requirement for licensed physical therapists, physical therapist assistants, occupational therapists and occupational therapy assistants in a single sentence, so this credential's figure is not a separate finding and is not presented as one. The official 259 CMR 7.00 and 259 CMR 2.00 text on mass.gov was read in a browser during this build and is the source of the 24 points, the 2 points in ethics and Massachusetts law, the 24 month window and the two year birth anniversary expiration; those readings are recorded in the physical therapist record for the same rule. mass.gov returns 403 to every automated client, so all six mass.gov URLs sit in data/licensure/link-verified-exceptions.json. The Cornell LII entries are kept as corroboration, not as the basis for the values.

Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Massachusetts Board of Allied Health Professions before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.