Skip to main content
CredNet

Massachusetts Physician (MD) license renewal and CE requirements

Massachusetts physicians (MD) must complete 100 CME credits of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Massachusetts Board of Registration in Medicine.

Every physician registered in Massachusetts must renew the certificate of registration on or before his or her birthday and in every second year after that. A physician whose birthday falls within three months after original registration does not renew until the birthday in the second year following. For a person born on February 29 the birthday is treated as February 28. A license that has not been renewed expires at 11:59 P.M. on the renewal date, and the registration of a physician who does not file a completed renewal application with the fee is automatically revoked but revived on completing the renewal. The board mails a renewal application 60 days before the renewal date.

Renewal cycle
Two-year
Tied to the licensee's birth date
CE per cycle
100
CME credits
Mandated topics
8
required subjects
Last verified
September 7, 2026
15 days ago

Summary

Massachusetts physicians (MD) must complete 100 CME credits of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Massachusetts Board of Registration in Medicine. Every physician registered in Massachusetts must renew the certificate of registration on or before his or her birthday and in every second year after that. A physician whose birthday falls within three months after original registration does not renew until the birthday in the second year following. For a person born on February 29 the birthday is treated as February 28. A license that has not been renewed expires at 11:59 P.M. on the renewal date, and the registration of a physician who does not file a completed renewal application with the fee is automatically revoked but revived on completing the renewal. The board mails a renewal application 60 days before the renewal date. Massachusetts also mandates specific subjects. Risk management continuing medical education: 10 CME credits every renewal cycle. Review of Board regulations, 243 CMR 1.00 through 3.00: 2 CME credits every renewal cycle. End-of-life care studies: a one-time requirement of 2 CME credits. Opioid education and pain management training: 3 CME credits every renewal cycle (renewing licensees who prescribe controlled substances as defined in M.G.L. c. 94C, s. 1). Domestic Violence and Sexual Violence Training: a one-time requirement. Training in recognizing and reporting suspected child abuse and neglect: a one-time requirement. Diagnosis, treatment and care of patients with cognitive impairments, including Alzheimer's disease and dementia: a one-time requirement (physicians who serve adult populations). Proficiency in electronic health records (EHR): a one-time requirement of 3 CME credits (renewing full licensees. Exempt: a licensee not engaged in the practice of medicine as defined in 243 CMR 2.01(4), administrative, volunteer, inactive, and emergency restricted licensees, an applicant on active duty in the National Guard or a uniformed service called into service during a national emergency or crisis, and anyone who has already demonstrated proficiency.).

Massachusetts Physician (MD) renewal and continuing education rules

"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.

Renewal cycleTwo-year (24 months)
Renewal deadlineTied to the licensee's birth dateFirst renewal is prorated.
Continuing education requiredYes
Hours per cycle100 CME credits
Category 1 minimum40 CME credits
Self-study or online capNo cap stated
Carryover to next cycleNot stated
First renewal exemptNo

Each licensee must obtain no fewer than 100 CME credits during each two year period that begins the day the license is issued or renewed and ends on the following renewal date. At least 40 must be Category 1 (for example AMA PRA Category 1 Credit, AAFP Prescribed credit, or AOA Category 1-A) from an organization accredited by the ACCME, the AOA, the AAFP, or an ACCME recognized state medical society; the entire 100 credits may be earned as Category 1, Prescribed, or 1-A. No more than 60 credits may be Category 2 as defined by the AMA or AOA. A majority of the credits for each cycle must be directly related to the licensee's primary areas of practice. Renewing full licensees must also demonstrate proficiency in electronic health records once, and one of the accepted ways is three hours of Category 1 EHR related CME that may also count toward the risk management credits. Newly licensed physicians whose first renewal period is one year or shorter need no CME credits for that period, and those whose first period is longer than one year but shorter than two must complete half the requirement. Limited licensees, inactive licensees, and licensees in an ACGME or AOA approved postgraduate program or the first or second year of a non accredited fellowship are exempt from the basic biennial requirement, and the board grants a prorated permanent waiver for licensees called into active military service during a national emergency or crisis. Carryover of unused credits is not addressed in 243 CMR 2.06 and is left null.

Required CE topics for Massachusetts physician (md)s

State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.

TopicHoursFrequencyApplies toCitation
Risk management continuing medical educationTen of the 100 credits must be in risk management as defined in 243 CMR 2.01(3), at least four of them Category 1. End of life care studies, opioid education and pain management training, and the three EHR CME credits may all be applied toward these risk management credits.10 CME creditsEvery renewalAll licensees243 CMR 2.06(6)(a)3.
Review of Board regulations, 243 CMR 1.00 through 3.00Two credits in either Category 1 or Category 2 studying the board's own regulations, counted inside the 100 credit total.2 CME creditsEvery renewalAll licensees243 CMR 2.06(6)(a)4.
End-of-life care studiesA licensee must participate once in at least two credits of Category 1 or Category 2 CME studying end of life care issues as a condition of renewal, revival, or reinstatement. The credits may also satisfy part of the risk management requirement. The board provides an online list of resources.2 CME creditsOne timeAll licenseesM.G.L. c. 13, s. 10; M.G.L. c. 112, s. 2; 243 CMR 2.06(6)(b)
Opioid education and pain management trainingThree credits of pain management training are required at each biennial renewal for prescribers. The training must include how to identify patients at high risk for substance abuse and how to counsel patients on the side effects, addictive nature, and proper storage and disposal of prescription medicines. The credits may be applied toward the required risk management credits.3 CME creditsEvery renewalRenewing licensees who prescribe controlled substances as defined in M.G.L. c. 94C, s. 1243 CMR 2.06(6)(d); St. 2010, c. 283
Domestic Violence and Sexual Violence TrainingA one time training required as a condition of licensure, renewal, revival, or reinstatement. The board, in consultation with the Department of Public Health, identifies qualifying programs and publishes a list. No credit hour value is set in the regulation. Inactive licensees are exempt while inactive.Not statedOne timeAll licenseesM.G.L. c. 112, s. 264; 243 CMR 2.06(2)(e)
Training in recognizing and reporting suspected child abuse and neglectA one time requirement satisfied by a hospital sponsored training program, CME in identifying and reporting child abuse and neglect, a board approved online training program, or a specialized certification. No credit hour value is set. Inactive licensees are exempt while inactive.Not statedOne timeAll licenseesM.G.L. c. 119, s. 51A(k); 243 CMR 2.06(2)(g)
Diagnosis, treatment and care of patients with cognitive impairments, including Alzheimer's disease and dementiaThe statute directs the board to include a one time course of training and education on cognitive impairments in its continuing education requirements for renewal. No credit hour value is set in the statute and the requirement does not appear in the text of 243 CMR 2.06 that was read.Not statedOne timePhysicians who serve adult populationsM.G.L. c. 112, s. 2
Proficiency in electronic health records (EHR)Proficiency must be demonstrated once. Completing three hours of Category 1 EHR related CME covering the core and menu objectives and the clinical quality measures for Meaningful Use is one of four accepted routes; the others are participation in a Meaningful Use program as an eligible professional, employment or credentialing at an eligible hospital or critical access hospital with an EHR program, or participation in the Massachusetts Health Information Highway. The hours value here reflects only the CME route. The three EHR credits may count toward the ten risk management credits. The board may grant a 90 day extension for undue hardship.3 CME creditsOne timeRenewing full licensees. Exempt: a licensee not engaged in the practice of medicine as defined in 243 CMR 2.01(4), administrative, volunteer, inactive, and emergency restricted licensees, an applicant on active duty in the National Guard or a uniformed service called into service during a national emergency or crisis, and anyone who has already demonstrated proficiency.M.G.L. c. 112, s. 2; 243 CMR 2.06(2)(d)

Documentation and audit

Proof submitted at renewalNo, attestation only
Keep records for2 years
Board audits complianceNot stated
Approved providersCategory 1 credits must come from an organization accredited by the ACCME, the AOA, the AAFP, or an ACCME recognized state medical society; Category 2 activities are those defined and adopted by the AMA or AOA. The board, by majority vote, may certify any other activity, course, or training as eligible for Category 1 or Category 2 credit. Licensees document Category 1 credits with a written record of the date, type of activity, program sponsor, and credits earned, and keep each certificate of attendance or letter of attestation; Category 2 credits are documented with a written record of approximate hours per activity. Records must be kept for no less than one full license renewal cycle after the credits are earned, which is two years, and must be available for board inspection on request.

Common questions

How many CE hours does a Massachusetts MD need to renew?
Massachusetts physicians (MD) must complete 100 CME credits of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Massachusetts Board of Registration in Medicine. Each licensee must obtain no fewer than 100 CME credits during each two year period that begins the day the license is issued or renewed and ends on the following renewal date. At least 40 must be Category 1 (for example AMA PRA Category 1 Credit, AAFP Prescribed credit, or AOA Category 1-A) from an organization accredited by the ACCME, the AOA, the AAFP, or an ACCME recognized state medical society; the entire 100 credits may be earned as Category 1, Prescribed, or 1-A. No more than 60 credits may be Category 2 as defined by the AMA or AOA. A majority of the credits for each cycle must be directly related to the licensee's primary areas of practice. Renewing full licensees must also demonstrate proficiency in electronic health records once, and one of the accepted ways is three hours of Category 1 EHR related CME that may also count toward the risk management credits. Newly licensed physicians whose first renewal period is one year or shorter need no CME credits for that period, and those whose first period is longer than one year but shorter than two must complete half the requirement. Limited licensees, inactive licensees, and licensees in an ACGME or AOA approved postgraduate program or the first or second year of a non accredited fellowship are exempt from the basic biennial requirement, and the board grants a prorated permanent waiver for licensees called into active military service during a national emergency or crisis. Carryover of unused credits is not addressed in 243 CMR 2.06 and is left null.
How often does a Massachusetts MD license need to be renewed?
Physician (MD) licenses in Massachusetts renew every two years. Every physician registered in Massachusetts must renew the certificate of registration on or before his or her birthday and in every second year after that. A physician whose birthday falls within three months after original registration does not renew until the birthday in the second year following. For a person born on February 29 the birthday is treated as February 28. A license that has not been renewed expires at 11:59 P.M. on the renewal date, and the registration of a physician who does not file a completed renewal application with the fee is automatically revoked but revived on completing the renewal. The board mails a renewal application 60 days before the renewal date.
What specific CE topics are required for Massachusetts physicians (MD)?
Risk management continuing medical education: 10 CME credits every renewal cycle. Review of Board regulations, 243 CMR 1.00 through 3.00: 2 CME credits every renewal cycle. End-of-life care studies: a one-time requirement of 2 CME credits. Opioid education and pain management training: 3 CME credits every renewal cycle (renewing licensees who prescribe controlled substances as defined in M.G.L. c. 94C, s. 1). Domestic Violence and Sexual Violence Training: a one-time requirement. Training in recognizing and reporting suspected child abuse and neglect: a one-time requirement. Diagnosis, treatment and care of patients with cognitive impairments, including Alzheimer's disease and dementia: a one-time requirement (physicians who serve adult populations). Proficiency in electronic health records (EHR): a one-time requirement of 3 CME credits (renewing full licensees. Exempt: a licensee not engaged in the practice of medicine as defined in 243 CMR 2.01(4), administrative, volunteer, inactive, and emergency restricted licensees, an applicant on active duty in the National Guard or a uniformed service called into service during a national emergency or crisis, and anyone who has already demonstrated proficiency.). Citations: risk management continuing medical education (243 CMR 2.06(6)(a)3.), review of Board regulations, 243 CMR 1.00 through 3.00 (243 CMR 2.06(6)(a)4.), End-of-life care studies (M.G.L. c. 13, s. 10; M.G.L. c. 112, s. 2; 243 CMR 2.06(6)(b)), opioid education and pain management training (243 CMR 2.06(6)(d); St. 2010, c. 283), Domestic Violence and Sexual Violence Training (M.G.L. c. 112, s. 264; 243 CMR 2.06(2)(e)), training in recognizing and reporting suspected child abuse and neglect (M.G.L. c. 119, s. 51A(k); 243 CMR 2.06(2)(g)), diagnosis, treatment and care of patients with cognitive impairments, including Alzheimer's disease and dementia (M.G.L. c. 112, s. 2), and proficiency in electronic health records (EHR) (M.G.L. c. 112, s. 2; 243 CMR 2.06(2)(d)).
Do Massachusetts physicians (MD) have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates and records must be kept for 2 years. Category 1 credits must come from an organization accredited by the ACCME, the AOA, the AAFP, or an ACCME recognized state medical society; Category 2 activities are those defined and adopted by the AMA or AOA. The board, by majority vote, may certify any other activity, course, or training as eligible for Category 1 or Category 2 credit. Licensees document Category 1 credits with a written record of the date, type of activity, program sponsor, and credits earned, and keep each certificate of attendance or letter of attestation; Category 2 credits are documented with a written record of approximate hours per activity. Records must be kept for no less than one full license renewal cycle after the credits are earned, which is two years, and must be available for board inspection on request.
Is the first Massachusetts MD renewal exempt from CE?
No. Massachusetts applies the continuing education requirement to the first renewal as well.

Sources

Last verified September 7, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.

Massachusetts licenses MDs and DOs through one board, the Board of Registration in Medicine. 243 CMR 2.01 defines a United States Medical Graduate as a person who attained an M.D. or D.O. degree from a United States medical school and defines a United States Medical School as an LCME accredited school of medicine or an AOA accredited school of osteopathy, and 243 CMR 2.06 applies to all licensees without distinguishing degree, so the MD and DO records carry identical values and cite the same sources. Everything here was read either in M.G.L. c. 112, s. 2 on the Massachusetts Legislature site or in 243 CMR 2.06 and 2.01. The board's own pages on mass.gov could not be read: mass.gov returns HTTP 403 to every automated client tested, so the board homepage is listed as board_url for the reader's convenience but is not cited as a source, renewal_url is left null, and the regulation text was read from the Cornell LII mirror of the Code of Massachusetts Regulations and cited as a third party summary. A person should confirm the board's own renewal page at mass.gov/orgs/board-of-registration-in-medicine in a browser. risk_management, end_of_life_care, and electronic_health_records are non canonical topic keys used because no canonical key fits. Note two internal cross reference problems in the regulation as published: 243 CMR 2.06(6)(f) points at 2.06(5)(a) and 2.06(6)(g) points at 2.06(5), while the basic biennial CME requirement is actually at 2.06(6)(a); the substance is unaffected. Whether the board audits CME, and whether unused credits carry over, are not stated in the regulation.

Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Massachusetts Board of Registration in Medicine before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.