Skip to main content
CredNet

New Mexico Physical Therapist Assistant license renewal and CE requirements

New Mexico physical therapist assistants must complete 30 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the New Mexico Physical Therapy Board (Regulation and Licensing Department).

Physical therapist assistant licenses are renewed biennially and expire on February 1 following no more than two years of licensure, the same schedule as physical therapist licenses. The board mails a renewal notice by December 15, but timely renewal is the licensee's responsibility. A renewal postmarked after February 1 carries a $200 late fee for a physical therapist assistant, where the physical therapist late fee is $250.

Renewal cycle
Two-year
Same date for every licensee
CE per cycle
30
contact hours
Mandated topics
0
required subjects
Last verified
September 8, 2026
14 days ago

Summary

New Mexico physical therapist assistants must complete 30 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the New Mexico Physical Therapy Board (Regulation and Licensing Department). Physical therapist assistant licenses are renewed biennially and expire on February 1 following no more than two years of licensure, the same schedule as physical therapist licenses. The board mails a renewal notice by December 15, but timely renewal is the licensee's responsibility. A renewal postmarked after February 1 carries a $200 late fee for a physical therapist assistant, where the physical therapist late fee is $250. No more than 30 contact hours may be self-study or online, hours do not carry over between cycles, and the first renewal is exempt.

New Mexico Physical Therapist Assistant renewal and continuing education rules

"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.

Renewal cycleTwo-year (24 months)
Renewal deadlineSame date for every licensee, 02/01 each cycle
Continuing education requiredYes
Hours per cycle30 contact hours
Self-study or online capAt most 30 contact hours
Carryover to next cycleNo
First renewal exemptYes
Other accepted activitiesUniversity or college courses taken for credit (maximum 30 contact hours, awarded per three-credit course); Physician in-service or regular physical therapy staff in-service programs (maximum 30 contact hours); Management courses (maximum 15 contact hours); Preparing or presenting a workshop or in-service (three times the audience hours, maximum 15 contact hours); Certificate courses for an advanced specialty (maximum 30 contact hours); Reading journal articles (one-half contact hour per article, maximum 15 contact hours); Conducting physical therapy research (maximum 30 contact hours); Home study courses (maximum 30 contact hours); Internet courses (maximum 30 contact hours); Supervising a student in clinical education (1 contact hour per 40 hours of supervision, maximum 15 contact hours); Residencies, fellowships, and specialty examinations

16.20.8 NMAC applies to physical therapists and physical therapist assistants together. 16.20.8.9(A) requires 30 hours of continuing education biennially, so the physical therapist assistant requirement matches the physical therapist requirement, and 16.20.8.9 opens by stating that continuing education is required for license renewal of physical therapists and physical therapist assistants. No continuing education is required of a licensee renewing for the first time. All hours must be earned during the current two-year renewal period, February 1 through January 31, and 16.20.8.10 states plainly that no carryover hours are permitted. One contact hour requires 60 minutes. Home study and internet courses each carry a 30-hour cap, which is the whole requirement, so there is no practical online limit; management courses, presentations, journal reading, and clinical supervision carry 15-hour caps. A licensee called to active duty in the armed forces reserves or the New Mexico National Guard does not lapse for missing hours and resumes on a prorated basis on return to civilian status.

Required CE topics for New Mexico physical therapist assistants

The New Mexico Physical Therapy Board (Regulation and Licensing Department) pages and rules we read do not mandate specific subject areas for this license type. Hours may be in any approved subject.

Documentation and audit

Proof submitted at renewalNo, attestation only
Keep records forNot stated
Board audits complianceYes
Approved providersThe board or its designee approves requests for continuing education credit; licensees are not required to obtain approval but may request it before or after a course. Programs sponsored or approved by the APTA and the New Mexico chapter are automatically accepted (16.20.8.12(B)). The board audits a percentage of renewal applications each year; an audited licensee submits proof of participation with the renewal form, and a licensee who is not audited signs an affidavit attesting to completion and retains all documentation of attendance for the cycle immediately preceding the current renewal. The rule states no fixed number of years for retention.

Common questions

How many CE hours does a New Mexico PTA need to renew?
New Mexico physical therapist assistants must complete 30 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the New Mexico Physical Therapy Board (Regulation and Licensing Department). 16.20.8 NMAC applies to physical therapists and physical therapist assistants together. 16.20.8.9(A) requires 30 hours of continuing education biennially, so the physical therapist assistant requirement matches the physical therapist requirement, and 16.20.8.9 opens by stating that continuing education is required for license renewal of physical therapists and physical therapist assistants. No continuing education is required of a licensee renewing for the first time. All hours must be earned during the current two-year renewal period, February 1 through January 31, and 16.20.8.10 states plainly that no carryover hours are permitted. One contact hour requires 60 minutes. Home study and internet courses each carry a 30-hour cap, which is the whole requirement, so there is no practical online limit; management courses, presentations, journal reading, and clinical supervision carry 15-hour caps. A licensee called to active duty in the armed forces reserves or the New Mexico National Guard does not lapse for missing hours and resumes on a prorated basis on return to civilian status.
How often does a New Mexico PTA license need to be renewed?
Physical Therapist Assistant licenses in New Mexico renew every two years. Physical therapist assistant licenses are renewed biennially and expire on February 1 following no more than two years of licensure, the same schedule as physical therapist licenses. The board mails a renewal notice by December 15, but timely renewal is the licensee's responsibility. A renewal postmarked after February 1 carries a $200 late fee for a physical therapist assistant, where the physical therapist late fee is $250.
Does New Mexico require specific CE topics for physical therapist assistants?
The New Mexico Physical Therapy Board (Regulation and Licensing Department) does not list mandated subject areas for PTA renewal on the pages we verified; the 30 contact hours may be in any approved subject.
Do New Mexico physical therapist assistants have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates and the board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation. The board or its designee approves requests for continuing education credit; licensees are not required to obtain approval but may request it before or after a course. Programs sponsored or approved by the APTA and the New Mexico chapter are automatically accepted (16.20.8.12(B)). The board audits a percentage of renewal applications each year; an audited licensee submits proof of participation with the renewal form, and a licensee who is not audited signs an affidavit attesting to completion and retains all documentation of attendance for the cycle immediately preceding the current renewal. The rule states no fixed number of years for retention.
Is the first New Mexico PTA renewal exempt from CE?
Yes. New Mexico does not require continuing education for a PTA's first renewal.

Sources

Last verified September 8, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.

New Mexico writes one renewal and continuing education part for both credentials and names physical therapist assistants throughout: 16.20.8.8(A)(1) requires a licensed physical therapist and a physical therapist assistant to apply for renewal, 16.20.8.8(D) sets a separate $200 late fee for assistants against $250 for physical therapists, and 16.20.8.9 requires 30 hours biennially for both. The February 1 biennial expiration, the first-renewal exemption, and the no-carryover rule were read in the same part. New Mexico states no subject mandates for physical therapist assistants, so mandatory_topics is empty. Retention years are null because the rule requires documentation to be kept for the cycle immediately preceding the current renewal without naming a number of years. max_self_study_or_online is recorded as 30 because the rule caps home study and internet courses at 30 contact hours each, which equals the full requirement.

Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the New Mexico Physical Therapy Board (Regulation and Licensing Department) before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.