New Mexico Nurse Practitioner license renewal and CE requirements
New Mexico nurse practitioners must complete 45 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the New Mexico Board of Nursing.
New Mexico calls the nurse practitioner a certified nurse practitioner (CNP). Licensed nurses must complete the renewal process by the end of their renewal month, which is the birth month, every two years. A renewal notice goes out electronically at least six weeks before expiration and renewal is accepted no more than 60 days before the license expires. The CNP holds the RN license and the CNP license, and both are renewed on that cycle.
Summary
New Mexico nurse practitioners must complete 45 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the New Mexico Board of Nursing. New Mexico calls the nurse practitioner a certified nurse practitioner (CNP). Licensed nurses must complete the renewal process by the end of their renewal month, which is the birth month, every two years. A renewal notice goes out electronically at least six weeks before expiration and renewal is accepted no more than 60 days before the license expires. The CNP holds the RN license and the CNP license, and both are renewed on that cycle. New Mexico also mandates specific subjects. Pharmacology: 10 contact hours every renewal cycle (certified nurse practitioners who do not satisfy the requirement through current national certification). Management of non-cancer pain: 5 contact hours every renewal cycle (certified nurse practitioners who held a DEA registration at any time during the most recent renewal period).
New Mexico Nurse Practitioner renewal and continuing education rules
"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.
| Renewal cycle | Two-year (24 months) |
|---|---|
| Renewal deadline | Tied to the licensee's birth month |
| Continuing education required | Yes |
| Hours per cycle | 45 contact hours |
| Self-study or online cap | No cap stated |
| Carryover to next cycle | Not stated |
| First renewal exempt | No |
| Other accepted activities | Current national certification as an APRN, which the board says covers all of the continuing education requirement except the non-cancer pain management hours |
The obligation is layered and the board sets out both routes on its continuing education page. A certified nurse practitioner who is not relying on national certification owes 30 contact hours for the RN license, 10 hours of pharmacology and 5 hours related to CNP practice, which is the 45 hour total recorded here, and 5 more hours in the management of non-cancer pain if the CNP held a DEA registration at any time during the renewal period. A certified nurse practitioner who holds current national certification has that certification count for all of the continuing education except the non-cancer pain management hours, so the practical obligation becomes keeping the certification current plus the 5 pain management hours where DEA registration applies. The rule text at 16.12.2.10(E) and 16.12.2.12(J) states the renewal requirement for a CNP as submitting a valid national certification as an APRN, with the added 5 contact hours in the management of non-cancer pain for a CNP with DEA registration; the board's continuing education page is where the alternative hour breakdown for an APRN without national certification appears. The 30 hour RN base comes from 16.12.2.9 Q, which requires 30 hours of approved continuing education accrued within the 24 months immediately preceding expiration and allows proration to the length of a shorter renewal period. Continuing education must be uploaded to CE Broker before the renewal application is submitted, and the board notes that an APRN who also holds an RN license keeps separate CE Broker accounts for each.
Required CE topics for New Mexico nurse practitioners
State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.
| Topic | Hours | Frequency | Applies to | Citation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| PharmacologyThe board's continuing education page lists 10 hours of pharmacology for an APRN without national certification, alongside 30 contact hours for the RN and 5 hours related to CNP practice. The topic key pharmacology is not in the canonical list; see verification_notes. | 10 contact hours | Every renewal | Certified nurse practitioners who do not satisfy the requirement through current national certification | Not stated |
| Management of non-cancer painThe rule states that a CNP with DEA registration at any time during the most recent renewal period shall obtain five contact hours in the management of non-cancer pain, in addition to submitting a valid national certification as an APRN. The board says national certification does not substitute for these hours. | 5 contact hours | Every renewal | Certified nurse practitioners who held a DEA registration at any time during the most recent renewal period | 16.12.2.10(E) NMAC; the board's continuing education page also cites 16.12.9.10 NMAC |
Documentation and audit
| Proof submitted at renewal | Yes |
|---|---|
| Keep records for | Not stated |
| Board audits compliance | Yes |
| Approved providers | Continuing education must be board approved and is reported through CE Broker before the renewal application is submitted. A contact hour is 60 clock minutes. |
Common questions
- How many CE hours does a New Mexico NP need to renew?
- New Mexico nurse practitioners must complete 45 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the New Mexico Board of Nursing. The obligation is layered and the board sets out both routes on its continuing education page. A certified nurse practitioner who is not relying on national certification owes 30 contact hours for the RN license, 10 hours of pharmacology and 5 hours related to CNP practice, which is the 45 hour total recorded here, and 5 more hours in the management of non-cancer pain if the CNP held a DEA registration at any time during the renewal period. A certified nurse practitioner who holds current national certification has that certification count for all of the continuing education except the non-cancer pain management hours, so the practical obligation becomes keeping the certification current plus the 5 pain management hours where DEA registration applies. The rule text at 16.12.2.10(E) and 16.12.2.12(J) states the renewal requirement for a CNP as submitting a valid national certification as an APRN, with the added 5 contact hours in the management of non-cancer pain for a CNP with DEA registration; the board's continuing education page is where the alternative hour breakdown for an APRN without national certification appears. The 30 hour RN base comes from 16.12.2.9 Q, which requires 30 hours of approved continuing education accrued within the 24 months immediately preceding expiration and allows proration to the length of a shorter renewal period. Continuing education must be uploaded to CE Broker before the renewal application is submitted, and the board notes that an APRN who also holds an RN license keeps separate CE Broker accounts for each.
- How often does a New Mexico NP license need to be renewed?
- Nurse Practitioner licenses in New Mexico renew every two years. New Mexico calls the nurse practitioner a certified nurse practitioner (CNP). Licensed nurses must complete the renewal process by the end of their renewal month, which is the birth month, every two years. A renewal notice goes out electronically at least six weeks before expiration and renewal is accepted no more than 60 days before the license expires. The CNP holds the RN license and the CNP license, and both are renewed on that cycle.
- What specific CE topics are required for New Mexico nurse practitioners?
- Pharmacology: 10 contact hours every renewal cycle (certified nurse practitioners who do not satisfy the requirement through current national certification). Management of non-cancer pain: 5 contact hours every renewal cycle (certified nurse practitioners who held a DEA registration at any time during the most recent renewal period). Citations: management of non-cancer pain (16.12.2.10(E) NMAC; the board's continuing education page also cites 16.12.9.10 NMAC).
- Do New Mexico nurse practitioners have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
- Proof of completion must be submitted with the renewal and the board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation. Continuing education must be board approved and is reported through CE Broker before the renewal application is submitted. A contact hour is 60 clock minutes.
- Is the first New Mexico NP renewal exempt from CE?
- No. New Mexico applies the continuing education requirement to the first renewal as well.
Sources
Last verified September 8, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.
- 16.12.2 NMAC, Licensure of Nurses (16.12.2.9 Q relicensure and continuing education, 16.12.2.10 continuing education, 16.12.2.12 advanced practice)Statute or administrative rule, accessed September 8, 2026
- Continuing Education, New Mexico Board of NursingState board page, accessed September 8, 2026
- New Mexico Board of Nursing home pageState board page, accessed September 8, 2026
The two year renewal by the end of the renewal month, the 30 hour RN base and the CNP specific requirements were read in the official rule text of 16.12.2 NMAC on the New Mexico State Records Center site. The hour breakdown for a CNP who does not hold national certification (30 RN hours, 10 pharmacology, 5 related to CNP practice) and the statement that national certification covers everything except non-cancer pain management were read on the board's own continuing education page. hours_per_cycle records the full course route at 45 hours; a nationally certified CNP satisfies most of that through certification, which is why the certification is listed under alternatives accepted. The topic key pharmacology is not one of the canonical keys in the schema and is used per the brief's instruction. There is mild tension between the rule, which states the CNP renewal requirement as submitting a valid national certification, and the board's page, which describes an APRN without national certification; the record presents both rather than choosing. Retention period for certificates was not stated for advanced practice licensees on the pages read. This record is the nurse practitioner role only; New Mexico treats CRNA separately, and the rule sets the same five hour non-cancer pain management requirement for CRNAs with DEA registration.
Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the New Mexico Board of Nursing before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.