New Mexico Dental Hygienist license renewal and CE requirements
New Mexico dental hygienists must complete 45 contact hours of continuing education every three years to renew their license with the New Mexico Board of Dental Health Care, Dental Hygienists Committee.
New Mexico dental hygiene licenses run on a three-year cycle that ends June 30, the same schedule as dentists, and the board describes the renewal period as July 1 through June 30 of every third year. The completed renewal application, fees and required proof of 45 hours of continuing education must be postmarked on or before July 1 of the renewal year; a license not renewed by July 1 is considered expired. A renewal postmarked after July 1 but before August 1 costs a late fee, and one postmarked from August 1 to before September 1 costs a late fee plus a cumulative late fee. An initial license expires July 1 in the third year of licensure and is never issued for more than 36 or fewer than 25 months. The board takes no responsibility for a renewal notice that does not arrive; a licensee who has not received one 30 days before expiration must request it.
Summary
New Mexico dental hygienists must complete 45 contact hours of continuing education every three years to renew their license with the New Mexico Board of Dental Health Care, Dental Hygienists Committee. New Mexico dental hygiene licenses run on a three-year cycle that ends June 30, the same schedule as dentists, and the board describes the renewal period as July 1 through June 30 of every third year. The completed renewal application, fees and required proof of 45 hours of continuing education must be postmarked on or before July 1 of the renewal year; a license not renewed by July 1 is considered expired. A renewal postmarked after July 1 but before August 1 costs a late fee, and one postmarked from August 1 to before September 1 costs a late fee plus a cumulative late fee. An initial license expires July 1 in the third year of licensure and is never issued for more than 36 or fewer than 25 months. The board takes no responsibility for a renewal notice that does not arrive; a licensee who has not received one 30 days before expiration must request it. New Mexico also mandates specific subjects. Basic life support (BLS) or cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR): required every renewal cycle. Infection control techniques and sterilization procedures: required every renewal cycle. No more than 30 contact hours may be self-study or online.
New Mexico Dental Hygienist renewal and continuing education rules
"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.
| Renewal cycle | Three-year (36 months) |
|---|---|
| Renewal deadline | Same date for every licensee, 06/30 each cycleFirst renewal is prorated. |
| Continuing education required | Yes |
| Hours per cycle | 45 contact hours |
| Self-study or online cap | At most 30 contact hours |
| Carryover to next cycle | Not stated |
| First renewal exempt | No |
| Other accepted activities | Original presentations, hour for hour for preparation and delivery, maximum 8 hours per triennium; Serving as a clinical examiner in regional board training and calibration sessions, maximum 24 hours per triennium; Volunteering for the board or committee as hearing officer, investigator, mentor or monitor, up to 10 hours; Board or dental hygiene committee approved charitable events, maximum 8 hours per triennium; Graduate or postgraduate dental related degree or certificate courses, 10 hours per semester credit hour; Academic teaching as full, part or adjunct faculty, 5 hours per semester credit hour taught, maximum 10 hours per triennium; Professional training programs such as local anesthesia or expanded function dental auxiliary certification, from an approved provider; The board's open book jurisprudence examination, 3 hours for a passing score of 75 percent or above, once a year |
16.5.23.8 NMAC, the dental hygienist part, requires 45 hours of continuing education per triennial renewal cycle, of which a maximum of 30 may be online, webinars or self-study. Dentists owe 60 hours under 16.5.10.8 NMAC with the identical 30 hour online and self-study ceiling, so that ceiling is not scaled between the credentials and covers two thirds of the hygienist requirement against half of the dentist requirement. One hour of credit is granted for every hour of contact instruction and no more than 8 hours may be earned in a single day. Live virtual webinars conducted in real time with the ability to interact with the speaker count as live, but the rule groups online and webinar delivery with self-study inside the 30 hour ceiling. Self-study needs a post-instruction examination. Courses primarily about maximizing income, billing or marketing are limited to 8 hours per triennium, ACCME accredited medical education is limited to 8 hours per triennium, and courses on money management, personal finances or general cultural subjects are not accepted at all. Continuing education imposed by a disciplinary order does not count. BLS or CPR does count: 16.5.1.15(E) NMAC gives hour for hour credit for the certification course, but it must be a live hands-on or hybrid course with a skills demonstration, never self-study only. Hours earned after renewal materials are submitted but before the actual expiration date may be applied to the next cycle; the rules state no other carryover. Continuing education is prorated at 15 hours per full year of the initial licensing period, against 20 for dentists, and an initial license issued for less than a full year carries no continuing education for the first renewal. Emergency deferrals of up to four months are available from the committee for extenuating circumstances, and time practicing or residing outside the United States is excused if the committee is notified before expiration. New Mexico sets no controlled substance or pain management continuing education for hygienists; 16.5.23.9 NMAC lists only BLS or CPR and infection control.
Required CE topics for New Mexico dental hygienists
State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.
| Topic | Hours | Frequency | Applies to | Citation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Basic life support (BLS) or cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR)Proof of current certification accepted by the American Heart Association, the American Red Cross or the American Safety and Health Institute is a required course for license renewal. It cannot be a self-study course: certification must come from a live hands-on course or a hybrid course that still requires a demonstration of skills. The licensee receives hour for hour credit toward the 45 hours, so New Mexico counts it as continuing education. The rules do not state a fixed number of BLS or CPR hours. The board lists taking an online CPR or BLS course, and taking one from a non-approved entity, among the most common continuing education mistakes. | Not stated | Every renewal | All licensees | 16.5.23.9(A) NMAC; 16.5.1.15(E) NMAC |
| Infection control techniques and sterilization proceduresA course in infection control techniques and sterilization procedures is required each renewal period. 16.5.1.16 NMAC frames it around preventing transmission of HIV, hepatitis B, hepatitis C and other bloodborne infections and requires following American Dental Association, American Dental Hygienists' Association, Centers for Disease Control and OSHA guidance. No minimum number of hours is stated. The requirement is written identically for dentists. | Not stated | Every renewal | All licensees | 16.5.23.9(B) NMAC; 16.5.1.16 NMAC |
Documentation and audit
| Proof submitted at renewal | No, attestation only |
|---|---|
| Keep records for | 1 years |
| Board audits compliance | Yes |
| Approved providers | Courses must come from an approved provider or sponsor under 16.5.1.15(C) NMAC: local, state, regional, national or international dental, dental hygiene, dental assisting or medical related professional associations and their affiliates using approved CE program designations; institutions accredited by the United States Department of Education; federal and state government agencies such as the military dental division or the Veterans Administration; hospitals and medical clinics; and board approved study clubs. A course from any other source may be approved individually by the board's secretary-treasurer or delegate if the application includes the course outline, date, location, hours and presenter qualifications. Verification of attendance such as certificates of completion, conference attendance sheets and BLS or CPR cards must be kept and produced on audit. |
Common questions
- How many CE hours does a New Mexico RDH need to renew?
- New Mexico dental hygienists must complete 45 contact hours of continuing education every three years to renew their license with the New Mexico Board of Dental Health Care, Dental Hygienists Committee. 16.5.23.8 NMAC, the dental hygienist part, requires 45 hours of continuing education per triennial renewal cycle, of which a maximum of 30 may be online, webinars or self-study. Dentists owe 60 hours under 16.5.10.8 NMAC with the identical 30 hour online and self-study ceiling, so that ceiling is not scaled between the credentials and covers two thirds of the hygienist requirement against half of the dentist requirement. One hour of credit is granted for every hour of contact instruction and no more than 8 hours may be earned in a single day. Live virtual webinars conducted in real time with the ability to interact with the speaker count as live, but the rule groups online and webinar delivery with self-study inside the 30 hour ceiling. Self-study needs a post-instruction examination. Courses primarily about maximizing income, billing or marketing are limited to 8 hours per triennium, ACCME accredited medical education is limited to 8 hours per triennium, and courses on money management, personal finances or general cultural subjects are not accepted at all. Continuing education imposed by a disciplinary order does not count. BLS or CPR does count: 16.5.1.15(E) NMAC gives hour for hour credit for the certification course, but it must be a live hands-on or hybrid course with a skills demonstration, never self-study only. Hours earned after renewal materials are submitted but before the actual expiration date may be applied to the next cycle; the rules state no other carryover. Continuing education is prorated at 15 hours per full year of the initial licensing period, against 20 for dentists, and an initial license issued for less than a full year carries no continuing education for the first renewal. Emergency deferrals of up to four months are available from the committee for extenuating circumstances, and time practicing or residing outside the United States is excused if the committee is notified before expiration. New Mexico sets no controlled substance or pain management continuing education for hygienists; 16.5.23.9 NMAC lists only BLS or CPR and infection control.
- How often does a New Mexico RDH license need to be renewed?
- Dental Hygienist licenses in New Mexico renew every three years. New Mexico dental hygiene licenses run on a three-year cycle that ends June 30, the same schedule as dentists, and the board describes the renewal period as July 1 through June 30 of every third year. The completed renewal application, fees and required proof of 45 hours of continuing education must be postmarked on or before July 1 of the renewal year; a license not renewed by July 1 is considered expired. A renewal postmarked after July 1 but before August 1 costs a late fee, and one postmarked from August 1 to before September 1 costs a late fee plus a cumulative late fee. An initial license expires July 1 in the third year of licensure and is never issued for more than 36 or fewer than 25 months. The board takes no responsibility for a renewal notice that does not arrive; a licensee who has not received one 30 days before expiration must request it.
- What specific CE topics are required for New Mexico dental hygienists?
- Basic life support (BLS) or cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR): required every renewal cycle. Infection control techniques and sterilization procedures: required every renewal cycle. Citations: basic life support (BLS) or cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) (16.5.23.9(A) NMAC; 16.5.1.15(E) NMAC) and infection control techniques and sterilization procedures (16.5.23.9(B) NMAC; 16.5.1.16 NMAC).
- Do New Mexico dental hygienists have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
- Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates, the board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation, and records must be kept for 1 years. Courses must come from an approved provider or sponsor under 16.5.1.15(C) NMAC: local, state, regional, national or international dental, dental hygiene, dental assisting or medical related professional associations and their affiliates using approved CE program designations; institutions accredited by the United States Department of Education; federal and state government agencies such as the military dental division or the Veterans Administration; hospitals and medical clinics; and board approved study clubs. A course from any other source may be approved individually by the board's secretary-treasurer or delegate if the application includes the course outline, date, location, hours and presenter qualifications. Verification of attendance such as certificates of completion, conference attendance sheets and BLS or CPR cards must be kept and produced on audit.
- Is the first New Mexico RDH renewal exempt from CE?
- No. New Mexico applies the continuing education requirement to the first renewal as well.
Sources
Last verified September 8, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.
- 16.5.23 NMAC, Dental Hygienists, Continuing Education RequirementsStatute or administrative rule, accessed September 8, 2026
- 16.5.24 NMAC, Dental Hygienists, License Expiration and RenewalStatute or administrative rule, accessed September 8, 2026
- 16.5.1 NMAC, Dentistry, General Provisions (guidelines for approved continuing education, infection control)Statute or administrative rule, accessed September 8, 2026
- Dental Health Care: Instructors, Training Requirements, and Continuing Education, New Mexico Regulation and Licensing DepartmentState board page, accessed September 8, 2026
- 16.5.10 NMAC, Dentists, Continuing Education RequirementsStatute or administrative rule, accessed September 8, 2026
New Mexico licenses dental hygienists under the New Mexico Board of Dental Health Care, but hygiene matters run through a Dental Hygienists Committee: 16.5.23 NMAC names the committee rather than the board as the body that selects renewal applications for verification and grants emergency deferrals, while the parallel dentist part names the board. The issuing agency line on the hygienist part is still the board, so the board is recorded as the regulator with the committee named alongside it. The 45 hour hygienist total and the 15 hour per year proration were read in the hygienist parts, 16.5.23 and 16.5.24 on srca.nm.gov, the state's official administrative code site, not scaled from the dentist figures of 60 and 20. The 30 hour online and self-study ceiling is identical in both parts, which is the clearest place where scaling from the dentist rule would have produced a wrong number. Proof at renewal is recorded as false: 16.5.24.10, last amended in 2006, says the renewal application is accompanied by proof of completion, but the board's own current page describes verification through selected audits, saying a licensee can be selected at any time and must then provide proof. Retention is one year following the renewal cycle in which the hours were earned. The rules state no category 1 minimum, no live or interactive minimum and no general carryover; the only forward-looking provision is that hours earned after renewal materials are submitted but before the actual expiration date may be used for the next cycle. exempt_first_renewal is false because New Mexico prorates rather than exempts, with no continuing education only when the initial license ran less than a full year. Collaborative practice hygienists are covered separately by 16.5.17 NMAC, which was not read and is not folded into this record. The mandatory topic key cpr_certification is not on the canonical topic list in the brief, so a short snake_case key was used.
Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the New Mexico Board of Dental Health Care, Dental Hygienists Committee before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.