Skip to main content
CredNet

New Mexico Physician (MD) license renewal and CE requirements

New Mexico physicians (MD) must complete 75 CME credits of continuing education every three years to renew their license with the New Mexico Medical Board.

New Mexico physician licenses renew on a triennial cycle. A completed renewal application with the required fees and documentation must be submitted through the online renewal system, postmarked or hand delivered on or before July 1 of the renewal year to avoid penalty fees. A license not renewed by July 1 stays temporarily active for practice until September 30 of the renewal year, at which point the board may suspend it for non-renewal and change the status to lapsed, notifying New Mexico hospitals and health plans. Late renewal between July 2 and August 15, and again between August 16 and September 30, requires the triennial fee plus a late fee and documentation of the 75 CME hours. CME may be earned at any time during the licensing period, July 1 through June 30 immediately preceding the triennial renewal date.

Renewal cycle
Three-year
Same date for every licensee
CE per cycle
75
CME credits
Mandated topics
2
required subjects
Last verified
September 7, 2026
15 days ago

Summary

New Mexico physicians (MD) must complete 75 CME credits of continuing education every three years to renew their license with the New Mexico Medical Board. New Mexico physician licenses renew on a triennial cycle. A completed renewal application with the required fees and documentation must be submitted through the online renewal system, postmarked or hand delivered on or before July 1 of the renewal year to avoid penalty fees. A license not renewed by July 1 stays temporarily active for practice until September 30 of the renewal year, at which point the board may suspend it for non-renewal and change the status to lapsed, notifying New Mexico hospitals and health plans. Late renewal between July 2 and August 15, and again between August 16 and September 30, requires the triennial fee plus a late fee and documentation of the 75 CME hours. CME may be earned at any time during the licensing period, July 1 through June 30 immediately preceding the triennial renewal date. New Mexico also mandates specific subjects. Review of the New Mexico Medical Practice Act and the board rules: 1 CME credit every renewal cycle. Continuing education for the prescribing of controlled substances: 5 CME credits every renewal cycle (only licensees who hold a federal Drug Enforcement Administration registration and a New Mexico controlled substances registration).

New Mexico Physician (MD) renewal and continuing education rules

"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.

Renewal cycleThree-year (36 months)
Renewal deadlineSame date for every licensee, 07/01 each cycle
Continuing education requiredYes
Hours per cycle75 CME credits
Self-study or online capNo cap stated
Carryover to next cycleNot stated
First renewal exemptNot stated
Other accepted activitiesThe physician's recognition award of the AMA PRA Category 1 Credit; A certificate of CME issued by any board or sub-board of the ABMS; Certification or re-certification by an ABMS approved specialty board during the renewal period; Active membership in the American Osteopathic Association; Certification or recertification by an osteopathic specialty board during the triennial cycle; Passage of the COMVEX or SPEX during the triennial cycle; New Mexico specific CME certified by the New Mexico Medical Society CME committee, including service on the New Mexico medical review commission and the impaired physician committee: up to 40 credits per three year period; Postgraduate education including internships, residencies and fellowships: up to 75 credit hours per three year period; Advanced degrees in a medical or medically related field: 40 credit hours for each full academic year; Teaching medical students or physicians: one credit hour per hour taught, up to 40 credit hours per three year period; Acting as a preceptor for medical or physician assistant students: up to 30 hours per three year period; Original scientific medical papers or publications: 10 hours each, up to 30 hours per three year period; Successful completion of ACLS, PALS, ATLS, NALS and ALSO courses; Expert review of board investigation cases: up to 10 credit hours per three year period

16.10.4.8(A) NMAC requires 75 hours of continuing medical education for all medical licenses during each triennial renewal cycle, earned at any time during the licensing period of July 1 through June 30 immediately preceding the triennial renewal date. The board accepts one credit hour for every clock hour of participation (16.10.4.9). No overall AMA PRA Category 1 minimum is set: 16.10.4.11 accepts AMA PRA Category 1 courses and clinical courses approved for CCME, AOA, AMA, ACCME, AAFP, AACOM or AAPS category 1-A or 1-B, so category_1_minimum is left null rather than invented. Unit recorded as CME credits. CME is not required for federal emergency, telemedicine, postgraduate training, public service, temporary teaching, youth camp or school licenses. A physician unable to finish before expiration may request an emergency deferral in writing no later than July 1 of the renewal year, and a board designee may grant up to 90 days, with longer extensions possible for illness or other documented circumstances. A licensee practicing or residing outside the United States is not required to fulfill CME for the period of the absence if the board is notified before expiration.

Required CE topics for New Mexico physician (md)s

State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.

TopicHoursFrequencyApplies toCitation
Review of the New Mexico Medical Practice Act and the board rulesOne hour of the required 75 must be earned by reviewing the New Mexico Medical Practice Act and the board rules, and physicians must certify that they have completed the review when they submit the triennial renewal application.1 CME creditEvery renewalAll licensees16.10.4.8(B) NMAC
Continuing education for the prescribing of controlled substancesFive CME hours as part of the 75 required in each triennial renewal cycle. The courses must cover the pharmacology and risks of controlled substances, a basic awareness of abuse, addiction and diversion, awareness of state and federal prescribing regulations, and management of the treatment of pain; a review of 16.10.14 NMAC may be included subject to board approval. The hours may be earned at any time during the three year period immediately preceding the triennial renewal date, and each subsequent triennial cycle must include five pain management hours.5 CME creditsEvery renewalOnly licensees who hold a federal Drug Enforcement Administration registration and a New Mexico controlled substances registration16.10.14.11(B) NMAC; 16.10.4.8(D) NMAC

Documentation and audit

Proof submitted at renewalNo, attestation only
Keep records for1 years
Board audits complianceYes
Approved providersCourses must fall within the categories in 16.10.4.11 NMAC: AMA PRA Category 1 clinical courses, lectures or grand rounds certified by an accredited sponsor of the AMA physician's recognition award, whether on site or over the internet, or clinical courses approved for CCME, AOA, AMA, ACCME, AAFP, AACOM or AAPS category 1-A or 1-B. Acceptable documentation includes photocopies of original certificates or official letters from course sponsors or online providers; postgraduate, advanced degree, teaching and preceptor hours must be attested by the dean, chief of service, course director or an equivalent authority.

Common questions

How many CE hours does a New Mexico MD need to renew?
New Mexico physicians (MD) must complete 75 CME credits of continuing education every three years to renew their license with the New Mexico Medical Board. 16.10.4.8(A) NMAC requires 75 hours of continuing medical education for all medical licenses during each triennial renewal cycle, earned at any time during the licensing period of July 1 through June 30 immediately preceding the triennial renewal date. The board accepts one credit hour for every clock hour of participation (16.10.4.9). No overall AMA PRA Category 1 minimum is set: 16.10.4.11 accepts AMA PRA Category 1 courses and clinical courses approved for CCME, AOA, AMA, ACCME, AAFP, AACOM or AAPS category 1-A or 1-B, so category_1_minimum is left null rather than invented. Unit recorded as CME credits. CME is not required for federal emergency, telemedicine, postgraduate training, public service, temporary teaching, youth camp or school licenses. A physician unable to finish before expiration may request an emergency deferral in writing no later than July 1 of the renewal year, and a board designee may grant up to 90 days, with longer extensions possible for illness or other documented circumstances. A licensee practicing or residing outside the United States is not required to fulfill CME for the period of the absence if the board is notified before expiration.
How often does a New Mexico MD license need to be renewed?
Physician (MD) licenses in New Mexico renew every three years. New Mexico physician licenses renew on a triennial cycle. A completed renewal application with the required fees and documentation must be submitted through the online renewal system, postmarked or hand delivered on or before July 1 of the renewal year to avoid penalty fees. A license not renewed by July 1 stays temporarily active for practice until September 30 of the renewal year, at which point the board may suspend it for non-renewal and change the status to lapsed, notifying New Mexico hospitals and health plans. Late renewal between July 2 and August 15, and again between August 16 and September 30, requires the triennial fee plus a late fee and documentation of the 75 CME hours. CME may be earned at any time during the licensing period, July 1 through June 30 immediately preceding the triennial renewal date.
What specific CE topics are required for New Mexico physicians (MD)?
Review of the New Mexico Medical Practice Act and the board rules: 1 CME credit every renewal cycle. Continuing education for the prescribing of controlled substances: 5 CME credits every renewal cycle (only licensees who hold a federal Drug Enforcement Administration registration and a New Mexico controlled substances registration). Citations: review of the New Mexico Medical Practice Act and the board rules (16.10.4.8(B) NMAC) and continuing education for the prescribing of controlled substances (16.10.14.11(B) NMAC; 16.10.4.8(D) NMAC).
Do New Mexico physicians (MD) have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates, the board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation, and records must be kept for 1 years. Courses must fall within the categories in 16.10.4.11 NMAC: AMA PRA Category 1 clinical courses, lectures or grand rounds certified by an accredited sponsor of the AMA physician's recognition award, whether on site or over the internet, or clinical courses approved for CCME, AOA, AMA, ACCME, AAFP, AACOM or AAPS category 1-A or 1-B. Acceptable documentation includes photocopies of original certificates or official letters from course sponsors or online providers; postgraduate, advanced degree, teaching and preceptor hours must be attested by the dean, chief of service, course director or an equivalent authority.

Sources

Last verified September 7, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.

New Mexico no longer has a separate osteopathic board. Senate Bill 279 of the 2021 session, signed April 5, 2021, merged the Osteopathic Examiners Board into the New Mexico Medical Board, and 16.10.2.7(T) NMAC now defines physician as allopathic doctor (MD) or doctor of osteopathy (DO). 16.10.4.2 NMAC applies the CME rule to all physicians licensed by the board, so the 75 hour triennial requirement recorded here covers MDs and DOs alike; see nm-physician_do for the caveats about the former osteopathic board's rules, which are still posted at 16.17 NMAC. Hours, the triennial cycle and the July 1 date were read from the NMAC parts published by the New Mexico State Records Center and Archives. The board's own site, nmmb.state.nm.us, returns a Cloudflare block to command line clients; the homepage was readable through a different fetch path and is cited, but no board renewal page could be read, so renewal_url is left null. No overall Category 1 minimum, no carryover rule and no first renewal exemption appear in 16.10.4, and all three are left null. Retention of one year, the attestation-plus-audit model and the audit penalties come from 16.10.4.13 NMAC.

Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the New Mexico Medical Board before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.