Skip to main content
CredNet

Minnesota Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist license renewal and CE requirements

Minnesota nurse anesthetists must complete 24 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Minnesota Board of Nursing.

Minnesota does not issue a separate nurse anesthetist licence. A CRNA holds an advanced practice registered nurse licence in the certified registered nurse anesthetist role, and to be eligible for it the nurse must hold a current Minnesota professional nursing licence. Both licences carry a registration that must be kept current. Under Minn. R. 6310.2600, subpart 15, the registration period ends the last day of the licensee's month of birth, in an even-numbered year if the year of birth was even and in an odd-numbered year if it was odd, and subsequent registration periods run 24 months. The first registration period after licensure, endorsement or reregistration runs six to 29 full calendar months. The board sends a renewal notice at least three full calendar months before the expiration date, but failure to receive it does not excuse a late renewal. The completed renewal application, fee and continuing education report must reach the board office by the registration expiration date; an application without a fee or an incomplete application is returned and must be resubmitted by that date. A licensee who does not return a complete application and fee by the expiration date is removed from the list of individuals authorized to practise. Renewal of the APRN registration also requires evidence of current certification or recertification in the APRN role in at least one population focus by a nationally accredited certifying body recognized by the board, and Minn. R. 6310.3105 separately requires the licensee to notify the board with primary source verification each time that certification is renewed.

Renewal cycle
Two-year
Tied to the licensee's birth month
CE per cycle
24
contact hours
Mandated topics
0
required subjects
Last verified
September 8, 2026
14 days ago

Summary

Minnesota nurse anesthetists must complete 24 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Minnesota Board of Nursing. Minnesota does not issue a separate nurse anesthetist licence. A CRNA holds an advanced practice registered nurse licence in the certified registered nurse anesthetist role, and to be eligible for it the nurse must hold a current Minnesota professional nursing licence. Both licences carry a registration that must be kept current. Under Minn. R. 6310.2600, subpart 15, the registration period ends the last day of the licensee's month of birth, in an even-numbered year if the year of birth was even and in an odd-numbered year if it was odd, and subsequent registration periods run 24 months. The first registration period after licensure, endorsement or reregistration runs six to 29 full calendar months. The board sends a renewal notice at least three full calendar months before the expiration date, but failure to receive it does not excuse a late renewal. The completed renewal application, fee and continuing education report must reach the board office by the registration expiration date; an application without a fee or an incomplete application is returned and must be resubmitted by that date. A licensee who does not return a complete application and fee by the expiration date is removed from the list of individuals authorized to practise. Renewal of the APRN registration also requires evidence of current certification or recertification in the APRN role in at least one population focus by a nationally accredited certifying body recognized by the board, and Minn. R. 6310.3105 separately requires the licensee to notify the board with primary source verification each time that certification is renewed.

Minnesota Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist renewal and continuing education rules

"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.

Renewal cycleTwo-year (24 months)
Renewal deadlineTied to the licensee's birth monthFirst renewal is prorated.
Continuing education requiredYes
Hours per cycle24 contact hours
Self-study or online capNo cap stated
Carryover to next cycleNot stated
First renewal exemptNo
Other accepted activitiesPublishing an article in a peer reviewed journal or book on nursing or health care related issues; Delivering a professional paper related to nursing or health care; Serving as a member of a national panel that addresses nursing or health care related issues; Serving as principal investigator or coinvestigator for a nursing or health care related research study

Minnesota states the requirement as a ratio rather than a flat number, and the figure matches the state's nurse practitioner record. Minn. R. 6310.2800, subpart 3 requires a registered nurse to participate in at least one contact hour of acceptable continuing education for each month of registration, which is 24 contact hours over the standard 24 month participation period; a practical nurse owes one hour per two months. Chapter 6310 sets no separate hour count for the advanced practice registered nurse registration, so a nurse anesthetist's hours come from the professional nursing licence that Minn. Stat. 148.211, subdivision 1a(c)(1) requires an APRN applicant to hold. A contact hour is 60 minutes, the smallest countable activity is 0.25 contact hours or 15 minutes, a quarter academic credit equals ten contact hours and a semester credit equals 15. The activity must be completed during the participation period, taught by someone other than the licensee, delivered by an instructor qualified by education or experience, and supported by written learning objectives and obtainable details of the objectives, instructor, hours, dates, title and a statement of participation. Content must be designed to enhance the licensee's ability to practise nursing. Minnesota is one of the states that does not let national certification stand in for hours: Minn. R. 6310.2800, subpart 4a, item C says submitting current certification from a national professional nursing organization removes only the need to evidence written learning objectives, and expressly adds that the licensee shall not use the practice specialty certificate as a substitute for any previously deferred contact hours. NBCRNA Continued Professional Certification is therefore a separate renewal condition, not a source of state hours, and its four year cycle does not line up with Minnesota's 24 month participation period. A licensee short on hours may defer the shortfall to the immediately succeeding participation period, but only if no hours are currently deferred, and a fraction must be deferred as a whole hour; deferred hours are added to the next period's requirement. The first participation period is shorter than 24 months, and the hours are prorated to it by the same one hour per month ratio rather than waived, which is why exempt_first_renewal is false.

Required CE topics for Minnesota certified registered nurse anesthetists

The Minnesota Board of Nursing pages and rules we read do not mandate specific subject areas for this license type. Hours may be in any approved subject.

Documentation and audit

Proof submitted at renewalNo, attestation only
Keep records for2 years
Board audits complianceYes
Approved providersMinnesota does not run a provider approval program in chapter 6310; acceptability turns on the content and documentation criteria in Minn. R. 6310.2800, subpart 3, items A to F. Written learning objectives need not be evidenced when the activity has been approved by another health licensing board or health related professional association, or when the licensee submits current certification from a national professional nursing organization or a medical organization. Confirmation of continuing education is part of the renewal application: the licensee verifies on the continuing education report that the activities meet the criteria and that the information is true in every respect, so a report is filed with the renewal even though certificates are not. At the time of renewal the board randomly selects a sample of licensees and requires substantiation of the activities confirmed on the report. Failure to substantiate results in the hours being automatically deferred to the next participation period, and failure to substantiate at the next renewal is grounds for disciplinary action. The rules state no licensee record retention period.

Common questions

How many CE hours does a Minnesota CRNA need to renew?
Minnesota nurse anesthetists must complete 24 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Minnesota Board of Nursing. Minnesota states the requirement as a ratio rather than a flat number, and the figure matches the state's nurse practitioner record. Minn. R. 6310.2800, subpart 3 requires a registered nurse to participate in at least one contact hour of acceptable continuing education for each month of registration, which is 24 contact hours over the standard 24 month participation period; a practical nurse owes one hour per two months. Chapter 6310 sets no separate hour count for the advanced practice registered nurse registration, so a nurse anesthetist's hours come from the professional nursing licence that Minn. Stat. 148.211, subdivision 1a(c)(1) requires an APRN applicant to hold. A contact hour is 60 minutes, the smallest countable activity is 0.25 contact hours or 15 minutes, a quarter academic credit equals ten contact hours and a semester credit equals 15. The activity must be completed during the participation period, taught by someone other than the licensee, delivered by an instructor qualified by education or experience, and supported by written learning objectives and obtainable details of the objectives, instructor, hours, dates, title and a statement of participation. Content must be designed to enhance the licensee's ability to practise nursing. Minnesota is one of the states that does not let national certification stand in for hours: Minn. R. 6310.2800, subpart 4a, item C says submitting current certification from a national professional nursing organization removes only the need to evidence written learning objectives, and expressly adds that the licensee shall not use the practice specialty certificate as a substitute for any previously deferred contact hours. NBCRNA Continued Professional Certification is therefore a separate renewal condition, not a source of state hours, and its four year cycle does not line up with Minnesota's 24 month participation period. A licensee short on hours may defer the shortfall to the immediately succeeding participation period, but only if no hours are currently deferred, and a fraction must be deferred as a whole hour; deferred hours are added to the next period's requirement. The first participation period is shorter than 24 months, and the hours are prorated to it by the same one hour per month ratio rather than waived, which is why exempt_first_renewal is false.
How often does a Minnesota CRNA license need to be renewed?
Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist licenses in Minnesota renew every two years. Minnesota does not issue a separate nurse anesthetist licence. A CRNA holds an advanced practice registered nurse licence in the certified registered nurse anesthetist role, and to be eligible for it the nurse must hold a current Minnesota professional nursing licence. Both licences carry a registration that must be kept current. Under Minn. R. 6310.2600, subpart 15, the registration period ends the last day of the licensee's month of birth, in an even-numbered year if the year of birth was even and in an odd-numbered year if it was odd, and subsequent registration periods run 24 months. The first registration period after licensure, endorsement or reregistration runs six to 29 full calendar months. The board sends a renewal notice at least three full calendar months before the expiration date, but failure to receive it does not excuse a late renewal. The completed renewal application, fee and continuing education report must reach the board office by the registration expiration date; an application without a fee or an incomplete application is returned and must be resubmitted by that date. A licensee who does not return a complete application and fee by the expiration date is removed from the list of individuals authorized to practise. Renewal of the APRN registration also requires evidence of current certification or recertification in the APRN role in at least one population focus by a nationally accredited certifying body recognized by the board, and Minn. R. 6310.3105 separately requires the licensee to notify the board with primary source verification each time that certification is renewed.
Does Minnesota require specific CE topics for nurse anesthetists?
The Minnesota Board of Nursing does not list mandated subject areas for CRNA renewal on the pages we verified; the 24 contact hours may be in any approved subject.
Do Minnesota nurse anesthetists have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates, the board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation, and records must be kept for 2 years. Minnesota does not run a provider approval program in chapter 6310; acceptability turns on the content and documentation criteria in Minn. R. 6310.2800, subpart 3, items A to F. Written learning objectives need not be evidenced when the activity has been approved by another health licensing board or health related professional association, or when the licensee submits current certification from a national professional nursing organization or a medical organization. Confirmation of continuing education is part of the renewal application: the licensee verifies on the continuing education report that the activities meet the criteria and that the information is true in every respect, so a report is filed with the renewal even though certificates are not. At the time of renewal the board randomly selects a sample of licensees and requires substantiation of the activities confirmed on the report. Failure to substantiate results in the hours being automatically deferred to the next participation period, and failure to substantiate at the next renewal is grounds for disciplinary action. The rules state no licensee record retention period.
Is the first Minnesota CRNA renewal exempt from CE?
No. Minnesota applies the continuing education requirement to the first renewal as well.

Sources

Last verified September 8, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.

Minnesota does not issue a distinct CRNA credential. Minn. Stat. 148.171, subdivision 22a, Roles of advanced practice registered nurses, lists certified registered nurse anesthetist as one of the four recognized roles, and subdivision 3 defines APRN as an individual licensed by the board and certified by a national certification organization to practise as a clinical nurse specialist, nurse anesthetist, nurse-midwife or nurse practitioner. Chapter 6310 is written for professional, practical and advanced practice registration together and contains no nurse anesthetist specific continuing education provision, so the figure matches the Minnesota nurse practitioner record. The reasoning behind the 24 hours is worth stating plainly because the rule's wording is narrower than the record's scope: Minn. R. 6310.2800, subpart 3 sets the ratio for a registered nurse and a licensed practical nurse and states no separate advanced practice ratio, and Minn. Stat. 148.211, subdivision 1a(c)(1) requires an APRN applicant to hold a current Minnesota professional nursing licence, so every Minnesota nurse anesthetist is a registered nurse and owes the registered nurse ratio. No additional advanced practice hour count exists anywhere in the chapter. Minnesota writes several things specifically about nurse anesthetists that separate this record from the nurse practitioner one. Minn. Stat. 148.171, subdivision 21 defines registered nurse anesthetist practice and lets a CRNA perform nonsurgical therapies for acute and chronic pain symptoms on referral and in collaboration with a physician, under a mutually agreed plan and at the same licensed health care facility, with a written prescribing agreement required for chronic pain therapies. Subdivision 16 excludes recommending or administering a drug or therapeutic device for anesthesia care by a certified registered nurse anesthetist from the definition of prescribing, which is why no prescriber scoped continuing education mandate reaches a Minnesota nurse anesthetist. And Minn. Stat. 148.211, subdivision 1c imposes the 2,080 hour postgraduate collaborative practice requirement only on nurse practitioners and clinical nurse specialists, not on nurse anesthetists. Minnesota mandates no continuing education subjects for nurses, so mandatory_topics is empty. Every value here was read in the rule and statute text on the Revisor of Statutes site, which is an official state host. The Board of Nursing's own pages on mn.gov could not be read: https://mn.gov/boards/nursing/, https://mn.gov/boards/nursing/licensure/license-renewal/ and https://mn.gov/boards/nursing/licensure/continuing-education/ all return a Radware bot manager CAPTCHA page to automated clients, so renewal_url is null and board_url points at the rule chapter rather than at a page that was not read. A person should open those board pages in a browser to confirm the practical renewal mechanics and to check whether the board publishes a licensee record retention period, which the rules do not state. Documentation fields corrected 2026-09-10 against Minn. R. 6310.2800 read on revisor.mn.gov. Subpart 5a makes confirmation of continuing education part of the renewal application, a report in which the licensee verifies the activities meet the criteria, rather than certificates or proof submitted to the board. Subpart 8 requires the licensee to retain the documenting information for two years after the activities are reported. mn-rn, mn-np and mn-cnm all record false and 2; this record was the only Minnesota nursing record recording proof at renewal and no retention period. proof_at_renewal true -> false; retention_years null -> 2.

Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Minnesota Board of Nursing before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.