Skip to main content
CredNet

Minnesota Physical Therapist license renewal and CE requirements

Minnesota physical therapists must complete 20 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Minnesota Board of Physical Therapy.

Every licensed physical therapist must apply to the board before January 1 each year for an extension of the license and pay the fee set by the board (Minn. Stat. 148.73). Renewal is contingent on meeting the board's continuing education requirement, which runs on a separate two-year cycle.

Renewal cycle
Annual
Same date for every licensee
CE per cycle
20
contact hours every two years
Mandated topics
1
required subject
Last verified
September 7, 2026
15 days ago

Summary

Minnesota physical therapists must complete 20 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Minnesota Board of Physical Therapy. Every licensed physical therapist must apply to the board before January 1 each year for an extension of the license and pay the fee set by the board (Minn. Stat. 148.73). Renewal is contingent on meeting the board's continuing education requirement, which runs on a separate two-year cycle. Minnesota also mandates specific subjects. Professional ethics directly related to the practice of physical therapy: 2 contact hours every renewal cycle.

Minnesota Physical Therapist renewal and continuing education rules

"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.

Renewal cycleAnnual (12 months)
Renewal deadlineSame date for every licensee, 12/31 each cycle
Continuing education requiredYes
Hours per cycle20 contact hoursCounted over a two-year window, separate from the renewal cycle.
Self-study or online capNo cap stated
Carryover to next cycleNot stated
First renewal exemptNot stated
Other accepted activitiesAuthoring a peer-reviewed book, chapter, or article, or presenting a peer-reviewed scientific poster (scholarship category, up to 9 hours); Developing and teaching an academic PT course, guest lecturing, or developing and presenting an approved workshop or seminar for the first time (teaching category, up to 9 hours); Serving as a mentor in an APTA-credentialed residency or fellowship (teaching category); Accredited academic coursework, APTA-credentialed residencies or fellowships, or ABPTS certification (coursework category, maximum 18 hours); FSBPT or APTA self-assessment tools (maximum 3 hours)

Minn. R. 5601.2100: every two years each licensed physical therapist shall obtain 20 contact hours of continuing education credit, with a minimum of two of the 20 hours on professional ethics directly related to the practice of physical therapy. One hour of credit is given for each 60 minutes spent on educational activities (5601.2500). The two-year CE cycle begins on the January 1 following initial licensure and runs consecutively from there; credits earned between the licensure date and that January 1 may be applied to the first cycle (5601.2200). Individual self-directed study programs do not earn credit (5601.2500). The rules read do not address carryover.

Required CE topics for Minnesota physical therapists

State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.

TopicHoursFrequencyApplies toCitation
Professional ethics directly related to the practice of physical therapyA minimum of 2 of the 20 hours each two-year cycle.2 contact hoursEvery renewalAll licenseesMinn. R. 5601.2100

Documentation and audit

Proof submitted at renewalNo, attestation only
Keep records forNot stated
Board audits complianceYes
Approved providersLicensees attest to compliance at the renewal following each two-year cycle; the board periodically selects licensees to provide evidence of the CE attested to and may request documentation covering up to two consecutive compliance periods (5601.2600). Courses planned, sponsored, or cosponsored by an accredited university, college, or medical school, a state or national medical or osteopathic association, APTA or another national or state physical therapy association, or approved by FSBPT are credited automatically; other activities require board approval (5601.2400).

Common questions

How many CE hours does a Minnesota PT need to renew?
Minnesota physical therapists must complete 20 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Minnesota Board of Physical Therapy. Minn. R. 5601.2100: every two years each licensed physical therapist shall obtain 20 contact hours of continuing education credit, with a minimum of two of the 20 hours on professional ethics directly related to the practice of physical therapy. One hour of credit is given for each 60 minutes spent on educational activities (5601.2500). The two-year CE cycle begins on the January 1 following initial licensure and runs consecutively from there; credits earned between the licensure date and that January 1 may be applied to the first cycle (5601.2200). Individual self-directed study programs do not earn credit (5601.2500). The rules read do not address carryover.
How often does a Minnesota PT license need to be renewed?
Physical Therapist licenses in Minnesota renew every year. Every licensed physical therapist must apply to the board before January 1 each year for an extension of the license and pay the fee set by the board (Minn. Stat. 148.73). Renewal is contingent on meeting the board's continuing education requirement, which runs on a separate two-year cycle.
What specific CE topics are required for Minnesota physical therapists?
Professional ethics directly related to the practice of physical therapy: 2 contact hours every renewal cycle. Citations: professional ethics directly related to the practice of physical therapy (Minn. R. 5601.2100).
Do Minnesota physical therapists have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates and the board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation. Licensees attest to compliance at the renewal following each two-year cycle; the board periodically selects licensees to provide evidence of the CE attested to and may request documentation covering up to two consecutive compliance periods (5601.2600). Courses planned, sponsored, or cosponsored by an accredited university, college, or medical school, a state or national medical or osteopathic association, APTA or another national or state physical therapy association, or approved by FSBPT are credited automatically; other activities require board approval (5601.2400).

Sources

Last verified September 7, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.

The board's Continuing Education page loaded and states the same 20 hours every two years with 2 ethics hours as Minn. R. 5601.2100. The board homepage, renewal page, and CE FAQ redirected to a bot-verification wall and could not be read, so the CE page is used as board_url and renewal_url. The annual renewal deadline comes from Minn. Stat. 148.73 (apply before January 1 each year). The rules do not state a record-retention period in years, an online cap, or a carryover rule; the first CE cycle starts the January 1 after initial licensure, so a licensee's first annual renewal may fall before any CE is due, but the rules read do not describe it as an exemption.

Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Minnesota Board of Physical Therapy before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.