Skip to main content
CredNet

Minnesota Osteopathic Physician (DO) license renewal and CE requirements

Minnesota osteopathic physicians (DO) must complete 75 CME credits of continuing education every three years to renew their license with the Minnesota Board of Medical Practice.

Physician registration renews annually. Renewal cycles run in annual cycles that begin on the last day of the licensee's month of birth, so a license expires at the end of the licensee's birth month each year. A renewal application and annual license fee received in the board office after the last day of the month in which the license expires is not processed and is returned for payment of a late fee. The names of licensees who do not return a complete renewal application, the annual fee, or the late fee within 30 days are removed from the list of individuals authorized to practice medicine and surgery.

Renewal cycle
Annual
Tied to the licensee's birth month
CE per cycle
75
CME credits every three years
Mandated topics
0
required subjects
Last verified
September 7, 2026
15 days ago

Summary

Minnesota osteopathic physicians (DO) must complete 75 CME credits of continuing education every three years to renew their license with the Minnesota Board of Medical Practice. Physician registration renews annually. Renewal cycles run in annual cycles that begin on the last day of the licensee's month of birth, so a license expires at the end of the licensee's birth month each year. A renewal application and annual license fee received in the board office after the last day of the month in which the license expires is not processed and is returned for payment of a late fee. The names of licensees who do not return a complete renewal application, the annual fee, or the late fee within 30 days are removed from the list of individuals authorized to practice medicine and surgery.

Minnesota Osteopathic Physician (DO) renewal and continuing education rules

"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.

Renewal cycleAnnual (12 months)
Renewal deadlineTied to the licensee's birth month
Continuing education requiredYes
Hours per cycle75 CME creditsCounted over a three-year window, separate from the renewal cycle.
Category 1 minimum75 CME credits
Self-study or online capNo cap stated
Carryover to next cycleNot stated
First renewal exemptNot stated
Other accepted activitiesCertification or recertification by a member of the American Board of Medical Specialties, the American Osteopathic Association Bureau of Professional Education, or the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada may be accepted in lieu of the continuing education requirement for the cycle in which it is granted (Minn. R. 5605.0700); The board may grant an exemption for full time participation in residency or fellowship training at a professionally accredited institution (Minn. R. 5605.1000, subp. 1); Physicians under emeritus registration status are exempt (Minn. R. 5605.1000, subp. 2)

The continuing education cycle is three years even though the license is renewed annually, which is why cycle_months is set to 36 while renewal.cycle_months is 12. During each three year cycle a physician must obtain 75 hours of continuing medical education credit, and all 75 must be earned at activities designated by an accredited sponsor as Category 1 of the AMA Physician's Recognition Award, so category_1_minimum equals the total. Sponsors must be accredited by the ACCME or by a state medical society that the ACCME recognizes as an intrastate accreditor. For relicensure the board also accepts the equivalent of Category 1 credit hours as defined by the American Osteopathic Association Bureau of Professional Education, the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada, or organizations with reciprocal arrangements with the AMA Physician Recognition Award program. A physician's three year cycle starts on the first day of the individual's month of birth, and education taken between the end of one cycle and the first day of the birth month starting the next cycle may be credited to that next cycle. Carryover beyond that transition rule is not addressed and is left null.

Required CE topics for Minnesota osteopathic physician (do)s

The Minnesota Board of Medical Practice pages and rules we read do not mandate specific subject areas for this license type. Hours may be in any approved subject.

Documentation and audit

Proof submitted at renewalNo, attestation only
Keep records forNot stated
Board audits complianceNot stated
Approved providersActivities must be designated Category 1 of the AMA Physician's Recognition Award by a sponsor accredited by the ACCME or by an ACCME recognized state medical society acting as an intrastate accreditor; AOA Bureau of Professional Education and Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada equivalents are accepted. At the relicensure period coinciding with the end of the cycle the licensee provides a signed statement of compliance on a board form rather than certificates, and the board may in its discretion require additional evidence to verify compliance. A licensee who fails to submit a statement, or submits one showing noncompliance, may face refusal to renew, suspension, or other conditions on the license.

Common questions

How many CE hours does a Minnesota DO need to renew?
Minnesota osteopathic physicians (DO) must complete 75 CME credits of continuing education every three years to renew their license with the Minnesota Board of Medical Practice. The continuing education cycle is three years even though the license is renewed annually, which is why cycle_months is set to 36 while renewal.cycle_months is 12. During each three year cycle a physician must obtain 75 hours of continuing medical education credit, and all 75 must be earned at activities designated by an accredited sponsor as Category 1 of the AMA Physician's Recognition Award, so category_1_minimum equals the total. Sponsors must be accredited by the ACCME or by a state medical society that the ACCME recognizes as an intrastate accreditor. For relicensure the board also accepts the equivalent of Category 1 credit hours as defined by the American Osteopathic Association Bureau of Professional Education, the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada, or organizations with reciprocal arrangements with the AMA Physician Recognition Award program. A physician's three year cycle starts on the first day of the individual's month of birth, and education taken between the end of one cycle and the first day of the birth month starting the next cycle may be credited to that next cycle. Carryover beyond that transition rule is not addressed and is left null.
How often does a Minnesota DO license need to be renewed?
Osteopathic Physician (DO) licenses in Minnesota renew every year. Physician registration renews annually. Renewal cycles run in annual cycles that begin on the last day of the licensee's month of birth, so a license expires at the end of the licensee's birth month each year. A renewal application and annual license fee received in the board office after the last day of the month in which the license expires is not processed and is returned for payment of a late fee. The names of licensees who do not return a complete renewal application, the annual fee, or the late fee within 30 days are removed from the list of individuals authorized to practice medicine and surgery.
Does Minnesota require specific CE topics for osteopathic physicians (DO)?
The Minnesota Board of Medical Practice does not list mandated subject areas for DO renewal on the pages we verified; the 75 CME credits may be in any approved subject.
Do Minnesota osteopathic physicians (DO) have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates. Activities must be designated Category 1 of the AMA Physician's Recognition Award by a sponsor accredited by the ACCME or by an ACCME recognized state medical society acting as an intrastate accreditor; AOA Bureau of Professional Education and Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada equivalents are accepted. At the relicensure period coinciding with the end of the cycle the licensee provides a signed statement of compliance on a board form rather than certificates, and the board may in its discretion require additional evidence to verify compliance. A licensee who fails to submit a statement, or submits one showing noncompliance, may face refusal to renew, suspension, or other conditions on the license.

Sources

Last verified September 7, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.

Minnesota regulates MDs and DOs through one board, the Board of Medical Practice. Minn. Stat. 147.01, subd. 1 requires at least one board member holding a doctor of medicine degree and at least one holding a doctor of osteopathic medicine degree, and Minn. Stat. 147.02, subd. 1(b) issues the same license to graduates of a medical or osteopathic medical school, so the MD and DO records carry identical values and cite the same sources. Minn. R. 5605.0300 explicitly accepts AOA Bureau of Professional Education equivalents of Category 1 credit for relicensure. The 75 hour three year requirement was read in Minn. R. 5605.0100 and 5605.0300; the annual birth month renewal was read in Minn. R. 5600.0605 and Minn. Stat. 147.02, subd. 7, with the annual license fee named in Minn. Stat. 147.01, subd. 7. The board's own website at mn.gov/boards/medical-practice sits behind a Radware bot wall that redirects every automated client to validate.perfdrive.com, so it is listed as board_url for the reader but is not cited as a source and renewal_url is left null; a person should confirm the board page in a browser. Chapter 5605 sets no subject specific continuing education mandates for physicians and none was found elsewhere in the sources read, so mandatory_topics is an empty array rather than an omission. Record retention, audit practice, and carryover beyond the cycle transition rule are not stated in chapter 5605.

Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Minnesota Board of Medical Practice before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.