Rhode Island Physical Therapist license renewal and CE requirements
Rhode Island physical therapists must complete 24 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Rhode Island Department of Health, Board of Physical Therapy.
Licenses expire on the first day of May of the next even-numbered year following issuance. The renewal application is due by March 31 of that even year; renewing after March 31 requires the renewal fee plus an additional late fee. RIDOH sends renewal notices 60 days before expiration and renewals are completed online.
Summary
Rhode Island physical therapists must complete 24 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Rhode Island Department of Health, Board of Physical Therapy. Licenses expire on the first day of May of the next even-numbered year following issuance. The renewal application is due by March 31 of that even year; renewing after March 31 requires the renewal fee plus an additional late fee. RIDOH sends renewal notices 60 days before expiration and renewals are completed online. The first renewal is exempt.
Rhode Island Physical Therapist renewal and continuing education rules
"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.
| Renewal cycle | Two-year (24 months) |
|---|---|
| Renewal deadline | Same date for every licensee, 05/01 each cycle |
| Continuing education required | Yes |
| Hours per cycle | 24 contact hours |
| Self-study or online cap | No cap stated |
| Carryover to next cycle | Not stated |
| First renewal exempt | Yes |
| Other accepted activities | Teaching or clinical supervision (maximum 3 hours per licensure cycle); Coursework from a regionally accredited college or university; Self-study courses (one hour per hour completed) |
216-RICR-40-05-13 section 13.4.5(D) requires twenty-four hours of continuing education biennially in scope-of-practice-specific offerings. Formal presentations, conferences, accredited college or university coursework, and self-study courses are credited one hour per hour completed; teaching or clinical supervision is capped at three hours per cycle. A licensee first licensed by examination after the May 1 renewal date is exempt until the next renewal cycle (April 30 of the next even-numbered year). The regulation states no cap on self-study hours and does not address carryover.
Required CE topics for Rhode Island physical therapists
The Rhode Island Department of Health, Board of Physical Therapy pages and rules we read do not mandate specific subject areas for this license type. Hours may be in any approved subject.
Documentation and audit
| Proof submitted at renewal | Not stated |
|---|---|
| Keep records for | 4 years |
| Board audits compliance | Yes |
| Approved providers | Section 13.4.5(D)(3) lists approved providers, including the APTA and its components, ACCME-accredited providers, state medical and nursing societies, courses presented, accepted, or approved by other state physical therapy licensing boards, and others approved by the Board. Licensees keep proof of attendance for no less than four years and are subject to random audit by the Department. |
Common questions
- How many CE hours does a Rhode Island PT need to renew?
- Rhode Island physical therapists must complete 24 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Rhode Island Department of Health, Board of Physical Therapy. 216-RICR-40-05-13 section 13.4.5(D) requires twenty-four hours of continuing education biennially in scope-of-practice-specific offerings. Formal presentations, conferences, accredited college or university coursework, and self-study courses are credited one hour per hour completed; teaching or clinical supervision is capped at three hours per cycle. A licensee first licensed by examination after the May 1 renewal date is exempt until the next renewal cycle (April 30 of the next even-numbered year). The regulation states no cap on self-study hours and does not address carryover.
- How often does a Rhode Island PT license need to be renewed?
- Physical Therapist licenses in Rhode Island renew every two years. Licenses expire on the first day of May of the next even-numbered year following issuance. The renewal application is due by March 31 of that even year; renewing after March 31 requires the renewal fee plus an additional late fee. RIDOH sends renewal notices 60 days before expiration and renewals are completed online.
- Does Rhode Island require specific CE topics for physical therapists?
- The Rhode Island Department of Health, Board of Physical Therapy does not list mandated subject areas for PT renewal on the pages we verified; the 24 contact hours may be in any approved subject.
- Do Rhode Island physical therapists have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
- The board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation and records must be kept for 4 years. Section 13.4.5(D)(3) lists approved providers, including the APTA and its components, ACCME-accredited providers, state medical and nursing societies, courses presented, accepted, or approved by other state physical therapy licensing boards, and others approved by the Board. Licensees keep proof of attendance for no less than four years and are subject to random audit by the Department.
- Is the first Rhode Island PT renewal exempt from CE?
- Yes. Rhode Island does not require continuing education for a PT's first renewal.
Sources
Last verified September 7, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.
- 216-RICR-40-05-13, Physical Therapists and Physical Therapist Assistants (Rhode Island Code of Regulations)Statute or administrative rule, accessed September 7, 2026
- Physical Therapists licensing, Rhode Island Department of HealthState board page, accessed September 7, 2026
- Physical Therapist license detail, Rhode Island Department of HealthState board page, accessed September 7, 2026
Expiration (May 1 of the next even year), March 31 renewal deadline, late fee, 24 hours biennially, activity types and the 3-hour teaching cap, approved provider list, four-year retention, random audit, and first-renewal exemption read from 216-RICR-40-05-13 section 13.4.5 on the Secretary of State rules site, linked from RIDOH's PT licensing page. RIDOH's page adds only that notices go out 60 days before expiration. The regulation mandates no specific CE subject. The regulation was read through a summarizing fetch; whether certificates are submitted with the renewal or only attested was not quoted, so proof_at_renewal is null. The exemption text ends the exempt period on April 30 while the expiration is stated as May 1; both are reproduced as written.
Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Rhode Island Department of Health, Board of Physical Therapy before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.