Rhode Island Occupational Therapy Assistant license renewal and CE requirements
Rhode Island occupational therapy assistants must complete 20 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Rhode Island Board of Occupational Therapy (Rhode Island Department of Health, Division of Professional Regulation).
Licenses expire on March 31 of each even-numbered year. The renewal application, evidence of the continuing education requirement, and the renewal fee must be filed with the Division of Professional Regulation on or before March 31 of each even year. The Division mails a renewal application on or before March 1 of each even year, and the Department of Health says renewal notices go out 60 days before the expiration date.
Summary
Rhode Island occupational therapy assistants must complete 20 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Rhode Island Board of Occupational Therapy (Rhode Island Department of Health, Division of Professional Regulation). Licenses expire on March 31 of each even-numbered year. The renewal application, evidence of the continuing education requirement, and the renewal fee must be filed with the Division of Professional Regulation on or before March 31 of each even year. The Division mails a renewal application on or before March 1 of each even year, and the Department of Health says renewal notices go out 60 days before the expiration date.
Rhode Island Occupational Therapy Assistant renewal and continuing education rules
"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.
| Renewal cycle | Two-year (24 months) |
|---|---|
| Renewal deadline | Same date for every licensee, 03/31 each cycleFirst renewal is prorated. |
| Continuing education required | Yes |
| Hours per cycle | 20 contact hours |
| Self-study or online cap | No cap stated |
| Carryover to next cycle | Not stated |
| First renewal exempt | No |
| Other accepted activities | Formal presentations and clinical instruction (Category III, 2 contact hours per hour of instruction, capped at 5 contact hours); Written publications (Category IV: book 10 hours, juried article 8 hours, book chapter 5 hours, non-juried article in a national publication 4 hours); Research; Inservice programs; University courses; Self-study courses; Journal clubs, symposia and colloquia (Category II) |
Section 12.7(E)(1) of 216-RICR-40-05-12 names occupational therapy assistants alongside occupational therapists in the same sentence, so the assistant total is the same 20 contact hours biennially and is not a reduced figure. The rule sorts activities into four categories: Category I formal programs and Category II professional and self-directed activities each earn 1 contact hour per hour, Category III formal presentations earn 2 contact hours per hour of instruction up to a maximum of 5 contact hours, and Category IV publications earn set amounts. Acceptable sources named in the rule are the American Occupational Therapy Association or its approved providers, the Rhode Island Occupational Therapy Association, NBCOT, university courses and self-study courses. Assistants first licensed during the two year period before renewal have their hours prorated for the time actually licensed. The board may grant an extension, a variance or a waiver for hardship. Supervision of occupational therapy assistants is governed by R.I. Gen. Laws section 5-40.1-21 and is a practice condition, not continuing education.
Required CE topics for Rhode Island occupational therapy assistants
The Rhode Island Board of Occupational Therapy (Rhode Island Department of Health, Division of Professional Regulation) pages and rules we read do not mandate specific subject areas for this license type. Hours may be in any approved subject.
Documentation and audit
| Proof submitted at renewal | Yes |
|---|---|
| Keep records for | 4 years |
| Board audits compliance | Yes |
| Approved providers | The rule does not require board pre-approval of individual courses; it lists the acceptable sources (AOTA or AOTA approved providers, the Rhode Island Occupational Therapy Association, NBCOT, university courses, self-study courses). It is the sole responsibility of the licensee to obtain documentation such as course descriptions and proof of attendance from the sponsoring organization, agency or institution. |
Common questions
- How many CE hours does a Rhode Island OTA need to renew?
- Rhode Island occupational therapy assistants must complete 20 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Rhode Island Board of Occupational Therapy (Rhode Island Department of Health, Division of Professional Regulation). Section 12.7(E)(1) of 216-RICR-40-05-12 names occupational therapy assistants alongside occupational therapists in the same sentence, so the assistant total is the same 20 contact hours biennially and is not a reduced figure. The rule sorts activities into four categories: Category I formal programs and Category II professional and self-directed activities each earn 1 contact hour per hour, Category III formal presentations earn 2 contact hours per hour of instruction up to a maximum of 5 contact hours, and Category IV publications earn set amounts. Acceptable sources named in the rule are the American Occupational Therapy Association or its approved providers, the Rhode Island Occupational Therapy Association, NBCOT, university courses and self-study courses. Assistants first licensed during the two year period before renewal have their hours prorated for the time actually licensed. The board may grant an extension, a variance or a waiver for hardship. Supervision of occupational therapy assistants is governed by R.I. Gen. Laws section 5-40.1-21 and is a practice condition, not continuing education.
- How often does a Rhode Island OTA license need to be renewed?
- Occupational Therapy Assistant licenses in Rhode Island renew every two years. Licenses expire on March 31 of each even-numbered year. The renewal application, evidence of the continuing education requirement, and the renewal fee must be filed with the Division of Professional Regulation on or before March 31 of each even year. The Division mails a renewal application on or before March 1 of each even year, and the Department of Health says renewal notices go out 60 days before the expiration date.
- Does Rhode Island require specific CE topics for occupational therapy assistants?
- The Rhode Island Board of Occupational Therapy (Rhode Island Department of Health, Division of Professional Regulation) does not list mandated subject areas for OTA renewal on the pages we verified; the 20 contact hours may be in any approved subject.
- Do Rhode Island occupational therapy assistants have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
- Proof of completion must be submitted with the renewal, the board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation, and records must be kept for 4 years. The rule does not require board pre-approval of individual courses; it lists the acceptable sources (AOTA or AOTA approved providers, the Rhode Island Occupational Therapy Association, NBCOT, university courses, self-study courses). It is the sole responsibility of the licensee to obtain documentation such as course descriptions and proof of attendance from the sponsoring organization, agency or institution.
- Is the first Rhode Island OTA renewal exempt from CE?
- No. Rhode Island applies the continuing education requirement to the first renewal as well.
Sources
Last verified September 9, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.
- 216-RICR-40-05-12, Occupational Therapists and Occupational Therapy Assistants, Rhode Island Code of RegulationsStatute or administrative rule, accessed September 9, 2026
- Occupational Therapists, Rhode Island Department of HealthState board page, accessed September 9, 2026
The occupational therapy assistant figures were read as assistant figures, not carried over from the therapist record: section 12.7(E)(1) of 216-RICR-40-05-12 states that occupational therapists and occupational therapy assistants must show proof of 20 hours biennially, section 12.7(A) applies the March 31 even year expiration to both credentials, and section 12.7(E)(3) prorates the first renewal for both. Rhode Island runs a single occupational therapy board inside the Department of Health, separate from its physical therapy board, and one rule covers both credentials, so this record cites the same text as ri-ot. NBCOT certification is required for initial licensure (the rule requires passing the NBCOT certification examination for occupational therapy assistants at section 12.4(A)(3)) but the rule does not make current NBCOT certification a renewal condition and does not let NBCOT units substitute for hours. The rule states no mandated subject areas, no jurisprudence or ethics course, no carryover provision and no cap on self-study, so those fields are null or empty rather than zero.
Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Rhode Island Board of Occupational Therapy (Rhode Island Department of Health, Division of Professional Regulation) before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.