Skip to main content
CredNet

Rhode Island Nurse Practitioner license renewal and CE requirements

Rhode Island nurse practitioners must complete 10 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Rhode Island Board of Nurse Registration and Nursing Education (Department of Health).

The advanced practice registered nurse license expires on March 1 every other year, on the odd or even year matching the year the original license was issued. The renewal application and fee must be filed before February 15 of the renewal year, and the Department sends a renewal notice about 60 days before the expiration date.

Renewal cycle
Two-year
Same date for every licensee
CE per cycle
10
contact hours
Mandated topics
3
required subjects
Last verified
September 8, 2026
14 days ago

Summary

Rhode Island nurse practitioners must complete 10 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Rhode Island Board of Nurse Registration and Nursing Education (Department of Health). The advanced practice registered nurse license expires on March 1 every other year, on the odd or even year matching the year the original license was issued. The renewal application and fee must be filed before February 15 of the renewal year, and the Department sends a renewal notice about 60 days before the expiration date. Rhode Island also mandates specific subjects. Substance abuse: 2 contact hours every renewal cycle. Alzheimer's disease training: a one-time requirement of 1 contact hour. Eight hours of training on the treatment and management of patients with opioid or other substance use disorders: a one-time requirement of 8 contact hours (nurse practitioners who hold a DEA registration).

Rhode Island Nurse Practitioner renewal and continuing education rules

"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.

Renewal cycleTwo-year (24 months)
Renewal deadlineSame date for every licensee, 03/01 each cycle
Continuing education requiredYes
Hours per cycle10 contact hours
Self-study or online capNo cap stated
Carryover to next cycleNot stated
First renewal exemptNot stated

Rhode Island does not layer an APRN increment on top of a separate registered nurse total. Section 3.5 of 216-RICR-40-05-3 sets one requirement for every person seeking renewal of a license under that Part, which covers advanced practice registered nurses, registered nurses and licensed practical nurses alike: ten continuing education hours completed in the preceding two years, where one continuing education hour equals one contact hour and one CEU equals ten hours. The Department of Health nurses page states that two of the ten hours must be about substance abuse. No separate advanced practice hour count and no pharmacology or pharmacotherapeutics hour count was found in the rule or on the board page. Section 3.4(B)(1) requires evidence of current national certification, or recertification as applicable, as an advanced practice registered nurse to be verified at renewal, so national certification is a renewal condition rather than a substitute for the ten hours. Acceptable sponsors include the American Nurses Credentialing Center or its local chapter, other recognized professional nursing organizations, and any department or school of nursing approved by a board of nursing. The Department may extend the requirement for one six month period for hardship.

Required CE topics for Rhode Island nurse practitioners

State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.

TopicHoursFrequencyApplies toCitation
Substance abuseThe Department of Health nurses page states that of the ten continuing education hours required every two year licensing cycle, two hours must be about substance abuse. The text of 216-RICR-40-05-3.5 that was read sets the ten hour total without naming the substance abuse subset, so this value rests on the board page.2 contact hoursEvery renewalAll licenseesNot stated
Alzheimer's disease trainingThe Department of Health nurses page states that effective August 1, 2019 every nurse must complete one hour of CEU training on Alzheimer's disease, once in a career rather than every cycle.1 contact hourOne timeAll licenseesNot stated
Eight hours of training on the treatment and management of patients with opioid or other substance use disordersListed on the Department of Health nurses page as a requirement for new and renewing DEA registered practitioners. This is the federal DEA registration training requirement rather than a Rhode Island nursing board CE mandate, and it does not reach a nurse practitioner who holds no DEA registration. It may be satisfied by one course or several totaling eight hours, by board certification in addiction medicine or addiction psychiatry, or by graduation from an approved nursing program with qualifying opioid curriculum.8 contact hoursOne timeNurse practitioners who hold a DEA registrationNot stated

Documentation and audit

Proof submitted at renewalNo, attestation only
Keep records for4 years
Board audits complianceYes
Approved providersContinuing education must come from the American Nurses Credentialing Center or its local chapter, another recognized professional nursing organization, a department or school of nursing approved by a board of nursing, or another entity approved by the Board.

Common questions

How many CE hours does a Rhode Island NP need to renew?
Rhode Island nurse practitioners must complete 10 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Rhode Island Board of Nurse Registration and Nursing Education (Department of Health). Rhode Island does not layer an APRN increment on top of a separate registered nurse total. Section 3.5 of 216-RICR-40-05-3 sets one requirement for every person seeking renewal of a license under that Part, which covers advanced practice registered nurses, registered nurses and licensed practical nurses alike: ten continuing education hours completed in the preceding two years, where one continuing education hour equals one contact hour and one CEU equals ten hours. The Department of Health nurses page states that two of the ten hours must be about substance abuse. No separate advanced practice hour count and no pharmacology or pharmacotherapeutics hour count was found in the rule or on the board page. Section 3.4(B)(1) requires evidence of current national certification, or recertification as applicable, as an advanced practice registered nurse to be verified at renewal, so national certification is a renewal condition rather than a substitute for the ten hours. Acceptable sponsors include the American Nurses Credentialing Center or its local chapter, other recognized professional nursing organizations, and any department or school of nursing approved by a board of nursing. The Department may extend the requirement for one six month period for hardship.
How often does a Rhode Island NP license need to be renewed?
Nurse Practitioner licenses in Rhode Island renew every two years. The advanced practice registered nurse license expires on March 1 every other year, on the odd or even year matching the year the original license was issued. The renewal application and fee must be filed before February 15 of the renewal year, and the Department sends a renewal notice about 60 days before the expiration date.
What specific CE topics are required for Rhode Island nurse practitioners?
Substance abuse: 2 contact hours every renewal cycle. Alzheimer's disease training: a one-time requirement of 1 contact hour. Eight hours of training on the treatment and management of patients with opioid or other substance use disorders: a one-time requirement of 8 contact hours (nurse practitioners who hold a DEA registration).
Do Rhode Island nurse practitioners have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates, the board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation, and records must be kept for 4 years. Continuing education must come from the American Nurses Credentialing Center or its local chapter, another recognized professional nursing organization, a department or school of nursing approved by a board of nursing, or another entity approved by the Board.

Sources

Last verified September 8, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.

Rhode Island runs one continuing education rule for all nursing licenses, so the nurse practitioner obligation is not layered on top of a separate registered nurse total: ten contact hours in the preceding two years, the same figure carried in the RN record. The two hour substance abuse subset and the one time Alzheimer's hour were read on the Department of Health nurses page; the rule text of 216-RICR-40-05-3.5 that was read states the ten hour total, the four year retention and the random audit but did not name those subjects, so the board page is the source for both. No pharmacology or pharmacotherapeutics hour requirement for nurse practitioners was found in either source. Prescriptive authority in Rhode Island travels with the advanced practice registered nurse license rather than as a separate credential with its own CE, and the only prescriber specific item found is the federal DEA eight hour training listed on the board page, recorded here with that scope. The renewal cycle alternates between odd and even years depending on the year of original issuance, which is why the year is not fixed. Category limits, carryover, a self study cap and a first renewal exemption are not addressed in the rule text read.

Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Rhode Island Board of Nurse Registration and Nursing Education (Department of Health) before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.