Skip to main content
CredNet

Rhode Island Occupational Therapist license renewal and CE requirements

Rhode Island occupational therapists must complete 20 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Rhode Island Board of Occupational Therapy (Rhode Island Department of Health, Division of Professional Regulation).

Licenses expire on March 31 of each even-numbered year. The renewal application, evidence of the continuing education requirement, and the renewal fee must be filed with the Division of Professional Regulation on or before March 31 of each even year. The Division mails a renewal application on or before March 1 of each even year, and the Department of Health says renewal notices go out 60 days before the expiration date.

Renewal cycle
Two-year
Same date for every licensee
CE per cycle
20
contact hours
Mandated topics
0
required subjects
Last verified
September 9, 2026
13 days ago

Summary

Rhode Island occupational therapists must complete 20 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Rhode Island Board of Occupational Therapy (Rhode Island Department of Health, Division of Professional Regulation). Licenses expire on March 31 of each even-numbered year. The renewal application, evidence of the continuing education requirement, and the renewal fee must be filed with the Division of Professional Regulation on or before March 31 of each even year. The Division mails a renewal application on or before March 1 of each even year, and the Department of Health says renewal notices go out 60 days before the expiration date.

Rhode Island Occupational Therapist renewal and continuing education rules

"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.

Renewal cycleTwo-year (24 months)
Renewal deadlineSame date for every licensee, 03/31 each cycleFirst renewal is prorated.
Continuing education requiredYes
Hours per cycle20 contact hours
Self-study or online capNo cap stated
Carryover to next cycleNot stated
First renewal exemptNo
Other accepted activitiesFormal presentations and clinical instruction (Category III, 2 contact hours per hour of instruction, capped at 5 contact hours); Written publications (Category IV: book 10 hours, juried article 8 hours, book chapter 5 hours, non-juried article in a national publication 4 hours); Research; Inservice programs; University courses; Self-study courses; Journal clubs, symposia and colloquia (Category II)

One rule, 216-RICR-40-05-12 section 12.7(E), sets the same 20 contact hours biennially for occupational therapists and occupational therapy assistants. The rule sorts activities into four categories: Category I formal programs and Category II professional and self-directed activities each earn 1 contact hour per hour, Category III formal presentations earn 2 contact hours per hour of instruction up to a maximum of 5 contact hours, and Category IV publications earn set amounts. Acceptable sources named in the rule are the American Occupational Therapy Association or its approved providers, the Rhode Island Occupational Therapy Association, NBCOT, university courses and self-study courses. Licensees first licensed during the two year period before renewal have their hours prorated for the time actually licensed. The board may grant an extension, a variance or a waiver for hardship.

Required CE topics for Rhode Island occupational therapists

The Rhode Island Board of Occupational Therapy (Rhode Island Department of Health, Division of Professional Regulation) pages and rules we read do not mandate specific subject areas for this license type. Hours may be in any approved subject.

Documentation and audit

Proof submitted at renewalYes
Keep records for4 years
Board audits complianceYes
Approved providersThe rule does not require board pre-approval of individual courses; it lists the acceptable sources (AOTA or AOTA approved providers, the Rhode Island Occupational Therapy Association, NBCOT, university courses, self-study courses). It is the sole responsibility of the licensee to obtain documentation such as course descriptions and proof of attendance from the sponsoring organization, agency or institution.

Common questions

How many CE hours does a Rhode Island OT need to renew?
Rhode Island occupational therapists must complete 20 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Rhode Island Board of Occupational Therapy (Rhode Island Department of Health, Division of Professional Regulation). One rule, 216-RICR-40-05-12 section 12.7(E), sets the same 20 contact hours biennially for occupational therapists and occupational therapy assistants. The rule sorts activities into four categories: Category I formal programs and Category II professional and self-directed activities each earn 1 contact hour per hour, Category III formal presentations earn 2 contact hours per hour of instruction up to a maximum of 5 contact hours, and Category IV publications earn set amounts. Acceptable sources named in the rule are the American Occupational Therapy Association or its approved providers, the Rhode Island Occupational Therapy Association, NBCOT, university courses and self-study courses. Licensees first licensed during the two year period before renewal have their hours prorated for the time actually licensed. The board may grant an extension, a variance or a waiver for hardship.
How often does a Rhode Island OT license need to be renewed?
Occupational Therapist licenses in Rhode Island renew every two years. Licenses expire on March 31 of each even-numbered year. The renewal application, evidence of the continuing education requirement, and the renewal fee must be filed with the Division of Professional Regulation on or before March 31 of each even year. The Division mails a renewal application on or before March 1 of each even year, and the Department of Health says renewal notices go out 60 days before the expiration date.
Does Rhode Island require specific CE topics for occupational therapists?
The Rhode Island Board of Occupational Therapy (Rhode Island Department of Health, Division of Professional Regulation) does not list mandated subject areas for OT renewal on the pages we verified; the 20 contact hours may be in any approved subject.
Do Rhode Island occupational therapists have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
Proof of completion must be submitted with the renewal, the board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation, and records must be kept for 4 years. The rule does not require board pre-approval of individual courses; it lists the acceptable sources (AOTA or AOTA approved providers, the Rhode Island Occupational Therapy Association, NBCOT, university courses, self-study courses). It is the sole responsibility of the licensee to obtain documentation such as course descriptions and proof of attendance from the sponsoring organization, agency or institution.
Is the first Rhode Island OT renewal exempt from CE?
No. Rhode Island applies the continuing education requirement to the first renewal as well.

Sources

Last verified September 9, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.

Hours, cycle, expiration date, proration, four year retention and random audit read directly from 216-RICR-40-05-12 sections 12.7(A) through 12.7(E) on the Secretary of State's official rules site (active rule, effective 01/04/2022). Rhode Island runs a single occupational therapy board inside the Department of Health, separate from its physical therapy board, and one rule covers occupational therapists and occupational therapy assistants together, so the OT and OTA records cite the same text. NBCOT certification is required for initial licensure (the rule requires passing the NBCOT examination at section 12.4(A)(3) and section 12.6(A)) but the rule does not make current NBCOT certification a renewal condition and does not let NBCOT units substitute for hours. The rule states no mandated subject areas, no jurisprudence or ethics course, no carryover provision and no cap on self-study, so those fields are null or empty rather than zero. The AOTA Occupational Therapy Code of Ethics is adopted at section 12.8(C) as a standard of conduct, not as a continuing education topic.

Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Rhode Island Board of Occupational Therapy (Rhode Island Department of Health, Division of Professional Regulation) before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.