Skip to main content
CredNet

Wisconsin Nurse Practitioner license renewal and CE requirements

Wisconsin nurse practitioners must complete 16 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Wisconsin Board of Nursing, Department of Safety and Professional Services.

The credential renews every two years and expires February 28, or February 29 in a leap year, of each even numbered year, on the same date as the underlying Wisconsin registered nurse license. The Department states that advanced practice registered nurse credential renewal opens in mid January 2028 and ends February 29, 2028. Renewal also requires holding a current Wisconsin registered nurse license or a multistate registered nurse license, holding current national certification from a board approved certifying body, and completing the nursing workforce survey.

Renewal cycle
Two-year
Same date for every licensee
CE per cycle
16
contact hours
Mandated topics
2
required subjects
Last verified
September 8, 2026
14 days ago

Summary

Requirements are changing. Wisconsin is mid transition. Under 2025 Wisconsin Act 17, the credential changed name from advanced practice nurse prescriber to advanced practice registered nurse effective September 1, 2026, and an independent practice pathway was added, while the administrative rules in chapter N 8 still read in the old advanced practice nurse prescriber terms. Existing prescribers keep the same credential number and only the profession name changes, and the next renewal does not open until mid January 2028, so confirm the current continuing education wording with the Board of Nursing before that renewal.

Wisconsin nurse practitioners must complete 16 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Wisconsin Board of Nursing, Department of Safety and Professional Services. The credential renews every two years and expires February 28, or February 29 in a leap year, of each even numbered year, on the same date as the underlying Wisconsin registered nurse license. The Department states that advanced practice registered nurse credential renewal opens in mid January 2028 and ends February 29, 2028. Renewal also requires holding a current Wisconsin registered nurse license or a multistate registered nurse license, holding current national certification from a board approved certifying body, and completing the nursing workforce survey. Wisconsin also mandates specific subjects. Clinical pharmacology or therapeutics relevant to the prescriber's area of practice: 16 contact hours every renewal cycle. Responsible prescribing of controlled substances: 2 contact hours every renewal cycle.

Wisconsin Nurse Practitioner renewal and continuing education rules

"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.

Renewal cycleTwo-year (24 months)
Renewal deadlineSame date for every licensee, 02/28 each cycle
Continuing education requiredYes
Hours per cycle16 contact hours
Self-study or online capNo cap stated
Carryover to next cycleNot stated
First renewal exemptNot stated

Wisconsin puts the whole continuing education burden on the prescribing credential and none on the registered nurse license. Wis. Admin. Code s. N 8.05(1) requires every advanced practice nurse prescriber to complete 16 contact hours per biennium in clinical pharmacology or therapeutics relevant to the prescriber's area of practice, including at least 2 contact hours in responsible prescribing of controlled substances. One contact hour means at least 50 minutes of attendance under N 8.02(6m). The chapter defines clinical pharmacology or therapeutics broadly, covering identification of drugs and drug classes, indications and contraindications, efficacy, side effects and interactions, and also clinical judgment and decision making built on interviewing, history taking, physical assessment, test selection and interpretation, pathophysiology, epidemiology, diagnostic reasoning, differentiation of conditions, treatment decisions, case evaluation and non pharmacologic interventions, so the 16 hours are less narrow than the phrase pharmacology suggests. Nothing is layered underneath: the Board of Nursing sets no continuing education requirement for the registered nurse license itself. Renewal under N 8.045 also requires the fee and the workforce survey fee, certification of the continuing education, current national certification as a nurse practitioner or one of the other advanced roles, and a current Wisconsin or multistate registered nurse license. The 45 contact hours in clinical pharmacology or therapeutics that appear in N 8.03(4) are an entry requirement for the initial prescriber certificate, taken within the five years before application, and are not a renewal requirement.

Required CE topics for Wisconsin nurse practitioners

State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.

TopicHoursFrequencyApplies toCitation
Clinical pharmacology or therapeutics relevant to the prescriber's area of practiceThe entire biennial requirement must be in clinical pharmacology or therapeutics, so the subject mandate and the total are the same 16 hours rather than a subset of a larger total.16 contact hoursEvery renewalAll licenseesWis. Admin. Code s. N 8.05(1)
Responsible prescribing of controlled substancesAt least 2 of the 16 contact hours. This is a subset of the 16, not an addition to them.2 contact hoursEvery renewalAll licenseesWis. Admin. Code s. N 8.05(1)

Documentation and audit

Proof submitted at renewalNo, attestation only
Keep records for4 years
Board audits complianceYes
Approved providersCertificates of attendance must be issued by the program sponsor. The rule does not name a specific accrediting body for the continuing education itself.

Common questions

How many CE hours does a Wisconsin NP need to renew?
Wisconsin nurse practitioners must complete 16 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Wisconsin Board of Nursing, Department of Safety and Professional Services. Wisconsin puts the whole continuing education burden on the prescribing credential and none on the registered nurse license. Wis. Admin. Code s. N 8.05(1) requires every advanced practice nurse prescriber to complete 16 contact hours per biennium in clinical pharmacology or therapeutics relevant to the prescriber's area of practice, including at least 2 contact hours in responsible prescribing of controlled substances. One contact hour means at least 50 minutes of attendance under N 8.02(6m). The chapter defines clinical pharmacology or therapeutics broadly, covering identification of drugs and drug classes, indications and contraindications, efficacy, side effects and interactions, and also clinical judgment and decision making built on interviewing, history taking, physical assessment, test selection and interpretation, pathophysiology, epidemiology, diagnostic reasoning, differentiation of conditions, treatment decisions, case evaluation and non pharmacologic interventions, so the 16 hours are less narrow than the phrase pharmacology suggests. Nothing is layered underneath: the Board of Nursing sets no continuing education requirement for the registered nurse license itself. Renewal under N 8.045 also requires the fee and the workforce survey fee, certification of the continuing education, current national certification as a nurse practitioner or one of the other advanced roles, and a current Wisconsin or multistate registered nurse license. The 45 contact hours in clinical pharmacology or therapeutics that appear in N 8.03(4) are an entry requirement for the initial prescriber certificate, taken within the five years before application, and are not a renewal requirement.
How often does a Wisconsin NP license need to be renewed?
Nurse Practitioner licenses in Wisconsin renew every two years. The credential renews every two years and expires February 28, or February 29 in a leap year, of each even numbered year, on the same date as the underlying Wisconsin registered nurse license. The Department states that advanced practice registered nurse credential renewal opens in mid January 2028 and ends February 29, 2028. Renewal also requires holding a current Wisconsin registered nurse license or a multistate registered nurse license, holding current national certification from a board approved certifying body, and completing the nursing workforce survey.
What specific CE topics are required for Wisconsin nurse practitioners?
Clinical pharmacology or therapeutics relevant to the prescriber's area of practice: 16 contact hours every renewal cycle. Responsible prescribing of controlled substances: 2 contact hours every renewal cycle. Citations: clinical pharmacology or therapeutics relevant to the prescriber's area of practice (Wis. Admin. Code s. N 8.05(1)) and responsible prescribing of controlled substances (Wis. Admin. Code s. N 8.05(1)).
Do Wisconsin nurse practitioners have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates, the board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation, and records must be kept for 4 years. Certificates of attendance must be issued by the program sponsor. The rule does not name a specific accrediting body for the continuing education itself.

Sources

Last verified September 8, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.

Two topic keys are non canonical and flagged: pharmacology, used as the brief directs for the pharmacotherapeutics style requirement, and controlled_substances, used because the two hour subset covers controlled substance prescribing generally. The transition matters for anyone reading this record. Wisconsin historically did not license nurse practitioners as such: it recognized advanced practice nurses by title and credentialed only the advanced practice nurse prescriber under s. 441.16, Stats. 2025 Wisconsin Act 17 renamed the credential to advanced practice registered nurse effective September 1, 2026, a week before this record was verified, and the Department states that existing prescribers keep the same credential number with only the profession name changing. Chapter N 8 as published in Register September 2025 No. 837 still uses the old terminology, and its most recent amendments, CR 25-012 effective October 1, 2025, touched the licensure and renewal sections without changing the 16 hour figure in N 8.05, which was last amended by CR 16-020 effective October 1, 2016. The advisory field records this rather than pretending the two vocabularies are settled. The renewal date and the 2028 renewal window were read on the Department's own page; the hour counts and the retention period were read in the rule. The 45 hour figure that appears on the Department's page belongs to initial application, not renewal, and is described in the notes so no one mistakes it for a renewal total.

Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Wisconsin Board of Nursing, Department of Safety and Professional Services before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.