Skip to main content
CredNet

Wisconsin Osteopathic Physician (DO) license renewal and CE requirements

Wisconsin osteopathic physicians (DO) must complete 30 CME credits of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Wisconsin Medical Examining Board, Department of Safety and Professional Services.

Under Wis. Stat. 440.08(2) the renewal date for the physician credential is October 31 of each odd numbered year. A licensee who receives an initial credential in the months leading up to that date must still renew by the statutory date. At renewal the physician signs a statement certifying completion of the required continuing medical education.

Renewal cycle
Two-year
Same date for every licensee
CE per cycle
30
CME credits
Mandated topics
1
required subject
Last verified
September 7, 2026
15 days ago

Summary

Wisconsin osteopathic physicians (DO) must complete 30 CME credits of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Wisconsin Medical Examining Board, Department of Safety and Professional Services. Under Wis. Stat. 440.08(2) the renewal date for the physician credential is October 31 of each odd numbered year. A licensee who receives an initial credential in the months leading up to that date must still renew by the statutory date. At renewal the physician signs a statement certifying completion of the required continuing medical education. Wisconsin also mandates specific subjects. Prescribing opioids and other controlled substances: 2 CME credits every renewal cycle (physicians who hold a U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration number to prescribe controlled substances. A physician who does not hold a DEA number at the time of applying for a certificate of registration is exempt.).

Wisconsin Osteopathic Physician (DO) renewal and continuing education rules

"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.

Renewal cycleTwo-year (24 months)
Renewal deadlineSame date for every licensee, 10/31 each cycle
Continuing education requiredYes
Hours per cycle30 CME credits
Category 1 minimum30 CME credits
Self-study or online capNo cap stated
Carryover to next cycleNot stated
First renewal exemptNot stated
Other accepted activitiesBoard-approved postgraduate training: three consecutive months of postgraduate training in a program approved under Med 1.02(3) is deemed to equal 30 hours; An AMA Physician's Recognition Award or an American Academy of Family Physicians continuing medical education certificate awarded not more than 12 months before the beginning of the calendar year of the registration application, accepted as evidence of compliance; For psychiatrists, voluntary uncompensated service helping the Department of Health Services evaluate community outpatient mental health programs, with four hours of assistance equal to one hour of CME, subject to advance registration with the board

At least 30 hours of acceptable continuing medical education within the biennial registration period, certified by signed statement on the registration application. The board recognizes programs approved at the time of attendance by the AMA Council on Medical Education, the American Osteopathic Association, or the ACCME, and accepts AMA or AOA Category I programs or the equivalent, so the Category 1 minimum equals the total. One clock hour of attendance equals one hour of CME. A physician may apply to the board for a waiver on grounds of prolonged illness, disability, or similar circumstances, considered case by case. The board partners with CE Broker and gives licensees a free basic account for tracking, and uses it to administer the CME audit, but registration with CE Broker is encouraged rather than required.

Required CE topics for Wisconsin osteopathic physician (do)s

State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.

TopicHoursFrequencyApplies toCitation
Prescribing opioids and other controlled substancesTwo of the 30 required hours must be an educational course or program related to prescribing opioids and other controlled substances. The courses must be AMA or AOA Category 1 but no longer require specific approval from the Medical Examining Board. This is separate from the DEA's eight hour training requirement, though a course taken for the DEA requirement can be used for Wisconsin renewal if it meets Med 13.2 CME creditsEvery renewalPhysicians who hold a U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration number to prescribe controlled substances. A physician who does not hold a DEA number at the time of applying for a certificate of registration is exempt.Wis. Admin. Code Med 13.02(1x)

Documentation and audit

Proof submitted at renewalNo, attestation only
Keep records for2 years
Board audits complianceYes
Approved providersPrograms must be recognized at the time of attendance by the AMA Council on Medical Education, the American Osteopathic Association, or the ACCME, or approved in advance by the board. Acceptable evidence of compliance includes certification of attendance and completion from the providing institution or from the AMA or AOA, an AMA Physician's Recognition Award or AAFP certificate, or certification of participation in an approved postgraduate training program, in electronic or hard copy form. Evidence must be retained through the biennium for which the 30 hours are required. The board conducts a random audit of licensees biennially and may require any physician to submit evidence of compliance during the biennium.

Common questions

How many CE hours does a Wisconsin DO need to renew?
Wisconsin osteopathic physicians (DO) must complete 30 CME credits of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Wisconsin Medical Examining Board, Department of Safety and Professional Services. At least 30 hours of acceptable continuing medical education within the biennial registration period, certified by signed statement on the registration application. The board recognizes programs approved at the time of attendance by the AMA Council on Medical Education, the American Osteopathic Association, or the ACCME, and accepts AMA or AOA Category I programs or the equivalent, so the Category 1 minimum equals the total. One clock hour of attendance equals one hour of CME. A physician may apply to the board for a waiver on grounds of prolonged illness, disability, or similar circumstances, considered case by case. The board partners with CE Broker and gives licensees a free basic account for tracking, and uses it to administer the CME audit, but registration with CE Broker is encouraged rather than required.
How often does a Wisconsin DO license need to be renewed?
Osteopathic Physician (DO) licenses in Wisconsin renew every two years. Under Wis. Stat. 440.08(2) the renewal date for the physician credential is October 31 of each odd numbered year. A licensee who receives an initial credential in the months leading up to that date must still renew by the statutory date. At renewal the physician signs a statement certifying completion of the required continuing medical education.
What specific CE topics are required for Wisconsin osteopathic physicians (DO)?
Prescribing opioids and other controlled substances: 2 CME credits every renewal cycle (physicians who hold a U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration number to prescribe controlled substances. A physician who does not hold a DEA number at the time of applying for a certificate of registration is exempt.). Citations: prescribing opioids and other controlled substances (Wis. Admin. Code Med 13.02(1x)).
Do Wisconsin osteopathic physicians (DO) have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates, the board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation, and records must be kept for 2 years. Programs must be recognized at the time of attendance by the AMA Council on Medical Education, the American Osteopathic Association, or the ACCME, or approved in advance by the board. Acceptable evidence of compliance includes certification of attendance and completion from the providing institution or from the AMA or AOA, an AMA Physician's Recognition Award or AAFP certificate, or certification of participation in an approved postgraduate training program, in electronic or hard copy form. Evidence must be retained through the biennium for which the 30 hours are required. The board conducts a random audit of licensees biennially and may require any physician to submit evidence of compliance during the biennium.

Sources

Last verified September 7, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.

One board covers both professions: the Wisconsin Medical Examining Board licenses medical and osteopathic physicians under a single medicine and surgery credential, its DSPS page describes the application process as being for medical and osteopathic physicians, and Med 13 recognizes AMA and AOA Category I equally. The MD and DO records therefore cite the same sources. Hours, the opioid subject requirement and its DEA scope, the waiver, evidence of compliance, retention and the biennial random audit were read in Med 13.02 through Med 13.06; the October 31 odd year renewal date was read on the DSPS physician page, which cites Wis. Stat. 440.08(2). Carryover of excess hours is not addressed in Med 13 and is left null, as is any first renewal exemption. Retention is recorded as two years because Med 13.05(2) requires evidence to be retained through the biennium for which the 30 hours are required rather than naming a number of years.

Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Wisconsin Medical Examining Board, Department of Safety and Professional Services before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.