Wisconsin Dental Hygienist license renewal and CE requirements
Wisconsin dental hygienists must complete 12 credit hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Wisconsin Dentistry Examining Board, Department of Safety and Professional Services.
The dental hygienist credential renewal date is October 1 of each odd numbered year, the same date dentists renew, so the license runs on a two year cycle. Continuing education must be completed during the two year period immediately preceding the renewal date; the Department describes that biennium as running from October 1 of an odd numbered year to September 30 of the next odd numbered year.
Summary
Wisconsin dental hygienists must complete 12 credit hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Wisconsin Dentistry Examining Board, Department of Safety and Professional Services. The dental hygienist credential renewal date is October 1 of each odd numbered year, the same date dentists renew, so the license runs on a two year cycle. Continuing education must be completed during the two year period immediately preceding the renewal date; the Department describes that biennium as running from October 1 of an odd numbered year to September 30 of the next odd numbered year. Wisconsin also mandates specific subjects. Training in infection control: 2 credit hours every renewal cycle. The first renewal is exempt.
Wisconsin Dental Hygienist renewal and continuing education rules
"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.
| Renewal cycle | Two-year (24 months) |
|---|---|
| Renewal deadline | Same date for every licensee, 10/01 each cycle |
| Continuing education required | Yes |
| Hours per cycle | 12 credit hours |
| Self-study or online cap | No cap stated |
| Carryover to next cycle | Not stated |
| First renewal exempt | Yes |
| Other accepted activities | Teaching or preparing a continuing education program, one credit hour, credited only once per program per biennium; College level courses, where one college credit hour equals 6 continuing education credit hours |
During the two year period immediately preceding the renewal date a dental hygienist completes 12 credit hours of continuing education related to the clinical practice of dental hygiene or the practice of medicine. The 12 hour figure was read in DE 13.04, the hygienist section, and is not a fraction of the 30 credit hours DE 13.03 sets for dentists. Two limits apply inside the 12: no more than 2 of the 12 may be satisfied by training related to basic life support or cardiopulmonary resuscitation, and not less than 2 of the 12 must be training in infection control. Wisconsin therefore lets CPR count toward the hygienist total up to a cap while imposing no comparable CPR allowance on dentists, and it mandates infection control for hygienists but not for dentists. Credit hours may be satisfied by independent study, correspondence, or internet programs or courses, with no cap stated. The requirement does not apply to an applicant for renewal of a license that expires on the first renewal date after the applicant is licensed. The 2 hour controlled substances prescribing mandate in DE 13.03 is written for dentists and does not reach hygienists.
Required CE topics for Wisconsin dental hygienists
State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.
| Topic | Hours | Frequency | Applies to | Citation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Training in infection controlNot less than 2 of the 12 credit hours, so it counts toward the total. This is a hygienist only mandate; DE 13.03 sets no infection control minimum for dentists. | 2 credit hours | Every renewal | All licensees | Wis. Admin. Code DE 13.04 |
Documentation and audit
| Proof submitted at renewal | No, attestation only |
|---|---|
| Keep records for | 6 years |
| Board audits compliance | Not stated |
| Approved providers | The licensee submits a certification statement with the renewal application and must maintain a written record of the continuing education hours completed for not less than 6 years after completion. |
Common questions
- How many CE hours does a Wisconsin RDH need to renew?
- Wisconsin dental hygienists must complete 12 credit hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Wisconsin Dentistry Examining Board, Department of Safety and Professional Services. During the two year period immediately preceding the renewal date a dental hygienist completes 12 credit hours of continuing education related to the clinical practice of dental hygiene or the practice of medicine. The 12 hour figure was read in DE 13.04, the hygienist section, and is not a fraction of the 30 credit hours DE 13.03 sets for dentists. Two limits apply inside the 12: no more than 2 of the 12 may be satisfied by training related to basic life support or cardiopulmonary resuscitation, and not less than 2 of the 12 must be training in infection control. Wisconsin therefore lets CPR count toward the hygienist total up to a cap while imposing no comparable CPR allowance on dentists, and it mandates infection control for hygienists but not for dentists. Credit hours may be satisfied by independent study, correspondence, or internet programs or courses, with no cap stated. The requirement does not apply to an applicant for renewal of a license that expires on the first renewal date after the applicant is licensed. The 2 hour controlled substances prescribing mandate in DE 13.03 is written for dentists and does not reach hygienists.
- How often does a Wisconsin RDH license need to be renewed?
- Dental Hygienist licenses in Wisconsin renew every two years. The dental hygienist credential renewal date is October 1 of each odd numbered year, the same date dentists renew, so the license runs on a two year cycle. Continuing education must be completed during the two year period immediately preceding the renewal date; the Department describes that biennium as running from October 1 of an odd numbered year to September 30 of the next odd numbered year.
- What specific CE topics are required for Wisconsin dental hygienists?
- Training in infection control: 2 credit hours every renewal cycle. Citations: training in infection control (Wis. Admin. Code DE 13.04).
- Do Wisconsin dental hygienists have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
- Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates and records must be kept for 6 years. The licensee submits a certification statement with the renewal application and must maintain a written record of the continuing education hours completed for not less than 6 years after completion.
- Is the first Wisconsin RDH renewal exempt from CE?
- Yes. Wisconsin does not require continuing education for a RDH's first renewal.
Sources
Last verified September 8, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.
- Wis. Admin. Code ch. DE 13, Continuing Education (Wisconsin Legislature)Statute or administrative rule, accessed September 8, 2026
- Wis. Stat. 440.08(2)(a), Renewal dates (Wisconsin Legislature)Statute or administrative rule, accessed September 8, 2026
- Dental Hygienist Continuing Education, Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional ServicesState board page, accessed September 8, 2026
The 12 credit hour total, the 2 hour infection control minimum and the 2 hour cap on basic life support or CPR credit were read twice from hygienist specific sources: Wis. Admin. Code DE 13.04 in chapter DE 13 on the Legislature's site, and the Department of Safety and Professional Services dental hygienist continuing education page, which independently states 12 hours, the infection control minimum, the CPR and AED cap, the biennium of 10/1 odd year to 9/30 odd year and the exemption for the biennium in which a license is first issued. Nothing was derived from the dentist section. The October 1 odd numbered year renewal date comes from Wis. Stat. 440.08(2)(a), which lists dentist and dental hygienist separately on the same date. The rule states no carryover provision and no cap on independent study, correspondence or internet courses, so those fields are null.
Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Wisconsin Dentistry Examining Board, Department of Safety and Professional Services before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.