Ohio Physical Therapist license renewal and CE requirements
Ohio physical therapists must complete 24 clock hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Ohio Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, and Athletic Trainers Board (Physical Therapy Section).
Physical therapist licenses expire on January 31 of even-numbered years and must be renewed by that date through eLicense Ohio (physical therapist assistant licenses expire January 31 of odd-numbered years). Renewal opens November 1 before the expiration date. The board states that a license cannot be renewed late and an expired license cannot be used to practice.
Summary
Ohio physical therapists must complete 24 clock hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Ohio Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, and Athletic Trainers Board (Physical Therapy Section). Physical therapist licenses expire on January 31 of even-numbered years and must be renewed by that date through eLicense Ohio (physical therapist assistant licenses expire January 31 of odd-numbered years). Renewal opens November 1 before the expiration date. The board states that a license cannot be renewed late and an expired license cannot be used to practice. Ohio also mandates specific subjects. Ohio Jurisprudence Assessment Module (OH JAM), renewal jurisprudence module covering ethics: 2 clock hours every renewal cycle. Hours do not carry over between cycles and the first renewal is exempt.
Ohio Physical Therapist renewal and continuing education rules
"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.
| Renewal cycle | Two-year (24 months) |
|---|---|
| Renewal deadline | Same date for every licensee, 01/31 each cycle |
| Continuing education required | Yes |
| Hours per cycle | 24 clock hours |
| Self-study or online cap | No cap stated |
| Carryover to next cycle | No |
| First renewal exempt | Yes |
| Other accepted activities | Specialty certification (ABPTS or HTCC); Completion of an APTA accredited clinical residency or fellowship; Coursework at a CAPTE accredited entry-level or post-professional DPT program; Serving as an APTA credentialed clinical instructor (1 hour per 80 hours of instruction, maximum 12 hours); Mentoring in an APTA accredited residency or fellowship (1 hour per 3 hours of mentorship, maximum 12 hours); Volunteer physical therapy services to indigent and uninsured persons (maximum 6 hours); Healthy Practice Resource modules (1 hour each, maximum 4 hours); Continuing education developed and delivered by the APTA or its academies and sections |
Ohio Admin. Code 4755:2-3-01 (effective April 3, 2026) defines a unit as one clock hour in a continuing education activity. A physical therapist must complete a minimum of 24 units within the two-year renewal cycle, including at least two hours of ethics through the renewal jurisprudence module, which count toward the 24. Units may not be carried over between renewal periods. No continuing education is required for the first renewal. Activities must carry a current Ohio approval number unless they fall under the alternative categories in paragraph (G) of the rule. The rule states no cap on online or self-study hours.
Required CE topics for Ohio physical therapists
State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.
| Topic | Hours | Frequency | Applies to | Citation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ohio Jurisprudence Assessment Module (OH JAM), renewal jurisprudence module covering ethicsRequired each renewal cycle for physical therapists and physical therapist assistants; the two hours earned count as part of the 24-hour total. Administered through FSBPT for a $48 fee; the score is sent directly to the board. First-time renewals, which have no CE requirement, do not need to complete the JAM. | 2 clock hours | Every renewal | All licensees | Ohio Admin. Code 4755:2-3-01(A)(2) and (G)(9) |
Documentation and audit
| Proof submitted at renewal | No, attestation only |
|---|---|
| Keep records for | 2 years |
| Board audits compliance | Yes |
| Approved providers | Completed activities must have a current Ohio approval number; the Physical Therapy Section contracts with the Ohio Physical Therapy Association (OPTA) to review and approve continuing education, and licensees search approved courses on the OPTA website. Certificates are not submitted at renewal; the board's renewal page says to retain them for at least two years in case of audit, and the section audits a number of license holders' CE records each renewal year. |
Common questions
- How many CE hours does a Ohio PT need to renew?
- Ohio physical therapists must complete 24 clock hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Ohio Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, and Athletic Trainers Board (Physical Therapy Section). Ohio Admin. Code 4755:2-3-01 (effective April 3, 2026) defines a unit as one clock hour in a continuing education activity. A physical therapist must complete a minimum of 24 units within the two-year renewal cycle, including at least two hours of ethics through the renewal jurisprudence module, which count toward the 24. Units may not be carried over between renewal periods. No continuing education is required for the first renewal. Activities must carry a current Ohio approval number unless they fall under the alternative categories in paragraph (G) of the rule. The rule states no cap on online or self-study hours.
- How often does a Ohio PT license need to be renewed?
- Physical Therapist licenses in Ohio renew every two years. Physical therapist licenses expire on January 31 of even-numbered years and must be renewed by that date through eLicense Ohio (physical therapist assistant licenses expire January 31 of odd-numbered years). Renewal opens November 1 before the expiration date. The board states that a license cannot be renewed late and an expired license cannot be used to practice.
- What specific CE topics are required for Ohio physical therapists?
- Ohio Jurisprudence Assessment Module (OH JAM), renewal jurisprudence module covering ethics: 2 clock hours every renewal cycle. Citations: Ohio Jurisprudence Assessment Module (OH JAM), renewal jurisprudence module covering ethics (Ohio Admin. Code 4755:2-3-01(A)(2) and (G)(9)).
- Do Ohio physical therapists have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
- Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates, the board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation, and records must be kept for 2 years. Completed activities must have a current Ohio approval number; the Physical Therapy Section contracts with the Ohio Physical Therapy Association (OPTA) to review and approve continuing education, and licensees search approved courses on the OPTA website. Certificates are not submitted at renewal; the board's renewal page says to retain them for at least two years in case of audit, and the section audits a number of license holders' CE records each renewal year.
- Is the first Ohio PT renewal exempt from CE?
- Yes. Ohio does not require continuing education for a PT's first renewal.
Sources
Last verified September 7, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.
- Ohio Admin. Code Rule 4755:2-3-01, Continuing education (Physical Therapy), effective April 3, 2026Statute or administrative rule, accessed September 7, 2026
- Ohio Admin. Code Rule 4755:2-1-05, Biennial renewal of PT and PTA licenses, effective October 11, 2024Statute or administrative rule, accessed September 7, 2026
- PT-PTA Renewal, Ohio OTPTAT BoardState board page, accessed September 7, 2026
- Physical Therapy Continuing Education, Ohio OTPTAT BoardState board page, accessed September 7, 2026
- Ohio Jurisprudence Assessment Module - PT/PTA, Ohio OTPTAT BoardState board page, accessed September 7, 2026
24 units per two-year cycle, the two-hour renewal jurisprudence module, first-renewal exemption, no carryover, Ohio approval number requirement, annual audit, and alternative-activity caps read from OAC 4755:2-3-01 (effective April 3, 2026). The January 31 even-year expiration for PTs read from OAC 4755:2-1-05 and the board's renewal page. The two-year retention figure comes from the board's renewal page, not the rule, which does not state a retention period. The former rule number 4755-23-08 cited by many CE vendors has been rescinded; the current rule is 4755:2-3-01. The board's pages returned 404 to the WebFetch tool but loaded normally with a browser user agent via curl.
Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Ohio Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, and Athletic Trainers Board (Physical Therapy Section) before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.