Ohio Occupational Therapist license renewal and CE requirements
Ohio occupational therapists must complete 20 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Ohio Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, and Athletic Trainers Board (Occupational Therapy Section).
Occupational therapist licenses expire June 30 of every odd numbered year and must be renewed by that date. Renewal opens April 1 before the expiration date and is filed through eLicense Ohio. A license issued on or after March 1 of an odd numbered year runs through June 30 of the next odd numbered year. Late renewal is not offered; a license that is not renewed by June 30 expires automatically and must be reinstated.
Summary
Ohio occupational therapists must complete 20 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Ohio Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, and Athletic Trainers Board (Occupational Therapy Section). Occupational therapist licenses expire June 30 of every odd numbered year and must be renewed by that date. Renewal opens April 1 before the expiration date and is filed through eLicense Ohio. A license issued on or after March 1 of an odd numbered year runs through June 30 of the next odd numbered year. Late renewal is not offered; a license that is not renewed by June 30 expires automatically and must be reinstated. Ohio also mandates specific subjects. Ethics, jurisprudence, or cultural competence: 1 contact hour every renewal cycle. Mental health and/or substance use education: 1 contact hour every renewal cycle. Hours do not carry over between cycles and the first renewal is exempt.
Ohio Occupational Therapist renewal and continuing education rules
"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.
| Renewal cycle | Two-year (24 months) |
|---|---|
| Renewal deadline | Same date for every licensee, 06/30 each cycle |
| Continuing education required | Yes |
| Hours per cycle | 20 contact hours |
| Self-study or online cap | No cap stated |
| Carryover to next cycle | No |
| First renewal exempt | Yes |
| Other accepted activities | Presenting occupational therapy programs, workshops or seminars (2 contact hours per hour presented, maximum 8); Preparation to teach a new or substantially changed clinical course in an ACOTE accredited program (maximum 8); Publications: 5 hours per article, 5 per book chapter, 10 per book, 10 per film; Undergraduate or graduate coursework (maximum 10 hours per completed course); Supervision of level I and level II fieldwork students (maximum 16 hours combined); Self-study formal study packages (no category limit); Distance learning with presenter interaction (no category limit); Apprenticeships (5 contact hours per 40 hour week, no category limit); Completed research projects (maximum 10); Informal independent study, reading an evidence based chapter or article and writing a report (1 hour each, maximum 4); Passing the Ohio occupational therapy jurisprudence examination (1 hour, once per cycle); Mentorship of students, new practitioners or AOTA fellows (maximum 4); Volunteer services to indigent and uninsured persons (maximum 4); Competency or knowledge and skills assessment activities |
Ohio Administrative Code 4755:1-3-01 sets the same 20 contact hours for occupational therapists and occupational therapy assistants; the rule text names both credentials in one sentence and states no separate figure for assistants. All hours must be earned in the two year period immediately preceding June 30 of the renewal year. Hours may not be carried over. Self-study, distance learning, publications, coursework and apprenticeships carry no category cap, so the rule sets no overall online or self-study limit. Credit is not granted for standard employer required annual competency training such as CPR, bloodborne pathogens or HIPAA. NBCOT certification is not a renewal requirement in Ohio; passing the NBCOT examination is an initial licensure requirement under 4755:1-1-01, and NBCOT is listed as one of the organizations whose activities are acceptable continuing education.
Required CE topics for Ohio occupational therapists
State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.
| Topic | Hours | Frequency | Applies to | Citation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ethics, jurisprudence, or cultural competenceAt least one contact hour per renewal cycle. Any acceptable activity containing at least one hour on professional ethics, jurisprudence or cultural competence satisfies it, as does any presentation by the occupational therapy section or passing the Ohio occupational therapy jurisprudence examination. | 1 contact hour | Every renewal | All licensees | OAC 4755:1-3-01(A)(5) |
| Mental health and/or substance use educationAt least one contact hour per renewal cycle. A presentation by the board's safe haven program that addresses mental health or substance use satisfies it. The same contact hour cannot satisfy both this requirement and the ethics, jurisprudence or cultural competence requirement. | 1 contact hour | Every renewal | All licensees | OAC 4755:1-3-01(A)(6) |
Documentation and audit
| Proof submitted at renewal | No, attestation only |
|---|---|
| Keep records for | 2 years |
| Board audits compliance | Yes |
| Approved providers | Activities sponsored or approved by the occupational therapy section or by the Ohio Occupational Therapy Association on the section's behalf, by AOTA, by an AOTA approved provider, or by the National Board for Certification in Occupational Therapy are acceptable. Other workshops and conferences need no prior approval if they contribute directly to professional competency, relate to occupational therapy practice, management or education, and are conducted by people with demonstrated expertise. Certificates are not submitted at renewal; the board's renewal page tells licensees to keep them at least two years in case of audit, and the section audits at least five per cent of license holders each renewal year. |
Common questions
- How many CE hours does a Ohio OT need to renew?
- Ohio occupational therapists must complete 20 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Ohio Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, and Athletic Trainers Board (Occupational Therapy Section). Ohio Administrative Code 4755:1-3-01 sets the same 20 contact hours for occupational therapists and occupational therapy assistants; the rule text names both credentials in one sentence and states no separate figure for assistants. All hours must be earned in the two year period immediately preceding June 30 of the renewal year. Hours may not be carried over. Self-study, distance learning, publications, coursework and apprenticeships carry no category cap, so the rule sets no overall online or self-study limit. Credit is not granted for standard employer required annual competency training such as CPR, bloodborne pathogens or HIPAA. NBCOT certification is not a renewal requirement in Ohio; passing the NBCOT examination is an initial licensure requirement under 4755:1-1-01, and NBCOT is listed as one of the organizations whose activities are acceptable continuing education.
- How often does a Ohio OT license need to be renewed?
- Occupational Therapist licenses in Ohio renew every two years. Occupational therapist licenses expire June 30 of every odd numbered year and must be renewed by that date. Renewal opens April 1 before the expiration date and is filed through eLicense Ohio. A license issued on or after March 1 of an odd numbered year runs through June 30 of the next odd numbered year. Late renewal is not offered; a license that is not renewed by June 30 expires automatically and must be reinstated.
- What specific CE topics are required for Ohio occupational therapists?
- Ethics, jurisprudence, or cultural competence: 1 contact hour every renewal cycle. Mental health and/or substance use education: 1 contact hour every renewal cycle. Citations: ethics, jurisprudence, or cultural competence (OAC 4755:1-3-01(A)(5)) and mental health and/or substance use education (OAC 4755:1-3-01(A)(6)).
- Do Ohio occupational therapists have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
- Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates, the board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation, and records must be kept for 2 years. Activities sponsored or approved by the occupational therapy section or by the Ohio Occupational Therapy Association on the section's behalf, by AOTA, by an AOTA approved provider, or by the National Board for Certification in Occupational Therapy are acceptable. Other workshops and conferences need no prior approval if they contribute directly to professional competency, relate to occupational therapy practice, management or education, and are conducted by people with demonstrated expertise. Certificates are not submitted at renewal; the board's renewal page tells licensees to keep them at least two years in case of audit, and the section audits at least five per cent of license holders each renewal year.
- Is the first Ohio OT renewal exempt from CE?
- Yes. Ohio does not require continuing education for a OT's first renewal.
Sources
Last verified September 9, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.
- Ohio Administrative Code Rule 4755:1-3-01, Continuing education (occupational therapy), effective August 4, 2023Statute or administrative rule, accessed September 9, 2026
- Ohio Administrative Code Chapter 4755:1-1, Licensing; Education; Examination; and Renewal, including rule 4755:1-1-05 Biennial renewal of licenseStatute or administrative rule, accessed September 9, 2026
- OT-OTA License Renewal, Ohio Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, and Athletic Trainers BoardState board page, accessed September 9, 2026
- Continuing Education, Occupational Therapy Section, Ohio OTPTAT BoardState board page, accessed September 9, 2026
Ohio uses the combined board pattern: one board, the Ohio Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, and Athletic Trainers Board, with a separate Occupational Therapy Section that has its own rule chapter (4755:1) distinct from the physical therapy chapters (4755:2). The 20 contact hour total, the first renewal exemption, the no carryover rule, the two mandated subjects and the five per cent audit were read in OAC 4755:1-3-01 and confirmed on the board's renewal and continuing education pages. The June 30 odd numbered year deadline for occupational therapists comes from OAC 4755:1-1-05(B) and the board renewal page. Occupational therapy assistants renew in even numbered years under 4755:1-1-05(C), so the two credentials share every continuing education figure but never renew in the same year. The two year record retention comes from the board's renewal page; the rule itself sets no retention period. The mental health and substance use mandate has no canonical topic key, so the key mental_health_substance_use was used. The rule does not state a live or interactive minimum, a category one minimum, or a self-study cap.
Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Ohio Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, and Athletic Trainers Board (Occupational Therapy Section) before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.