Ohio Dental Hygienist license renewal and CE requirements
Ohio dental hygienists must complete 20 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Ohio State Dental Board.
An Ohio dental hygiene license is valid for two years and expires on the date that is two years from the date it was issued, so the deadline follows the licensee's own issue date rather than a common statewide date. The online renewal application opens 90 days before the expiration date. Failing to renew automatically suspends the license unless the hygienist has been placed on temporary retirement, and reinstatement takes the biennial fee plus a reinstatement fee.
Summary
Ohio dental hygienists must complete 20 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Ohio State Dental Board. An Ohio dental hygiene license is valid for two years and expires on the date that is two years from the date it was issued, so the deadline follows the licensee's own issue date rather than a common statewide date. The online renewal application opens 90 days before the expiration date. Failing to renew automatically suspends the license unless the hygienist has been placed on temporary retirement, and reinstatement takes the biennial fee plus a reinstatement fee. Ohio also mandates specific subjects. Basic life-support training course: required every renewal cycle. The first renewal is exempt.
Ohio Dental Hygienist renewal and continuing education rules
"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.
| Renewal cycle | Two-year (24 months) |
|---|---|
| Renewal deadline | Tied to the original issue date |
| Continuing education required | Yes |
| Hours per cycle | 20 contact hours |
| Self-study or online cap | No cap stated |
| Carryover to next cycle | Not stated |
| First renewal exempt | Yes |
| Other accepted activities | Papers, publications and scientific presentations, 3 hours maximum; Teaching and research appointments at an accredited institution, 3 hours maximum; Volunteer service as a clinician to indigent or underserved Ohio populations, up to one third of the requirement and 6.5 hours maximum for dental hygienists; Poster sessions, original presentation or documented viewing, 2 hours maximum; Non-clinical dental practice related courses, 5 hours maximum; The basic life support training course required by ORC 4715.251; Any course required by statute or board rule for registration or as a condition of performing a particular function |
Ohio Revised Code 4715.25(A) requires a dental hygienist to certify at renewal that a minimum of 20 hours of continuing dental hygiene education was completed in the two-year period preceding the registration period. This is the hygienist figure, set in its own statute; dentists owe 30 hours under ORC 4715.141. The board's CE FAQ page independently states 30 hours for dentists, 20 for dental hygienists and 2 for dental x-ray machine operators. Basic life support does count here, unlike in many states: ORC 4715.251 requires every hygienist to hold current basic life support certification from the American Red Cross, the American Heart Association, or an American Safety and Health Institute course the board finds equivalent, at each renewal, and ORC 4715.25(B)(1)(a) directs the board to apply that course toward the 20 hours. Any other course the board requires by statute or rule for registration or as a condition of performing a particular function also counts, which reaches the one hour local anesthesia, interim therapeutic restoration and silver diamine fluoride courses in OAC chapter 4715-9. Ohio Administrative Code 4715-8-01 places no maximum on either directly interactive presentations or supervised self-instruction, which covers graded online, webinar, audio, video and correspondence courses, so there is no self-study or online cap; the caps that exist are per category. The volunteer clinician cap is stated as a hygienist specific 6.5 hours, one third of 20, next to the 10 hour dentist figure. Recent graduates who completed a dental hygiene program within their first registration biennium are exempt and instead upload proof of completing the program.
Required CE topics for Ohio dental hygienists
State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.
| Topic | Hours | Frequency | Applies to | Citation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Basic life-support training courseEvery hygienist must be currently certified in basic life support at each renewal of registration and must certify that on the renewal application. Unlike most states, Ohio counts it: ORC 4715.25(B)(1)(a) directs the board to apply the basic life-support course toward the 20 hour continuing dental hygiene education requirement. The statute does not state how many hours it is worth. This requirement has no counterpart for Ohio dentists, whose license carries no general CPR mandate. | Not stated | Every renewal | All licensees | ORC 4715.251; ORC 4715.25(B)(1)(a) |
Documentation and audit
| Proof submitted at renewal | Yes |
|---|---|
| Keep records for | 4 years |
| Board audits compliance | Yes |
| Approved providers | Courses must come from a board-approved sponsor. OAC 4715-8-02 recognizes the American Dental Hygienists Association and the National Dental Hygienists Association and their recognized constituents, components and affiliated societies, the American Dental Association and the National Dental Association and their affiliates, ADA-affiliated specialty organizations, the Academy of General Dentistry and its components, universities and colleges with accredited dentistry or dental hygiene programs, accredited colleges and universities, Joint Commission accredited healthcare organizations, other nationally recognized healthcare organizations such as the American Heart Association and American Red Cross, ADA CERP recognized providers, AGD PACE approved providers, and study clubs and paraprofessional groups that co-sponsor with one of those. Biennial sponsor approval ended after December 31, 2021. |
Common questions
- How many CE hours does a Ohio RDH need to renew?
- Ohio dental hygienists must complete 20 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Ohio State Dental Board. Ohio Revised Code 4715.25(A) requires a dental hygienist to certify at renewal that a minimum of 20 hours of continuing dental hygiene education was completed in the two-year period preceding the registration period. This is the hygienist figure, set in its own statute; dentists owe 30 hours under ORC 4715.141. The board's CE FAQ page independently states 30 hours for dentists, 20 for dental hygienists and 2 for dental x-ray machine operators. Basic life support does count here, unlike in many states: ORC 4715.251 requires every hygienist to hold current basic life support certification from the American Red Cross, the American Heart Association, or an American Safety and Health Institute course the board finds equivalent, at each renewal, and ORC 4715.25(B)(1)(a) directs the board to apply that course toward the 20 hours. Any other course the board requires by statute or rule for registration or as a condition of performing a particular function also counts, which reaches the one hour local anesthesia, interim therapeutic restoration and silver diamine fluoride courses in OAC chapter 4715-9. Ohio Administrative Code 4715-8-01 places no maximum on either directly interactive presentations or supervised self-instruction, which covers graded online, webinar, audio, video and correspondence courses, so there is no self-study or online cap; the caps that exist are per category. The volunteer clinician cap is stated as a hygienist specific 6.5 hours, one third of 20, next to the 10 hour dentist figure. Recent graduates who completed a dental hygiene program within their first registration biennium are exempt and instead upload proof of completing the program.
- How often does a Ohio RDH license need to be renewed?
- Dental Hygienist licenses in Ohio renew every two years. An Ohio dental hygiene license is valid for two years and expires on the date that is two years from the date it was issued, so the deadline follows the licensee's own issue date rather than a common statewide date. The online renewal application opens 90 days before the expiration date. Failing to renew automatically suspends the license unless the hygienist has been placed on temporary retirement, and reinstatement takes the biennial fee plus a reinstatement fee.
- What specific CE topics are required for Ohio dental hygienists?
- Basic life-support training course: required every renewal cycle. Citations: basic life-support training course (ORC 4715.251; ORC 4715.25(B)(1)(a)).
- Do Ohio dental hygienists have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
- Proof of completion must be submitted with the renewal, the board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation, and records must be kept for 4 years. Courses must come from a board-approved sponsor. OAC 4715-8-02 recognizes the American Dental Hygienists Association and the National Dental Hygienists Association and their recognized constituents, components and affiliated societies, the American Dental Association and the National Dental Association and their affiliates, ADA-affiliated specialty organizations, the Academy of General Dentistry and its components, universities and colleges with accredited dentistry or dental hygiene programs, accredited colleges and universities, Joint Commission accredited healthcare organizations, other nationally recognized healthcare organizations such as the American Heart Association and American Red Cross, ADA CERP recognized providers, AGD PACE approved providers, and study clubs and paraprofessional groups that co-sponsor with one of those. Biennial sponsor approval ended after December 31, 2021.
- Is the first Ohio RDH renewal exempt from CE?
- Yes. Ohio does not require continuing education for a RDH's first renewal.
Sources
Last verified September 8, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.
- Ohio Revised Code 4715.25, Continuing education (dental hygienists)Statute or administrative rule, accessed September 8, 2026
- Ohio Revised Code 4715.251, Completion of basic life-support training courseStatute or administrative rule, accessed September 8, 2026
- Ohio Revised Code 4715.24, Registration, notice of change of address (dental hygienists)Statute or administrative rule, accessed September 8, 2026
- Ohio Administrative Code Chapter 4715-8, Continuing EducationStatute or administrative rule, accessed September 8, 2026
- Continuing Education Requirements, Ohio State Dental BoardState board page, accessed September 8, 2026
- CE FAQs, Ohio State Dental BoardState board page, accessed September 8, 2026
- Dental hygienist licensing and renewal, Ohio State Dental BoardState board page, accessed September 8, 2026
Ohio runs a single regulator, the Ohio State Dental Board, for both credentials, but the hygienist requirement lives in its own statute, ORC 4715.25, and its own renewal statute, ORC 4715.24; both were read as hygienist text rather than scaled from the dentist sections. The 20 hour total was confirmed twice, in the statute and on the board's CE FAQ page. Several commercial CE sites still publish 24 hours for Ohio hygienists and 40 for dentists; those figures match neither the current statutes as amended by House Bill 509 nor the board's current pages, so they were not used. The renewal basis changed with House Bill 509 effective January 1, 2025: a hygiene license now expires two years from its issue date instead of on a common date, and the board's dental hygienist page repeats that wording. Retention is 4 years under both ORC 4715.25(D) and OAC 4715-8-04(A)(2). The only mandated subject is basic life support, and the topic key basic_life_support is not on the canonical list in the brief, so it is recorded as a short snake_case key. Opioid CE does not reach hygienists in Ohio; the board states the former two hour opioid prescribing requirement is no longer in effect for anyone. Cultural competency is encouraged by the board but not required. The board does not state a carryover rule or a live or interactive minimum. Separate hygienist credentials such as the local anesthesia authorization, interim therapeutic restoration and silver diamine fluoride authorizations, and the oral health access supervision permit carry their own one hour course requirements under OAC chapter 4715-9 and are not folded into the 20 hour total.
Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Ohio State Dental Board before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.