Skip to main content
CredNet

Michigan Occupational Therapy Assistant license renewal and CE requirements

Michigan occupational therapy assistants must complete 20 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Michigan Board of Occupational Therapists (LARA Bureau of Professional Licensing).

Occupational therapy assistant licenses expire biennially and must be renewed every two years on or before the issue date, which is the date the initial license was granted (R 338.7001a and R 338.7001(1)(d)). R 338.7001a lists occupational therapy as a whole, and R 338.1251 applies to occupational therapist and occupational therapy assistant licenses in the same sentence. Continuing education must be earned during the two year licensing period immediately preceding the renewal application, and renewal is filed online through MiPLUS.

Renewal cycle
Two-year
Tied to the original issue date
CE per cycle
20
contact hours
Mandated topics
3
required subjects
Last verified
September 10, 2026
12 days ago

Summary

Michigan occupational therapy assistants must complete 20 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Michigan Board of Occupational Therapists (LARA Bureau of Professional Licensing). Occupational therapy assistant licenses expire biennially and must be renewed every two years on or before the issue date, which is the date the initial license was granted (R 338.7001a and R 338.7001(1)(d)). R 338.7001a lists occupational therapy as a whole, and R 338.1251 applies to occupational therapist and occupational therapy assistant licenses in the same sentence. Continuing education must be earned during the two year licensing period immediately preceding the renewal application, and renewal is filed online through MiPLUS. Michigan also mandates specific subjects. Pain and symptom management: 1 contact hour every renewal cycle. Implicit bias training: 2 contact hours every renewal cycle. Training in identifying victims of human trafficking: a one-time requirement.

Michigan Occupational Therapy Assistant renewal and continuing education rules

"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.

Renewal cycleTwo-year (24 months)
Renewal deadlineTied to the original issue date
Continuing education requiredYes
Hours per cycle20 contact hours
Self-study or online capNo cap stated
Carryover to next cycleNot stated
First renewal exemptNot stated
Other accepted activitiesAcademic courses in a board approved occupational therapy education program (5 hours per semester credit hour, 3 hours per quarter credit hour, no limit); Initial publication of a chapter or article (10 hours for a peer reviewed textbook, professional healthcare textbook, or peer reviewed journal; 5 hours for a non peer reviewed professional publication; 2 hours for a practice related article in a lay publication; category capped at 10 hours per renewal period); Independent reading or listening to peer reviewed articles with no self assessment component (1 hour per 60 minutes, maximum 5 hours per renewal period); Initial presentation of an academic or continuing education program outside the licensee's regular job description (3 hours per 60 minutes of presentation, maximum 10 hours per renewal period); Fieldwork supervision outside the licensee's primary job description (Level I: 1 hour per student; Level II: 1 hour per week of supervision per student; maximum 12 hours per renewal period); Participating on a state or national board, local chapter board, association or committee, or volunteering (1 hour per meeting or volunteer activity, maximum 10 hours per renewal period); Serving as primary or co primary investigator in research activities, outcome studies, or externally funded service training projects (maximum 10 hours per renewal period)

R 338.1251(2) requires an applicant for license renewal to accumulate not less than 20 continuing education hours approved by the board under R 338.1252 during the two year licensing period immediately preceding the application. Michigan states one requirement for both credentials: R 338.1251(1) applies the rule to an occupational therapist license, an occupational therapy assistant license, and a special retired volunteer license together, so the occupational therapy assistant figure is the same 20 hours as the occupational therapist figure and was read in the same sentence rather than found separately. The acceptable activity table in R 338.1252 is also written for occupational therapists and occupational therapy assistants jointly and sets no separate assistant limits. Approved programs and activities may supply the whole 20 hours without limitation; a program is approved if it is approved or offered for credit by AOTA, an IACET authorized provider, the Michigan Occupational Therapy Association, NBCOT, another state or provincial occupational therapy board, or a board approved occupational therapy education program, and where no set number of hours was assigned, 1 hour is earned per 60 minutes of participation. Duplicate credit for an identical or substantially identical program in the same renewal period is not allowed. A continuing education program that satisfies the human trafficking training or the implicit bias training may be counted toward both that mandate and the 20 hours. The rules read state no carryover provision, no first renewal exemption, and no cap on online or self study formats overall; the only format specific cap is 5 hours for independent reading or listening without a self assessment component. A waiver request under MCL 333.16205 must reach the department not less than 30 days before the last regularly scheduled board meeting before the license expires. Supervision of an occupational therapy assistant by an occupational therapist is a practice requirement, not continuing education, and is not counted here.

Required CE topics for Michigan occupational therapy assistants

State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.

TopicHoursFrequencyApplies toCitation
Pain and symptom managementAt least 1 of the 20 continuing education hours must be earned in pain and symptom management, which may include behavior management, psychology of pain, pharmacology, behavior modification, stress management, clinical applications, and drug interventions as they relate to the practice of occupational therapy.1 contact hourEvery renewalAll licenseesR 338.1252(1); MCL 333.16204
Implicit bias trainingR 338.7004(2) requires a renewal applicant to complete a minimum of 1 hour of implicit bias training for each year of the license cycle, which is 2 hours for the two year occupational therapy assistant cycle. Implicit bias hours cannot be carried forward to the next cycle, documentation is kept 6 years, and a board approved program that satisfies R 338.7004 may also count toward the 20 continuing education hours. Initial applicants need 2 hours within the 5 years before the license is issued.2 contact hoursEvery renewalAll licenseesR 338.7004(2); R 338.1252(4)
Training in identifying victims of human traffickingA one time training covering the types and venues of human trafficking, identifying victims and warning signs in health care settings, and reporting resources. The rule sets no hour count. If the training is a board approved continuing education program it may also count toward the 20 hours (R 338.1252(3)). The department may audit and accept either a completion certificate or a self certification statement.Not statedOne timeAll licenseesR 338.1215; MCL 333.16148

Documentation and audit

Proof submitted at renewalNo, attestation only
Keep records for4 years
Board audits complianceYes
Approved providersSubmitting the renewal application is the applicant's certification of compliance (R 338.1251(3)). Documentation is retained for 4 years after the date of applying for renewal and produced if the board requires evidence (R 338.1251(4) and (5)). A continuing education program or activity is approved if it is approved or offered for continuing education credit by AOTA, an IACET authorized provider, the Michigan Occupational Therapy Association, NBCOT, another state or provincial board of occupational therapy, or a board approved occupational therapy education program; employer provided workplace training and third party presentations also count when the subject matter addresses an occupational therapy service as defined in MCL 333.18301(1)(c) and the service is named on the certificate of completion. If audited, the licensee submits a letter or certificate showing the licensee's name, credits earned, sponsor or approving organization, and the date. The bureau offers CE Broker for tracking.

Common questions

How many CE hours does a Michigan OTA need to renew?
Michigan occupational therapy assistants must complete 20 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Michigan Board of Occupational Therapists (LARA Bureau of Professional Licensing). R 338.1251(2) requires an applicant for license renewal to accumulate not less than 20 continuing education hours approved by the board under R 338.1252 during the two year licensing period immediately preceding the application. Michigan states one requirement for both credentials: R 338.1251(1) applies the rule to an occupational therapist license, an occupational therapy assistant license, and a special retired volunteer license together, so the occupational therapy assistant figure is the same 20 hours as the occupational therapist figure and was read in the same sentence rather than found separately. The acceptable activity table in R 338.1252 is also written for occupational therapists and occupational therapy assistants jointly and sets no separate assistant limits. Approved programs and activities may supply the whole 20 hours without limitation; a program is approved if it is approved or offered for credit by AOTA, an IACET authorized provider, the Michigan Occupational Therapy Association, NBCOT, another state or provincial occupational therapy board, or a board approved occupational therapy education program, and where no set number of hours was assigned, 1 hour is earned per 60 minutes of participation. Duplicate credit for an identical or substantially identical program in the same renewal period is not allowed. A continuing education program that satisfies the human trafficking training or the implicit bias training may be counted toward both that mandate and the 20 hours. The rules read state no carryover provision, no first renewal exemption, and no cap on online or self study formats overall; the only format specific cap is 5 hours for independent reading or listening without a self assessment component. A waiver request under MCL 333.16205 must reach the department not less than 30 days before the last regularly scheduled board meeting before the license expires. Supervision of an occupational therapy assistant by an occupational therapist is a practice requirement, not continuing education, and is not counted here.
How often does a Michigan OTA license need to be renewed?
Occupational Therapy Assistant licenses in Michigan renew every two years. Occupational therapy assistant licenses expire biennially and must be renewed every two years on or before the issue date, which is the date the initial license was granted (R 338.7001a and R 338.7001(1)(d)). R 338.7001a lists occupational therapy as a whole, and R 338.1251 applies to occupational therapist and occupational therapy assistant licenses in the same sentence. Continuing education must be earned during the two year licensing period immediately preceding the renewal application, and renewal is filed online through MiPLUS.
What specific CE topics are required for Michigan occupational therapy assistants?
Pain and symptom management: 1 contact hour every renewal cycle. Implicit bias training: 2 contact hours every renewal cycle. Training in identifying victims of human trafficking: a one-time requirement. Citations: pain and symptom management (R 338.1252(1); MCL 333.16204), implicit bias training (R 338.7004(2); R 338.1252(4)), and training in identifying victims of human trafficking (R 338.1215; MCL 333.16148).
Do Michigan occupational therapy assistants have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates, the board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation, and records must be kept for 4 years. Submitting the renewal application is the applicant's certification of compliance (R 338.1251(3)). Documentation is retained for 4 years after the date of applying for renewal and produced if the board requires evidence (R 338.1251(4) and (5)). A continuing education program or activity is approved if it is approved or offered for continuing education credit by AOTA, an IACET authorized provider, the Michigan Occupational Therapy Association, NBCOT, another state or provincial board of occupational therapy, or a board approved occupational therapy education program; employer provided workplace training and third party presentations also count when the subject matter addresses an occupational therapy service as defined in MCL 333.18301(1)(c) and the service is named on the certificate of completion. If audited, the licensee submits a letter or certificate showing the licensee's name, credits earned, sponsor or approving organization, and the date. The bureau offers CE Broker for tracking.

Sources

Last verified September 10, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.

The 20 hour total, the two year window, the pain and symptom management hour, the 4 year retention and the activity table were read directly in the occupational therapy general rules as amended by 2026 MR 6, effective March 19, 2026, served as HTML by the LARA administrative rules site. R 338.1251 is a single rule covering occupational therapist licenses, occupational therapy assistant licenses and special retired volunteer licenses, so this record cites the same text as mi-ot and does not imply a separate assistant figure was found; nothing in R 338.1251 or R 338.1252 sets a different total, a different category limit, or a different renewal date for assistants. The biennial issue date renewal cycle and the implicit bias hours were read in the Public Health Code General Rules from the same site: R 338.7001a lists occupational therapy among the licenses that expire biennially on the issue date, and R 338.7004(2) sets 1 hour of implicit bias training per year of the cycle. Michigan regulates occupational therapy through its own Michigan Board of Occupational Therapists, not through the physical therapy board, and these figures are unrelated to mi-pt and mi-pta. One general search summary claimed that one half of the hours must be live, synchronous and interactive; no such requirement appears in R 338.1251 or R 338.1252, so it was not recorded. NBCOT certification is not a renewal condition: NBCOT is one of the organizations whose approval makes a course acceptable, the NBCOT assistant examination is the adopted licensure examination under R 338.1231a, and maintaining NBCOT certification appears only in the relicensure path for a lapsed assistant license (R 338.1236). The board's own page is served only with a browser user agent; plain automated clients receive an Akamai 403. The occupational therapy assistant licensing guide is published only as a PDF, which was not opened, so renewal_url is null and no fee figure is recorded.

Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Michigan Board of Occupational Therapists (LARA Bureau of Professional Licensing) before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.