Michigan Nurse Practitioner license renewal and CE requirements
Michigan nurse practitioners must complete 25 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Michigan Board of Nursing (Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, Bureau of Professional Licensing).
Michigan nursing licenses expire biennially, two years from the issue date of the initial license rather than on a common date. The nurse practitioner title in Michigan is a specialty certification held by a registered nurse, and it rides on the registered nurse license: suspension or revocation of the RN license carries the specialty certification with it, so the renewal that matters is the RN renewal. A license carrying a limitation may be renewed for a term shorter than two years.
Summary
Michigan nurse practitioners must complete 25 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Michigan Board of Nursing (Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, Bureau of Professional Licensing). Michigan nursing licenses expire biennially, two years from the issue date of the initial license rather than on a common date. The nurse practitioner title in Michigan is a specialty certification held by a registered nurse, and it rides on the registered nurse license: suspension or revocation of the RN license carries the specialty certification with it, so the renewal that matters is the RN renewal. A license carrying a limitation may be renewed for a term shorter than two years. Michigan also mandates specific subjects. Pain and pain symptom management: 2 contact hours every renewal cycle. Implicit bias training: 2 contact hours every renewal cycle (every individual applying for renewal of a license or registration under article 15 of the public health code, except those licensed under part 188). Opioids and other controlled substances awareness training: a one-time requirement (A license renewal applicant who also applies for a Michigan controlled substance license). Training in identifying victims of human trafficking: a one-time requirement (individuals licensed or registered under article 15 of the public health code).
Michigan Nurse Practitioner renewal and continuing education rules
"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.
| Renewal cycle | Two-year (24 months) |
|---|---|
| Renewal deadline | Tied to the original issue date |
| Continuing education required | Yes |
| Hours per cycle | 25 contact hours |
| Self-study or online cap | No cap stated |
| Carryover to next cycle | Not stated |
| First renewal exempt | Not stated |
| Other accepted activities | Obtaining or maintaining national certification as a nurse practitioner, clinical nurse specialist, nurse midwife or nurse anesthetist counts as the full 25 hours of continuing education, including the 2 hours of pain and symptom management; Completing a nursing or health related academic course or a board approved program, credited by the rule's activity table; Initial publication of a nursing or healthcare textbook, peer reviewed textbook or peer reviewed article, up to 10 hours; Independent learning activities, up to 4 hours; Participation in a professional nursing organization committee or similar activity, up to 4 hours; Presenting continuing education outside the applicant's regular job description, 3 hours each, up to 6 hours; Serving as a preceptor, up to 5 hours |
Michigan does not add a nurse practitioner hour count on top of the registered nurse requirement. R 338.10601 requires an applicant for license renewal to accumulate not less than 25 hours of continuing education during the renewal period, of which at least 2 hours must be in pain and pain symptom management. The rule's activity table then treats obtaining or maintaining national certification as a nurse practitioner (or clinical nurse specialist, nurse midwife or nurse anesthetist) as worth the full 25 hours including the 2 pain hours, so a nationally certified nurse practitioner satisfies the requirement through certification. No more than 12 credit hours may be earned in any 24 hour period, and, apart from the implicit bias training, an applicant may not use the same activity to satisfy two requirements. Michigan certifies the nurse practitioner as a nursing specialty rather than issuing a separate advanced practice license, and the nursing rules set no separate continuing education for renewing the specialty certification itself; only the nurse anesthetist certification has its own renewal rule.
Required CE topics for Michigan nurse practitioners
State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.
| Topic | Hours | Frequency | Applies to | Citation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pain and pain symptom managementAt least 2 of the 25 hours each renewal period. The rule says the content may include behavior management, psychology of pain, pharmacology, behavior modification, stress management, clinical applications and drug interventions as they relate to pain. | 2 contact hours | Every renewal | All licensees | R 338.10601(2); MCL 333.16204(2) |
| Implicit bias trainingThe rule requires a minimum of 1 hour of implicit bias training for each year of the license cycle, which is 2 hours for a two year nursing license; an initial applicant needs 2 hours. Unlike other activities, this training may be counted both against the implicit bias requirement and against the continuing education total. Hours cannot be carried forward from an earlier cycle. Proof, either a completion certificate or a self attestation, is kept for 6 years after the date of applying and produced if audited. | 2 contact hours | Every renewal | Every individual applying for renewal of a license or registration under article 15 of the public health code, except those licensed under part 188 | R 338.7004 |
| Opioids and other controlled substances awareness trainingThe nursing rule calls it a one time training required under R 338.3135, which covers use of the Michigan Automated Prescription System and state and federal law on prescribing and dispensing controlled substances. R 338.3135 itself is written around the controlled substance license: an individual applying for or renewing that license completes the training, and proof is kept for 3 renewal periods plus one additional year. No hour count is stated. | Not stated | One time | A license renewal applicant who also applies for a Michigan controlled substance license | R 338.10601(3); R 338.3135 |
| Training in identifying victims of human traffickingThe statute directs that the training standards apply at renewal beginning with the first renewal cycle after the rules were promulgated, and to initial licenses issued five or more years after promulgation, which makes it a one time requirement rather than a recurring one. Content must cover the types and venues of human trafficking, identifying victims and warning signs in healthcare settings for adults and minors, and resources for reporting. No hour count is stated. | Not stated | One time | Individuals licensed or registered under article 15 of the public health code | R 338.10105; MCL 333.16148 |
Documentation and audit
| Proof submitted at renewal | No, attestation only |
|---|---|
| Keep records for | 6 years |
| Board audits compliance | Yes |
| Approved providers | Continuing education must be approved by, or offered for credit by, one of the organizations the rule lists: AANA, AANP, ACCME, ACNM, AMA, ANCC, AOA, the National Association of Clinical Nurse Specialists, NAPNES, the NLN, another state or provincial board of nursing, or a program approved by the Michigan board. Submitting the renewal application is the applicant's certification of compliance; the nurse keeps the documentation and the board may require evidence. Failure to comply is a violation of MCL 333.16221(h). A hardship waiver under MCL 333.16205 must reach the department at least 30 days before the last regularly scheduled board meeting before the license expires. The 6 year retention shown here is the implicit bias rule's retention period; the nursing rule states no separate number. |
Common questions
- How many CE hours does a Michigan NP need to renew?
- Michigan nurse practitioners must complete 25 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Michigan Board of Nursing (Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, Bureau of Professional Licensing). Michigan does not add a nurse practitioner hour count on top of the registered nurse requirement. R 338.10601 requires an applicant for license renewal to accumulate not less than 25 hours of continuing education during the renewal period, of which at least 2 hours must be in pain and pain symptom management. The rule's activity table then treats obtaining or maintaining national certification as a nurse practitioner (or clinical nurse specialist, nurse midwife or nurse anesthetist) as worth the full 25 hours including the 2 pain hours, so a nationally certified nurse practitioner satisfies the requirement through certification. No more than 12 credit hours may be earned in any 24 hour period, and, apart from the implicit bias training, an applicant may not use the same activity to satisfy two requirements. Michigan certifies the nurse practitioner as a nursing specialty rather than issuing a separate advanced practice license, and the nursing rules set no separate continuing education for renewing the specialty certification itself; only the nurse anesthetist certification has its own renewal rule.
- How often does a Michigan NP license need to be renewed?
- Nurse Practitioner licenses in Michigan renew every two years. Michigan nursing licenses expire biennially, two years from the issue date of the initial license rather than on a common date. The nurse practitioner title in Michigan is a specialty certification held by a registered nurse, and it rides on the registered nurse license: suspension or revocation of the RN license carries the specialty certification with it, so the renewal that matters is the RN renewal. A license carrying a limitation may be renewed for a term shorter than two years.
- What specific CE topics are required for Michigan nurse practitioners?
- Pain and pain symptom management: 2 contact hours every renewal cycle. Implicit bias training: 2 contact hours every renewal cycle (every individual applying for renewal of a license or registration under article 15 of the public health code, except those licensed under part 188). Opioids and other controlled substances awareness training: a one-time requirement (A license renewal applicant who also applies for a Michigan controlled substance license). Training in identifying victims of human trafficking: a one-time requirement (individuals licensed or registered under article 15 of the public health code). Citations: pain and pain symptom management (R 338.10601(2); MCL 333.16204(2)), implicit bias training (R 338.7004), opioids and other controlled substances awareness training (R 338.10601(3); R 338.3135), and training in identifying victims of human trafficking (R 338.10105; MCL 333.16148).
- Do Michigan nurse practitioners have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
- Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates, the board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation, and records must be kept for 6 years. Continuing education must be approved by, or offered for credit by, one of the organizations the rule lists: AANA, AANP, ACCME, ACNM, AMA, ANCC, AOA, the National Association of Clinical Nurse Specialists, NAPNES, the NLN, another state or provincial board of nursing, or a program approved by the Michigan board. Submitting the renewal application is the applicant's certification of compliance; the nurse keeps the documentation and the board may require evidence. Failure to comply is a violation of MCL 333.16221(h). A hardship waiver under MCL 333.16205 must reach the department at least 30 days before the last regularly scheduled board meeting before the license expires. The 6 year retention shown here is the implicit bias rule's retention period; the nursing rule states no separate number.
Sources
Last verified September 8, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.
- Michigan Administrative Code, Board of Nursing General Rules R 338.10101 to R 338.10705, including R 338.10401 to 10406 specialty certification, R 338.10601 license renewals and R 338.10602 acceptable continuing education (rendered as HTML by the state rules system)Statute or administrative rule, accessed September 8, 2026
- Michigan Administrative Code, Public Health Code General Rules R 338.7001 to R 338.7005, including R 338.7001a biennial renewal, R 338.7002 triennial renewal and R 338.7004 implicit bias training standards (rendered as HTML)Statute or administrative rule, accessed September 8, 2026
- Mich. Admin. Code R. 338.3135 Opioids and other controlled substances awareness training standards for prescribers and dispensers (Cornell LII mirror)Third-party summary, accessed September 8, 2026
- MCL 333.16148 Training standards for identifying victims of human traffickingStatute or administrative rule, accessed September 8, 2026
- Nursing, Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, Bureau of Professional LicensingState board page, accessed September 8, 2026
Michigan does not issue a nurse practitioner license. It licenses the registered nurse and certifies the specialty, so the nurse practitioner is an RN certified by the board to use that title under R 338.10401(d), and the continuing education recorded here is the registered nurse requirement, which is what a Michigan nurse practitioner actually owes. The specialty certification part of the rules (R 338.10401 to 10406) sets a renewal rule only for nurse anesthetists, so no separate nurse practitioner increment exists. Hours, the pain and symptom management carve out, the national certification equivalence and the activity table were read in the state's own rendered HTML of the Board of Nursing general rules; the biennial expiration and the implicit bias standards in the Public Health Code general rules. Michigan publishes these as PDF files, and the state's rules system serves the same files as HTML through a ReturnHTML parameter, which is what was read; no file was downloaded. The opioid rule text was read on the Cornell LII mirror because the pharmacy and controlled substances rule file was not located in the state HTML view. Whether the board requires proof of current national certification to keep the nurse practitioner specialty certification could not be confirmed in the rules read here, so it is recorded only as a way to satisfy the hours. No pharmacology hour count appears anywhere in the Michigan nursing rules.
Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Michigan Board of Nursing (Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, Bureau of Professional Licensing) before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.