Vermont Physical Therapist license renewal and CE requirements
Vermont physical therapists must complete 24 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Vermont Office of Professional Regulation, Physical Therapists.
Licenses renew on a fixed biennial schedule, expiring September 30 of even-numbered years, and must be renewed before they expire (Physical Therapy Rule 3.1). Renewal applications open six weeks before the expiration date in OPR's Online Services system; expiration dates are printed on the license. An initial license issued within 90 days of the expiration date runs through the next full license period; one issued more than 90 days before expiration must be renewed (Rule 2.2).
Summary
Vermont physical therapists must complete 24 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Vermont Office of Professional Regulation, Physical Therapists. Licenses renew on a fixed biennial schedule, expiring September 30 of even-numbered years, and must be renewed before they expire (Physical Therapy Rule 3.1). Renewal applications open six weeks before the expiration date in OPR's Online Services system; expiration dates are printed on the license. An initial license issued within 90 days of the expiration date runs through the next full license period; one issued more than 90 days before expiration must be renewed (Rule 2.2).
Vermont Physical Therapist renewal and continuing education rules
"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.
| Renewal cycle | Two-year (24 months) |
|---|---|
| Renewal deadline | Same date for every licensee, 09/30 each cycle |
| Continuing education required | Yes |
| Hours per cycle | 24 contact hours |
| Self-study or online cap | No cap stated |
| Carryover to next cycle | Not stated |
| First renewal exempt | No |
| Other accepted activities | Formal academic credit-bearing coursework related to physical therapy (1 credit = 15 CCUs, up to 24); APTA Credentialed Clinical Instructor basic or advanced course (14 CCUs per course); APTA Credentialed Clinical Instructor Trainer (24 CCUs); APTA credentialed residency or fellowship (12 CCUs per year of participation, max 24); ABPTS specialty certification or recertification (24 CCUs); FSBPT Practice Review Tools (4 CCUs for completing, 8 for meeting the standard, max 16); Non-approved courses or conferences (2 class hours = 1 CCU, up to 12); Group study, individual study, or formal mentored independent study (3 study hours = 1 CCU, up to 4 each); In-service sessions (1 hour = 0.5 CCU, up to 3); Safety training such as CPR/AED, OSHA, HIPAA (1 hour = 0.5 CCU, up to 1); Clinical instruction of PT or PTA students, residents, or fellows (1 CCU per 40 hours, up to 8); Teaching or presenting in accredited PT or PTA programs, other health programs, or conferences (1 to 2 CCUs per hour, caps of 4 to 8); Professional office or committee service (1 to 5 CCUs per year, caps of 2 to 10); Volunteer PT-related community service (20 hours per year = 1 CCU, up to 2); Research grants, grant or manuscript review, books, chapters, articles, abstracts, posters (2 to 8 CCUs each; 12 CCU category maximum) |
Vermont counts Continuing Competence Units (CCUs); OPR's CC Table states that, unless indicated otherwise, 1 hour of continuing competence activity = 1 CCU = 1 clock hour, and that 1 CEU = 10 contact hours = 10 CCUs, so this record uses contact hours. A physical therapist must document 24 CCUs during the two-year licensing period preceding renewal, in subjects related to the professional practice of physical therapy or patient/client management; the rule says this provision applies to all renewal periods, so there is no first-renewal exemption stated (Rule 4.1). Courses, seminars, and conferences from OPR-approved providers earn 1 CCU per class hour with no cap up to the full 24; activities not sponsored by approved providers carry the caps listed above (non-approved courses count at half rate, up to 12 CCUs; self-directed study at one third rate, up to 4 CCUs). Live instruction, recorded or electronic media, and internet delivery are all permitted (Rule 4.2(c)); per H.305 (2023), synchronous virtual courses qualify as live, in-person training. No credit for institutional meetings such as rounds or staff meetings, or routine teaching of personnel as a job requirement. Carryover is not addressed in the rule or table.
Required CE topics for Vermont physical therapists
The Vermont Office of Professional Regulation, Physical Therapists pages and rules we read do not mandate specific subject areas for this license type. Hours may be in any approved subject.
Documentation and audit
| Proof submitted at renewal | Yes |
|---|---|
| Keep records for | 5 years |
| Board audits compliance | Yes |
| Approved providers | The OPR Director approves providers meeting Rule 4.3; activities sponsored by an approved provider are automatically approved for credit, and OPR maintains a list of approved providers and institutions plus CCU tables for approved and non-approved activities. A licensee may seek individual approval of a non-sponsored activity no later than 90 days before renewal (Rule 4.4). Renewal instructions (April 2026) direct licensees to upload completion certificates showing a minimum of 24 credits completed within the two-year cycle. OPR performs random audits; audited licensees have 30 days to furnish documentary evidence, and records must be retained five years after the activity concludes (Rule 4.5). |
Common questions
- How many CE hours does a Vermont PT need to renew?
- Vermont physical therapists must complete 24 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Vermont Office of Professional Regulation, Physical Therapists. Vermont counts Continuing Competence Units (CCUs); OPR's CC Table states that, unless indicated otherwise, 1 hour of continuing competence activity = 1 CCU = 1 clock hour, and that 1 CEU = 10 contact hours = 10 CCUs, so this record uses contact hours. A physical therapist must document 24 CCUs during the two-year licensing period preceding renewal, in subjects related to the professional practice of physical therapy or patient/client management; the rule says this provision applies to all renewal periods, so there is no first-renewal exemption stated (Rule 4.1). Courses, seminars, and conferences from OPR-approved providers earn 1 CCU per class hour with no cap up to the full 24; activities not sponsored by approved providers carry the caps listed above (non-approved courses count at half rate, up to 12 CCUs; self-directed study at one third rate, up to 4 CCUs). Live instruction, recorded or electronic media, and internet delivery are all permitted (Rule 4.2(c)); per H.305 (2023), synchronous virtual courses qualify as live, in-person training. No credit for institutional meetings such as rounds or staff meetings, or routine teaching of personnel as a job requirement. Carryover is not addressed in the rule or table.
- How often does a Vermont PT license need to be renewed?
- Physical Therapist licenses in Vermont renew every two years. Licenses renew on a fixed biennial schedule, expiring September 30 of even-numbered years, and must be renewed before they expire (Physical Therapy Rule 3.1). Renewal applications open six weeks before the expiration date in OPR's Online Services system; expiration dates are printed on the license. An initial license issued within 90 days of the expiration date runs through the next full license period; one issued more than 90 days before expiration must be renewed (Rule 2.2).
- Does Vermont require specific CE topics for physical therapists?
- The Vermont Office of Professional Regulation, Physical Therapists does not list mandated subject areas for PT renewal on the pages we verified; the 24 contact hours may be in any approved subject.
- Do Vermont physical therapists have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
- Proof of completion must be submitted with the renewal, the board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation, and records must be kept for 5 years. The OPR Director approves providers meeting Rule 4.3; activities sponsored by an approved provider are automatically approved for credit, and OPR maintains a list of approved providers and institutions plus CCU tables for approved and non-approved activities. A licensee may seek individual approval of a non-sponsored activity no later than 90 days before renewal (Rule 4.4). Renewal instructions (April 2026) direct licensees to upload completion certificates showing a minimum of 24 credits completed within the two-year cycle. OPR performs random audits; audited licensees have 30 days to furnish documentary evidence, and records must be retained five years after the activity concludes (Rule 4.5).
- Is the first Vermont PT renewal exempt from CE?
- No. Vermont applies the continuing education requirement to the first renewal as well.
Sources
Last verified September 7, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.
- Administrative Rules for Physical Therapists (Physical Therapy Rule), Vermont OPR, effective June 1, 2013, Parts 2 to 4Statute or administrative rule, accessed September 7, 2026
- Physical Therapy Continuing Competence (CC) Table, Vermont OPRState board page, accessed September 7, 2026
- Physical Therapist Renewal Instructions, Vermont OPR, April 2026State board page, accessed September 7, 2026
- Physical Therapist Forms and Instructions, Vermont Secretary of State OPRState board page, accessed September 7, 2026
- Physical Therapist Statutes, Rules and Resources, Vermont Secretary of State OPRState board page, accessed September 7, 2026
- Physical Therapists, Vermont Secretary of State Office of Professional RegulationState board page, accessed September 7, 2026
Physical therapists in Vermont are regulated directly by the Office of Professional Regulation with advisor appointees rather than a standalone board. Cycle (September 30 of even years), 24 CCUs, five-year retention, random audit, and provider approval were read from Parts 2 to 4 of the OPR rule PDF (effective June 1, 2013, still the version linked from OPR's site); CCU values and caps from OPR's CC Table (dated 8.30.12); the certificate upload requirement from the April 2026 renewal instructions. OPR's 'Important information for renewal' PDF only describes a one-time half requirement for the 2014 cycle and was not cited. Not stated: carryover, any live or category minimum, any mandatory subject, and proration for first renewals (the rule says the 24 CCU requirement applies to all renewal periods; the 90-day initial license rule in 2.2 governs whether a first renewal is due at all).
Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Vermont Office of Professional Regulation, Physical Therapists before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.