Skip to main content
CredNet

Vermont Physician (MD) license renewal and CE requirements

Vermont physicians (MD) must complete 30 CME credits of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Vermont Board of Medical Practice.

MD licenses renew every two years and expire November 30 of even numbered years. Any license issued before September 1 of an even year expires on November 30 of that year, must be renewed before that date, and is charged the full renewal fee. The Board sends a renewal application and notice at least one month before the renewal date.

Renewal cycle
Two-year
Same date for every licensee
CE per cycle
30
CME credits
Mandated topics
2
required subjects
Last verified
September 7, 2026
15 days ago

Summary

Vermont physicians (MD) must complete 30 CME credits of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Vermont Board of Medical Practice. MD licenses renew every two years and expire November 30 of even numbered years. Any license issued before September 1 of an even year expires on November 30 of that year, must be renewed before that date, and is charged the full renewal fee. The Board sends a renewal application and notice at least one month before the renewal date. Vermont also mandates specific subjects. Hospice, palliative care, or pain management services: 1 CME credit every renewal cycle (all physician licensees who are required to complete CME). Prescribing controlled substances: 2 CME credits every renewal cycle (physician licensees who prescribe controlled substances. A licensee registered with the DEA who holds a DEA number, or who has a pending application for one, is presumed to prescribe controlled substances and must meet this requirement.). The first renewal is exempt.

Vermont Physician (MD) renewal and continuing education rules

"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.

Renewal cycleTwo-year (24 months)
Renewal deadlineSame date for every licensee, 11/30 each cycleFirst renewal is prorated.
Continuing education requiredYes
Hours per cycle30 CME credits
Category 1 minimum30 CME credits
Self-study or online capNo cap stated
Carryover to next cycleNot stated
First renewal exemptYes
Other accepted activitiesParticipation in an approved graduate medical education program: a successfully completed year of full-time participation during the two year licensing period may count for 15 hours; Teaching credit: the AMA PRA program grants two hours of credit for each hour of training presented by a physician, and the Board recognizes those credits the same way; Certain activities sponsored by the Board may qualify even if not designated AMA PRA Category 1, when the Board states that credit is available

At least 30 hours of qualifying CME during the most recent two year licensing period. Qualifying CME is activity approved for AMA PRA Category 1 Credit, so the full total is Category 1 except for certain Board-sponsored activities the Board specifically designates. First renewal: a physician licensed in Vermont for less than one year during the licensing period has no CME requirement at the first renewal, and one licensed for a year or more must complete at least 15 hours including any required subjects. Armed forces members mobilized or deployed for all or part of a cycle are treated the same way. A physician who has not completed the CME by the renewal deadline must file an acceptable make-up plan with the renewal application and has up to 120 days to complete it, extendable by 90 days; make-up activity does not also count toward the current cycle. Licensees not in active practice still must complete CME including the required subjects.

Required CE topics for Vermont physician (md)s

State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.

TopicHoursFrequencyApplies toCitation
Hospice, palliative care, or pain management servicesAt each renewal the licensee certifies that at least one of the qualifying CME hours was on hospice, palliative care, or pain management services. It counts toward the 30 hours.1 CME creditEvery renewalAll physician licensees who are required to complete CME26 V.S.A. 1400(b); Board of Medical Practice Rule 24.1.5
Prescribing controlled substancesAt least two hours of qualifying CME on controlled substance prescribing, certified at each renewal. The course must cover abuse and diversion, safe use, appropriate storage and disposal of controlled substances, appropriate use of the Vermont Prescription Monitoring System, risk assessment for abuse or addiction, pharmacological and nonpharmacological alternatives to opioids for managing pain, medication tapering and cessation, and relevant state and federal law on prescribing opioid controlled substances. The hours count toward the 30 hours.2 CME creditsEvery renewalPhysician licensees who prescribe controlled substances. A licensee registered with the DEA who holds a DEA number, or who has a pending application for one, is presumed to prescribe controlled substances and must meet this requirement.Board of Medical Practice Rule 24.1.6

Documentation and audit

Proof submitted at renewalNo, attestation only
Keep records for4 years
Board audits complianceYes
Approved providersActivities approved for AMA PRA Category 1 Credit qualify as approved Vermont CME; certain Board-sponsored activities may also qualify when the Board states so. The licensee does not file documentation at the time CME is reported but must retain it for four years from submission, and the Board may audit CME records for up to four years and require prompt production.

Common questions

How many CE hours does a Vermont MD need to renew?
Vermont physicians (MD) must complete 30 CME credits of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Vermont Board of Medical Practice. At least 30 hours of qualifying CME during the most recent two year licensing period. Qualifying CME is activity approved for AMA PRA Category 1 Credit, so the full total is Category 1 except for certain Board-sponsored activities the Board specifically designates. First renewal: a physician licensed in Vermont for less than one year during the licensing period has no CME requirement at the first renewal, and one licensed for a year or more must complete at least 15 hours including any required subjects. Armed forces members mobilized or deployed for all or part of a cycle are treated the same way. A physician who has not completed the CME by the renewal deadline must file an acceptable make-up plan with the renewal application and has up to 120 days to complete it, extendable by 90 days; make-up activity does not also count toward the current cycle. Licensees not in active practice still must complete CME including the required subjects.
How often does a Vermont MD license need to be renewed?
Physician (MD) licenses in Vermont renew every two years. MD licenses renew every two years and expire November 30 of even numbered years. Any license issued before September 1 of an even year expires on November 30 of that year, must be renewed before that date, and is charged the full renewal fee. The Board sends a renewal application and notice at least one month before the renewal date.
What specific CE topics are required for Vermont physicians (MD)?
Hospice, palliative care, or pain management services: 1 CME credit every renewal cycle (all physician licensees who are required to complete CME). Prescribing controlled substances: 2 CME credits every renewal cycle (physician licensees who prescribe controlled substances. A licensee registered with the DEA who holds a DEA number, or who has a pending application for one, is presumed to prescribe controlled substances and must meet this requirement.). Citations: hospice, palliative care, or pain management services (26 V.S.A. 1400(b); Board of Medical Practice Rule 24.1.5) and prescribing controlled substances (Board of Medical Practice Rule 24.1.6).
Do Vermont physicians (MD) have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates, the board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation, and records must be kept for 4 years. Activities approved for AMA PRA Category 1 Credit qualify as approved Vermont CME; certain Board-sponsored activities may also qualify when the Board states so. The licensee does not file documentation at the time CME is reported but must retain it for four years from submission, and the Board may audit CME records for up to four years and require prompt production.
Is the first Vermont MD renewal exempt from CE?
Yes. Vermont does not require continuing education for a MD's first renewal.

Sources

Last verified September 7, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.

Vermont splits the two professions: the Board of Medical Practice at the Department of Health licenses allopathic physicians, physician assistants, and podiatrists, and the Board of Medical Practice page states that osteopathic physicians are regulated by the Vermont Office of Professional Regulation. This record cites only the Board of Medical Practice. The November 30 even year expiration was read on the Board's licensing page; the 30 hour requirement, the first renewal rules, the two required subjects, the four year retention and audit window, and the make-up plan process were read in Section 24 of the Board's rules. The Board publishes its rules and its CME Hour Requirements FAQ only as PDFs, which were not downloaded, so the rule text was read from Cornell LII, which mirrors it. Carryover of excess hours is not addressed in the rule and is left null. Category 1 minimum is recorded as the full 30 hours because the rule defines qualifying CME as AMA PRA Category 1 activity, with a narrow exception for Board-sponsored activities the Board designates.

Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Vermont Board of Medical Practice before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.