Skip to main content
CredNet

New Hampshire Physical Therapist license renewal and CE requirements

New Hampshire physical therapists must complete 24 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the New Hampshire Physical Therapy Governing Board (Office of Professional Licensure and Certification).

The renewal year is 2 years from the date the license was issued (Phy 401.16), so each licensee renews biennially on their own issue-date anniversary through OPLC's universal renewal application. The renewal addendum lists the continuing education completed; a licensee whose license lapses may not practice until reinstated.

Renewal cycle
Two-year
Tied to the original issue date
CE per cycle
24
contact hours
Mandated topics
2
required subjects
Last verified
September 7, 2026
15 days ago

Summary

New Hampshire physical therapists must complete 24 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the New Hampshire Physical Therapy Governing Board (Office of Professional Licensure and Certification). The renewal year is 2 years from the date the license was issued (Phy 401.16), so each licensee renews biennially on their own issue-date anniversary through OPLC's universal renewal application. The renewal addendum lists the continuing education completed; a licensee whose license lapses may not practice until reinstated. New Hampshire also mandates specific subjects. New Hampshire jurisprudence assessment module (FSBPT NH JAM): 2 contact hours on a periodic schedule set by the board. Clinical application of physical therapy: 12 contact hours every renewal cycle.

New Hampshire Physical Therapist renewal and continuing education rules

"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.

Renewal cycleTwo-year (24 months)
Renewal deadlineTied to the original issue date
Continuing education requiredYes
Hours per cycle24 contact hours
Live or interactive minimum0 contact hours
Self-study or online capNo cap stated
Carryover to next cycleNot stated
First renewal exemptNo
Other accepted activitiesAcademic coursework in physical therapy (5 contact hours per credit hour); Facility-based in-service training (1 hour per clock hour, max 8 per cycle); Formal mentored independent study (2 clock hours per contact hour, max 8 per cycle); Direct supervision of PT or PTA students in clinical education (2 hours per student after 48 hours of supervision, max 8 per cycle); Supervision of conditionally licensed licensees (2 hours per licensee, max 8 per cycle); Publications (book 12 hours, peer-reviewed chapter or article 6, non-peer-reviewed 4; max 2 writings per cycle); Professional presentations (2 hours per clock hour, max 8 per cycle); Participation in a PT research project (1 hour per 4 clock hours, max 8 per cycle); Service on professional boards, committees, or agencies (2 hours each, max 4 per cycle); Teaching physical therapy (2 hours per clock hour, max 8 per cycle); Infection control, BLS, facility onboarding, orientation, HIPAA or annual training (1 hour per clock hour, max 2 per cycle); Journal study of an article dated within 5 years (4 hours, max 4 per cycle); NH jurisprudence assessment module (max 2 hours per cycle); Specialty certification examination (24 hours per exam passed in the cycle); Clinical residency or fellowship program (1 hour per clock hour, max 24 per cycle); Clinical mentoring in an accredited residency or fellowship (4 hours per resident after 100 hours, max 12 per cycle)

Phy 406.01 requires 24 contact hours of continuing professional education in each 2-year renewal cycle. At least one half (12 hours) must relate directly and primarily to the clinical application of physical therapy; the balance must relate to general physical therapy practice (supervision and consultation skills, curriculum development, trans-disciplinary issues). OPLC's summary states the requirements are not different for the first renewal, there is no restriction on delivery method, no exemptions, and courses do not need board pre-approval. Phy 406.01(b) lets a licensee coming from another state whose first NH license expires in under 2 years count CE earned outside the NH license period but within the 2-year cycle. Carryover is not addressed in Phy 400.

Required CE topics for New Hampshire physical therapists

State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.

TopicHoursFrequencyApplies toCitation
New Hampshire jurisprudence assessment module (FSBPT NH JAM)Every licensed PT must take and pass the NH jurisprudence assessment module each April, May, or June of years ending in 0 and 5 (open book, administered by FSBPT, passing score at least 80 percent); results go directly to OPLC. It is a renewal condition in those years and earns up to 2 contact hours toward the 24. Missing or failing it requires notifying OPLC within 30 days and requesting a make-up (Phy 402.07).2 contact hoursPeriodicAll licenseesPhy 402.01(a)(4); Phy 402.03; Phy 406.15
Clinical application of physical therapyDistribution requirement rather than a subject mandate: at least half of the 24 hours must relate directly and primarily to the clinical application of physical therapy; the remainder to general PT practice. Custom topic key used because no canonical key fits.12 contact hoursEvery renewalAll licenseesPhy 406.01(e)

Documentation and audit

Proof submitted at renewalNo, attestation only
Keep records for3 years
Board audits complianceYes
Approved providersNo board pre-approval of courses; activities must fit the categories in Phy 406.02 through 406.18. At renewal the licensee lists each activity on the renewal addendum (dates, title, sponsor, clinical and other hours, rule number claimed). Copies of documentation are furnished only when OPLC requests them in an audit; 10 percent of renewal applications in each renewal year are randomly audited and audited licensees have 30 days to return the Continuing Education Audit Form with proof (Phy 402.08). Documentation must be retained for at least 3 years (Phy 410.03(d)).

Common questions

How many CE hours does a New Hampshire PT need to renew?
New Hampshire physical therapists must complete 24 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the New Hampshire Physical Therapy Governing Board (Office of Professional Licensure and Certification). Phy 406.01 requires 24 contact hours of continuing professional education in each 2-year renewal cycle. At least one half (12 hours) must relate directly and primarily to the clinical application of physical therapy; the balance must relate to general physical therapy practice (supervision and consultation skills, curriculum development, trans-disciplinary issues). OPLC's summary states the requirements are not different for the first renewal, there is no restriction on delivery method, no exemptions, and courses do not need board pre-approval. Phy 406.01(b) lets a licensee coming from another state whose first NH license expires in under 2 years count CE earned outside the NH license period but within the 2-year cycle. Carryover is not addressed in Phy 400.
How often does a New Hampshire PT license need to be renewed?
Physical Therapist licenses in New Hampshire renew every two years. The renewal year is 2 years from the date the license was issued (Phy 401.16), so each licensee renews biennially on their own issue-date anniversary through OPLC's universal renewal application. The renewal addendum lists the continuing education completed; a licensee whose license lapses may not practice until reinstated.
What specific CE topics are required for New Hampshire physical therapists?
New Hampshire jurisprudence assessment module (FSBPT NH JAM): 2 contact hours on a periodic schedule set by the board. Clinical application of physical therapy: 12 contact hours every renewal cycle. Citations: New Hampshire jurisprudence assessment module (FSBPT NH JAM) (Phy 402.01(a)(4); Phy 402.03; Phy 406.15) and clinical application of physical therapy (Phy 406.01(e)).
Do New Hampshire physical therapists have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates, the board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation, and records must be kept for 3 years. No board pre-approval of courses; activities must fit the categories in Phy 406.02 through 406.18. At renewal the licensee lists each activity on the renewal addendum (dates, title, sponsor, clinical and other hours, rule number claimed). Copies of documentation are furnished only when OPLC requests them in an audit; 10 percent of renewal applications in each renewal year are randomly audited and audited licensees have 30 days to return the Continuing Education Audit Form with proof (Phy 402.08). Documentation must be retained for at least 3 years (Phy 410.03(d)).
Is the first New Hampshire PT renewal exempt from CE?
No. New Hampshire applies the continuing education requirement to the first renewal as well.

Sources

Last verified September 7, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.

Cycle (2 years from issue date), 24 contact hours, the 12-hour clinical minimum, the every-five-years jurisprudence module, the 10 percent audit, and 3-year retention were all read from the Phy 400 rule text on the General Court site; OPLC's CE summary page (loaded in a browser because oplc.nh.gov returns 403 to automated fetches) confirms 24 hours, the 2-year cycle, no first-renewal difference, no delivery-method restriction, and no pre-approval. The board homepage URL is listed as board_url but itself returned 403 to automated fetching. Phy 400 does not address carryover, so carryover_allowed is null; live_or_interactive_minimum is recorded as 0 because OPLC states there is no restriction on delivery method. The clinical-application minimum is recorded under a custom topic key since it is a distribution rule, not a subject mandate.

Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the New Hampshire Physical Therapy Governing Board (Office of Professional Licensure and Certification) before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.