Skip to main content
CredNet

New Hampshire Physician (MD) license renewal and CE requirements

New Hampshire physicians (MD) must complete 100 CME credits of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the New Hampshire Board of Medicine, Office of Professional Licensure and Certification.

Licenses issued by the Office of Professional Licensure and Certification are valid for 2 years from the date of issuance (RSA 310:8, II), and the licensing terms in that section supersede any conflicting terms in the Board of Medicine statute. The completed renewal application, fee and supporting documents must be filed on or before the expiration of the license; a license not renewed by then expires and lapses one year after expiration. OPLC gives notice at least 2 months before expiration, but failure to receive notice does not excuse renewal. Board rule Med 402.02(a) adds that the biennial CME report form must be returned on or before February 28 of the physician's renewal year and that a late fee applies if the CME is not completed by December 31 of the final year of the cycle.

Renewal cycle
Two-year
Tied to the original issue date
CE per cycle
100
CME credits
Mandated topics
1
required subject
Last verified
September 7, 2026
15 days ago

Summary

New Hampshire physicians (MD) must complete 100 CME credits of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the New Hampshire Board of Medicine, Office of Professional Licensure and Certification. Licenses issued by the Office of Professional Licensure and Certification are valid for 2 years from the date of issuance (RSA 310:8, II), and the licensing terms in that section supersede any conflicting terms in the Board of Medicine statute. The completed renewal application, fee and supporting documents must be filed on or before the expiration of the license; a license not renewed by then expires and lapses one year after expiration. OPLC gives notice at least 2 months before expiration, but failure to receive notice does not excuse renewal. Board rule Med 402.02(a) adds that the biennial CME report form must be returned on or before February 28 of the physician's renewal year and that a late fee applies if the CME is not completed by December 31 of the final year of the cycle. New Hampshire also mandates specific subjects. Pain management and addiction disorder, or a combination of the two: 3 CME credits every renewal cycle (only prescribers required to register with the controlled drug prescription health and safety program under RSA 126-A:89 to 96 who possess a United States Drug Enforcement Administration license number).

New Hampshire Physician (MD) renewal and continuing education rules

"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.

Renewal cycleTwo-year (24 months)
Renewal deadlineTied to the original issue date
Continuing education requiredYes
Hours per cycle100 CME credits
Category 1 minimum40 CME credits
Self-study or online capNo cap stated
Carryover to next cycleNot stated
First renewal exemptNot stated
Other accepted activitiesEach year of full-time training in an ACGME or AOA accredited residency, and each accredited fellowship taken in the United States: 50 Category I credit hours; Completion of a degree in a medically-related field: 25 Category I credit hours; Passage of an American Specialty Board examination, for initial eligibility or recertification: the equivalent of 100 Category I credit hours; Annual Certificates of Competency or recertification exams: credits as stated on the certifying board's documentation; Proof of being up to date on a program of maintenance of certification deemed adequate by the board: treated as completing the entire CME requirement for the preceding 2 years; Teaching medical courses to physicians, residents, physician assistants, students or allied health professionals (Category II); Presentation or publication of a scientific paper to a medical audience or in a medical journal (Category II); Self-instruction and other unsupervised learning activities (Category II)

RSA 329:16-g requires proof at every biennial license renewal of 100 hours of approved continuing medical education completed within the preceding 2 years. Board rule Med 402.01(a) states the same 100 hours every 2 years and adds that 40 hours must be in Category I and no more than 60 credit hours may be in Category II. Category I is defined in Med 402.01(b) as courses satisfying the AMA Physician's Recognition Award program requirements, or fully equivalent courses that satisfy the CME requirements of the New Hampshire Osteopathic Association. Unit recorded as CME credits. max_self_study_or_online is left null because the rule caps Category II at 60 hours rather than capping self-study or online formats specifically; self-instruction is one of several Category II activities. Licensees previously licensed in another state may continue on a previously established PRA renewal cycle (Med 402.01(d)).

Required CE topics for New Hampshire physician (md)s

State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.

TopicHoursFrequencyApplies toCitation
Pain management and addiction disorder, or a combination of the two3 contact hours of free, board-approved online continuing education, or passage of an online examination, in pain management and addiction disorder or a combination, required both as a condition of initial licensure and at license renewal. Verification of completion must be submitted with the licensure or renewal application. Each prescriber's regulatory board must list its approved courses and online examinations on its website.3 CME creditsEvery renewalOnly prescribers required to register with the controlled drug prescription health and safety program under RSA 126-A:89 to 96 who possess a United States Drug Enforcement Administration license numberRSA 318-B:41, VI

Documentation and audit

Proof submitted at renewalYes
Keep records forNot stated
Board audits complianceYes
Approved providersRSA 329:16-g defines an approved program as one designed to continue the licensee's education in current developments, skills, procedures or treatment in the licensee's field of practice that has been certified by a national, state or county medical society or a college or university. Med 402.01(b) treats courses satisfying the AMA Physician's Recognition Award program, or fully equivalent courses satisfying the New Hampshire Osteopathic Association's CME requirements, as approved Category I.

Common questions

How many CE hours does a New Hampshire MD need to renew?
New Hampshire physicians (MD) must complete 100 CME credits of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the New Hampshire Board of Medicine, Office of Professional Licensure and Certification. RSA 329:16-g requires proof at every biennial license renewal of 100 hours of approved continuing medical education completed within the preceding 2 years. Board rule Med 402.01(a) states the same 100 hours every 2 years and adds that 40 hours must be in Category I and no more than 60 credit hours may be in Category II. Category I is defined in Med 402.01(b) as courses satisfying the AMA Physician's Recognition Award program requirements, or fully equivalent courses that satisfy the CME requirements of the New Hampshire Osteopathic Association. Unit recorded as CME credits. max_self_study_or_online is left null because the rule caps Category II at 60 hours rather than capping self-study or online formats specifically; self-instruction is one of several Category II activities. Licensees previously licensed in another state may continue on a previously established PRA renewal cycle (Med 402.01(d)).
How often does a New Hampshire MD license need to be renewed?
Physician (MD) licenses in New Hampshire renew every two years. Licenses issued by the Office of Professional Licensure and Certification are valid for 2 years from the date of issuance (RSA 310:8, II), and the licensing terms in that section supersede any conflicting terms in the Board of Medicine statute. The completed renewal application, fee and supporting documents must be filed on or before the expiration of the license; a license not renewed by then expires and lapses one year after expiration. OPLC gives notice at least 2 months before expiration, but failure to receive notice does not excuse renewal. Board rule Med 402.02(a) adds that the biennial CME report form must be returned on or before February 28 of the physician's renewal year and that a late fee applies if the CME is not completed by December 31 of the final year of the cycle.
What specific CE topics are required for New Hampshire physicians (MD)?
Pain management and addiction disorder, or a combination of the two: 3 CME credits every renewal cycle (only prescribers required to register with the controlled drug prescription health and safety program under RSA 126-A:89 to 96 who possess a United States Drug Enforcement Administration license number). Citations: pain management and addiction disorder, or a combination of the two (RSA 318-B:41, VI).
Do New Hampshire physicians (MD) have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
Proof of completion must be submitted with the renewal and the board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation. RSA 329:16-g defines an approved program as one designed to continue the licensee's education in current developments, skills, procedures or treatment in the licensee's field of practice that has been certified by a national, state or county medical society or a college or university. Med 402.01(b) treats courses satisfying the AMA Physician's Recognition Award program, or fully equivalent courses satisfying the New Hampshire Osteopathic Association's CME requirements, as approved Category I.

Sources

Last verified September 7, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.

New Hampshire has no separate osteopathic board. The Board of Medicine licenses both MDs and DOs under RSA chapter 329, and the same CME rule applies to both, so this record and nh-physician_do cite the same sources. The board's own site, oplc.nh.gov, returned Access Denied to every automated client tried, so no OPLC page is cited; the 100 hour biennial requirement and the 2 year cycle were read directly from the statutes on the New Hampshire General Court site, and the 40 hour Category I minimum and the 60 hour Category II cap were read from Cornell LII's mirror of Med 402.01, which is cited as a third party source because the state's own rule text is published only as a PDF. Whether the first renewal is exempt or prorated is not addressed in the statute or in Med 402 and is left null, as is carryover and record retention. Audit is recorded as true because Med 402.02(b) requires the New Hampshire Medical Society to audit and investigate the continuing education reports of each licensed physician and report failures to the board. The renewal basis is recorded as issue_date on the authority of RSA 310:8, II; note that Med 402.02(a) still describes the CME report as due by February 28 of the renewal year with credits completed by December 31 of the final year of the cycle.

Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the New Hampshire Board of Medicine, Office of Professional Licensure and Certification before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.