Kentucky Occupational Therapist license renewal and CE requirements
Kentucky occupational therapists must complete 12 contact hours of continuing education every year to renew their license with the Kentucky Board of Licensure for Occupational Therapy.
Occupational therapy licenses renew every year. On or before October 31 the licensee files the Annual OT/OTA Renewal Application (Form OTB-3), the renewal fee (50 dollars for an OT/L, 35 dollars for an OTA/L), and evidence of 12 continuing competence units earned in the preceding annual renewal period. A licensee who misses October 31 has a 60 day grace period on payment of a 25 dollar late fee; after the grace period the license expires. Someone licensed fewer than 90 days before the annual renewal date does not renew during the first year of licensure.
Summary
Kentucky occupational therapists must complete 12 contact hours of continuing education every year to renew their license with the Kentucky Board of Licensure for Occupational Therapy. Occupational therapy licenses renew every year. On or before October 31 the licensee files the Annual OT/OTA Renewal Application (Form OTB-3), the renewal fee (50 dollars for an OT/L, 35 dollars for an OTA/L), and evidence of 12 continuing competence units earned in the preceding annual renewal period. A licensee who misses October 31 has a 60 day grace period on payment of a 25 dollar late fee; after the grace period the license expires. Someone licensed fewer than 90 days before the annual renewal date does not renew during the first year of licensure. Kentucky also mandates specific subjects. Training program in suicide assessment, treatment, and management: 6 contact hours on a periodic schedule set by the board. Jurisprudence examination: a one-time requirement (applicants for initial, temporary and reciprocal licensure). Hours do not carry over between cycles.
Kentucky Occupational Therapist renewal and continuing education rules
"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.
| Renewal cycle | Annual (12 months) |
|---|---|
| Renewal deadline | Same date for every licensee, 10/31 each cycleFirst renewal is prorated. |
| Continuing education required | Yes |
| Hours per cycle | 12 contact hours |
| Self-study or online cap | No cap stated |
| Carryover to next cycle | No |
| First renewal exempt | No |
| Other accepted activities | Employer provided in-service training (1 CCU per contact hour, maximum 6 CCUs); Academic coursework, on-site or distance learning, related to occupational therapy practice (6 CCUs per credit hour); Independent study such as reading books, journal articles or reviewing videos (1 CCU per contact hour, maximum 6 CCUs); Formalized mentorship under a signed agreement (1 CCU per 5 contact hours); Serving as primary clinical fieldwork educator for an OT or OTA student (1 CCU per 40 hours of supervision per student); Professional writing (12 CCUs authoring a book, 6 editing a book, 6 authoring a chapter, 4 for a peer reviewed article, 2 for a non-peer reviewed article); Professional presentations and instruction (2 CCUs per hour of credit awarded for the activity); Research, extensive scholarly research or outcome studies (1 CCU per contact hour); Grant proposal development (1 CCU per contact hour); Board or committee work in professionally related areas (1 CCU per 5 contact hours, maximum 6 CCUs); Advanced competence credential or specialty certification earned or recertified during the renewal period (up to 12 CCUs each); Developing and implementing a continuing competence plan for professional development (2 CCUs); Volunteer services that maintain or enhance professional occupational therapy skills (1 CCU per 5 contact hours, maximum 6 CCUs) |
201 KAR 28:200 Section 2(1) requires a licensee applying for renewal to complete a minimum of 12 CCUs of qualified activities during the preceding annual renewal period. The board counts continuing competence units, but for ordinary continuing education courses, including workshops, seminars, conferences, electronic courses and self-study courses, the conversion is one to one: a licensee earns 1 CCU for each contact hour, and a contact hour is 60 minutes of learning excluding meals, breaks and registration. Other activities convert at their own rates, listed under alternatives. A licensee issued a license for less than 12 months prorates to 1 CCU for each month licensed. CCUs may not be carried from one licensure period to the next, and credit may not be taken twice for the same activity. Independent study, employer in-service training, board or committee work and volunteer service are each capped at 6 CCUs; continuing education courses, including electronic and self-study courses, are not capped. The board may waive all or part of the requirement for illness, injury, family hardship, active military service, or a similar extenuating circumstance.
Required CE topics for Kentucky occupational therapists
State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.
| Topic | Hours | Frequency | Applies to | Citation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Training program in suicide assessment, treatment, and managementAt least once every six years, measured from the date the license was first issued or from the date of the last completed program. The regulation defines the program as six or more hours of continuing education pre-approved by the board that covers the objectives in KRS 210.366. It is taken as a continuing education course, so the hours count as CCUs. | 6 contact hours | Periodic | All licensees | 201 KAR 28:200 Section 2(5); KRS 210.366 |
| Jurisprudence examinationEvidence of successfully completing the jurisprudence exam is part of the initial, temporary and reciprocal licensure applications. Nothing in 201 KAR 28:060 Section 4 or in 201 KAR 28:200 repeats it at annual renewal, so it is recorded as a one time requirement rather than a recurring renewal topic. | Not stated | One time | Applicants for initial, temporary and reciprocal licensure | 201 KAR 28:060 Sections 1(5), 2(2) and 3(4) |
Documentation and audit
| Proof submitted at renewal | Not stated |
|---|---|
| Keep records for | 1 years |
| Board audits compliance | Yes |
| Approved providers | A continuing education course must be current and relevant to occupational therapy practice. The board approves a course or provider administered or approved by a recognized national, state or local occupational therapy association, an accredited health care organization or facility, or an accredited college or university. Any other provider files an Application for Continuing Education Program Approval at least 90 days before the course, and a licensee may file the same application for a course taken outside those channels. Documentation practice reads two ways in the board's own rules: 201 KAR 28:060 Section 4(1)(c) lists evidence of completion of 12 CCUs among the items filed on or before October 31 with the renewal application, while 201 KAR 28:200 Section 6(3) tells a licensee not to send continuing competence documentation to the board unless audited or asked. Documentation is retained at least one year after the last day of the renewal period it was earned for. The board runs a random audit of up to 10 percent of licensees, and an audited licensee has 60 days to respond. |
Common questions
- How many CE hours does a Kentucky OT need to renew?
- Kentucky occupational therapists must complete 12 contact hours of continuing education every year to renew their license with the Kentucky Board of Licensure for Occupational Therapy. 201 KAR 28:200 Section 2(1) requires a licensee applying for renewal to complete a minimum of 12 CCUs of qualified activities during the preceding annual renewal period. The board counts continuing competence units, but for ordinary continuing education courses, including workshops, seminars, conferences, electronic courses and self-study courses, the conversion is one to one: a licensee earns 1 CCU for each contact hour, and a contact hour is 60 minutes of learning excluding meals, breaks and registration. Other activities convert at their own rates, listed under alternatives. A licensee issued a license for less than 12 months prorates to 1 CCU for each month licensed. CCUs may not be carried from one licensure period to the next, and credit may not be taken twice for the same activity. Independent study, employer in-service training, board or committee work and volunteer service are each capped at 6 CCUs; continuing education courses, including electronic and self-study courses, are not capped. The board may waive all or part of the requirement for illness, injury, family hardship, active military service, or a similar extenuating circumstance.
- How often does a Kentucky OT license need to be renewed?
- Occupational Therapist licenses in Kentucky renew every year. Occupational therapy licenses renew every year. On or before October 31 the licensee files the Annual OT/OTA Renewal Application (Form OTB-3), the renewal fee (50 dollars for an OT/L, 35 dollars for an OTA/L), and evidence of 12 continuing competence units earned in the preceding annual renewal period. A licensee who misses October 31 has a 60 day grace period on payment of a 25 dollar late fee; after the grace period the license expires. Someone licensed fewer than 90 days before the annual renewal date does not renew during the first year of licensure.
- What specific CE topics are required for Kentucky occupational therapists?
- Training program in suicide assessment, treatment, and management: 6 contact hours on a periodic schedule set by the board. Jurisprudence examination: a one-time requirement (applicants for initial, temporary and reciprocal licensure). Citations: training program in suicide assessment, treatment, and management (201 KAR 28:200 Section 2(5); KRS 210.366) and jurisprudence examination (201 KAR 28:060 Sections 1(5), 2(2) and 3(4)).
- Do Kentucky occupational therapists have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
- The board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation and records must be kept for 1 years. A continuing education course must be current and relevant to occupational therapy practice. The board approves a course or provider administered or approved by a recognized national, state or local occupational therapy association, an accredited health care organization or facility, or an accredited college or university. Any other provider files an Application for Continuing Education Program Approval at least 90 days before the course, and a licensee may file the same application for a course taken outside those channels. Documentation practice reads two ways in the board's own rules: 201 KAR 28:060 Section 4(1)(c) lists evidence of completion of 12 CCUs among the items filed on or before October 31 with the renewal application, while 201 KAR 28:200 Section 6(3) tells a licensee not to send continuing competence documentation to the board unless audited or asked. Documentation is retained at least one year after the last day of the renewal period it was earned for. The board runs a random audit of up to 10 percent of licensees, and an audited licensee has 60 days to respond.
- Is the first Kentucky OT renewal exempt from CE?
- No. Kentucky applies the continuing education requirement to the first renewal as well.
Sources
Last verified September 9, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.
- 201 KAR 28:200, Continuing competence (Kentucky Legislature, Kentucky Administrative Regulations)Statute or administrative rule, accessed September 9, 2026
- 201 KAR 28:060, Licensure, renewals, and reinstatementsStatute or administrative rule, accessed September 9, 2026
- 201 KAR 28:170, Deep physical agent modalitiesStatute or administrative rule, accessed September 9, 2026
- Continuing Education, Kentucky Board of Licensure for Occupational TherapyState board page, accessed September 9, 2026
- Licensing, Kentucky Board of Licensure for Occupational TherapyState board page, accessed September 9, 2026
- Legal: laws and regulations, Kentucky Board of Licensure for Occupational TherapyState board page, accessed September 9, 2026
- Kentucky Board of Licensure for Occupational TherapyState board page, accessed September 9, 2026
Kentucky has a standalone occupational therapy board, the Kentucky Board of Licensure for Occupational Therapy, which regulates OT/L and OTA/L under KRS Chapter 319A and 201 KAR Chapter 28. Both credentials sit in the same regulations and the regulations that set the numbers speak of "a licensee", so the figures in this occupational therapist record were read from text that governs it directly. Where chapter 28 does distinguish the two it is on fees, not on continuing competence: 201 KAR 28:060 Section 4 sets a 50 dollar renewal fee for an OT/L and 35 dollars for an OTA/L while requiring the same October 31 date, the same Form OTB-3 and the same 12 CCUs of both. No separate assistant total, category minimum, self-study cap or subject mandate appears anywhere in chapter 28. NBCOT matters here but as an entry requirement, not a renewal condition: 201 KAR 28:060 requires electronic NBCOT verification of OTR or COTA certification eligibility at initial licensure and documentation of current or initial NBCOT certification on reinstatement of an expired license, and the board's annual renewal list does not include current NBCOT certification. Deep physical agent modalities are a separate specialty certification under 201 KAR 28:170, open to both occupational therapists and occupational therapy assistants, with its own one time training and five supervised treatment sessions and a training minimum that KRS 319A.080(4) sets by level of licensure; it is not recurring continuing education and its hours are deliberately not folded into the 12 CCU total. Supervision of occupational therapy assistants is governed by 201 KAR 28:130 and is not continuing education. Not stated in the sources read: a live or in person minimum, and the number of training hours KRS 319A.080(4) requires for each level of DPAM certification, which was not opened.
Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Kentucky Board of Licensure for Occupational Therapy before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.