Skip to main content
CredNet

Nebraska Nurse Practitioner license renewal and CE requirements

Nebraska nurse practitioners must complete 20 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health, Licensure Unit (Board of Nursing and Nurse Practitioner Practice Act).

A Nebraska nurse practitioner holds an APRN-NP license on top of an RN license. The department states that APRN licenses expire October 31 of each even numbered year, and that RN licenses expire on the same date, October 31 of each even numbered year, so both parts of the credential come due together. Renewal is an online application with an attestation that the continued competency requirements were met, plus the fee.

Renewal cycle
Two-year
Same date for every licensee
CE per cycle
20
contact hours
Mandated topics
1
required subject
Last verified
September 8, 2026
14 days ago

Summary

Nebraska nurse practitioners must complete 20 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health, Licensure Unit (Board of Nursing and Nurse Practitioner Practice Act). A Nebraska nurse practitioner holds an APRN-NP license on top of an RN license. The department states that APRN licenses expire October 31 of each even numbered year, and that RN licenses expire on the same date, October 31 of each even numbered year, so both parts of the credential come due together. Renewal is an online application with an attestation that the continued competency requirements were met, plus the fee. Nebraska also mandates specific subjects. Continuing education regarding prescribing opiates, including the prescription drug monitoring program: 3 contact hours every renewal cycle (nurse practitioners who prescribe controlled substances).

Nebraska Nurse Practitioner renewal and continuing education rules

"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.

Renewal cycleTwo-year (24 months)
Renewal deadlineSame date for every licensee, 10/31 each cycle
Continuing education requiredYes
Hours per cycle20 contact hours
Self-study or online capNo cap stated
Carryover to next cycleNot stated
First renewal exemptNot stated
Other accepted activitiesCurrent certification in a nursing specialty from a nationally recognized certifying organization, in place of contact hours; Graduation from a nursing program within the last two years; An approved refresher course completed within the last five years; A continuing competency portfolio documenting goals and professional activities

The obligation is layered and the nurse practitioner must satisfy both halves. The RN half: the department's continued competency requirement is met by any one of several options, the most commonly used being at least 500 hours of nursing practice in the past five years together with at least 20 contact hours of continuing education in the two years before renewal. The 20 contact hours figure recorded here is that RN option. Because current national certification in the nursing specialty is itself one of the accepted continued competency options, and because a nurse practitioner must hold current national certification anyway, many Nebraska nurse practitioners satisfy the RN continued competency requirement through certification rather than by counting contact hours. The APRN-NP half adds no state contact hour count of its own: the department requires current national certification in the nurse practitioner clinical specialty, and, for a nurse practitioner licensed five years or more, documentation of at least 2,080 hours of practice as a nurse practitioner within the previous five years. The department states no separate pharmacology or pharmacotherapeutics hour requirement for nurse practitioner renewal. A nurse practitioner who prescribes controlled substances owes three hours of opiate prescribing continuing education every two years under Neb. Rev. Stat. 38-145(6); see mandatory_topics. A nurse practitioner whose primary state of residence is another compact state holds the RN part through that state and meets that state's nursing requirements instead.

Required CE topics for Nebraska nurse practitioners

State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.

TopicHoursFrequencyApplies toCitation
Continuing education regarding prescribing opiates, including the prescription drug monitoring programAt least three hours biennially regarding prescribing opiates as defined in section 28-401, of which at least one half hour must cover the prescription drug monitoring program described in sections 71-2454 to 71-2456. The statute names nurse practitioners along with nurse midwives, dentists, physicians, physician assistants, podiatrists and veterinarians who prescribe controlled substances. The subsection terminates January 1, 2029. The department's renewal page refers to these as the 2020 to 2028 mandatory opiate prescribing continuing education requirements.3 contact hoursEvery renewalNurse practitioners who prescribe controlled substancesNeb. Rev. Stat. 38-145(6)

Documentation and audit

Proof submitted at renewalNo, attestation only
Keep records forNot stated
Board audits complianceNot stated

Common questions

How many CE hours does a Nebraska NP need to renew?
Nebraska nurse practitioners must complete 20 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health, Licensure Unit (Board of Nursing and Nurse Practitioner Practice Act). The obligation is layered and the nurse practitioner must satisfy both halves. The RN half: the department's continued competency requirement is met by any one of several options, the most commonly used being at least 500 hours of nursing practice in the past five years together with at least 20 contact hours of continuing education in the two years before renewal. The 20 contact hours figure recorded here is that RN option. Because current national certification in the nursing specialty is itself one of the accepted continued competency options, and because a nurse practitioner must hold current national certification anyway, many Nebraska nurse practitioners satisfy the RN continued competency requirement through certification rather than by counting contact hours. The APRN-NP half adds no state contact hour count of its own: the department requires current national certification in the nurse practitioner clinical specialty, and, for a nurse practitioner licensed five years or more, documentation of at least 2,080 hours of practice as a nurse practitioner within the previous five years. The department states no separate pharmacology or pharmacotherapeutics hour requirement for nurse practitioner renewal. A nurse practitioner who prescribes controlled substances owes three hours of opiate prescribing continuing education every two years under Neb. Rev. Stat. 38-145(6); see mandatory_topics. A nurse practitioner whose primary state of residence is another compact state holds the RN part through that state and meets that state's nursing requirements instead.
How often does a Nebraska NP license need to be renewed?
Nurse Practitioner licenses in Nebraska renew every two years. A Nebraska nurse practitioner holds an APRN-NP license on top of an RN license. The department states that APRN licenses expire October 31 of each even numbered year, and that RN licenses expire on the same date, October 31 of each even numbered year, so both parts of the credential come due together. Renewal is an online application with an attestation that the continued competency requirements were met, plus the fee.
What specific CE topics are required for Nebraska nurse practitioners?
Continuing education regarding prescribing opiates, including the prescription drug monitoring program: 3 contact hours every renewal cycle (nurse practitioners who prescribe controlled substances). Citations: continuing education regarding prescribing opiates, including the prescription drug monitoring program (Neb. Rev. Stat. 38-145(6)).
Do Nebraska nurse practitioners have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates.

Sources

Last verified September 8, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.

The October 31 even year expiration for both the RN and the APRN license, the six continued competency options with the 20 contact hour and 500 practice hour figures, the national certification requirement, and the 2,080 practice hour requirement for nurse practitioners licensed five years or more were all read on the department's nurse licensing renewal and continuing education page. The three hour opiate requirement, the half hour prescription drug monitoring component, the list of professions it covers and its January 1, 2029 termination were read in the statute text on the Nebraska Legislature site. Vendor summaries still circulate a 40 hour requirement with 10 hours of pharmacotherapeutics for Nebraska nurse practitioners; nothing on the department's current pages states that, and it is not recorded. The department's controlled substances continuing competency handout and the APRN-NP renewal application are published only as PDFs and were not opened, so audit practice, record retention and any approved provider rule are left null.

Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health, Licensure Unit (Board of Nursing and Nurse Practitioner Practice Act) before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.